General Statistical Sources: New York City and State


The following is a guide to a selection of tools used to locate statistics exclusively about New York State and New York City. Researchers should also consult General Statistical Sources -- U.S. for more general sources which would also include New York statistics.

Especially useful titles and sites are highlighted.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Key Resources

Current statistics on New York City are difficult to locate. New York City agencies typically do not publish many statistical publications, with the exception of social service statistics. When they are published, the distribution is usually very limited. The best source for official NYC statistical print publications is the City Hall Library, 31 Chambers Street.

Retrospectively, the Index to Current Urban Documents (below) provides a good selection of documents in full text. An excellent place to look is at the web sites of the many Public Interest and Research Groups which focus on New York City.

  • The Almanac of New York City.
    New York : Columbia University Press, c2008.
    Call Number: F 128.3 .A455 2008 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Annual Report on Social Indicators.
    New York, N.Y. : Department of City Planning, 1990-
    Call Number: HN 80 .N5 N50 (Copies available in multiple locations)
         Provides statistics on nearly aspect of life in the city. Included are sections on demographics, economy and employment, public safety, health, education and culture, poverty and social services, housing, and the environment.
  • Community District Profiles
    Land use maps, locator maps, and a statistical profile for each of the 59 Community Districts in New York City, from the Dept. of City Planning.
  • The Encyclopedia of New York City. 2nd ed.
    New Haven : Yale University Press ; New York : New-York Historical Society, c2010.
    Call Number: F 128.3 .E75 2010 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Infoshare Online
    Infoshare, produced by Community Studies of New York, is a database of official New York City statistics, including census (1980-2010), Housing and Vacancy Survey, crime, health & vital statistics, public schools, etc. You can build tables profiling an area in the city, using any unit of geography -- from city or borough to ZIP code, census tract, community district, police precinct, neighborhood, health area, and more.
  • My Neighborhood Statistics
    My Neighborhood Statistics lets New York City residents know how City agencies are performing in their neighborhood by viewing locally mapped performance statistics using a street address or intersection. Color-shaded maps also allow for easy comparisons of highs and lows in different neighborhoods. It provides year to year neighborhood and citywide comparisons for agency performance data, as well as month to month and citywide comparisons for select services.

Guides, Indexes and Background Sources

  • FYI: a Comprehensive Guide to Statistical Sources for the New York City Metropolitan Area.
    New York, NY : CUNY Data Service, City University of New York Graduate School and University Center, 1997.
    Call Number: HA 547 .N5 F99 1997g (Copies available in multiple locations)
        A detailed guide to statistical resources for NYC, especially good for descriptions of data sets available from various city agencies.
  • Index to Current Urban Documents. Quarterly.
    Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1972-
    Call Number: Z 7165 .U5 I6
        Indexes publications of U.S. cities, including New York City, by subject and issuing city agency. Some publications are statistical.
    Full Text: Call Number: FX3 4549 (1972-1999)
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1973-
    The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index.

Sources for New York City Statistics

  • Adherents.com
    Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 18,000 adherent statistic citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 1,300 religions, churches, denominations, faith groups, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. To find NYC statistics, use the "Religion by Location" index.
  • Airport Traffic Report: John F. Kennedy International Airport, Newark International Airport, LaGuardia Airport, Teterboro Airport, Downtown Manhattan Heliport, West 30th Street Heliport. Annual.
    Click on "Traffic Statistics" for reports.
    New York, N.Y. : Port Authority of NY & NJ, 1994-
        Call Number: TL 726.4 .N5 P8111
        Previous title: Statistics Handbook for JFK, EWR, LGA, TET, Heliports (1990-1993) Call Number: TL 726.4 .N5 P811
  • The Almanac of New York City.
    New York : Columbia University Press, c2008.
    Call Number: F 128.3 .A455 2008 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Atlas of the Census: a Portrait of New York City from the 1980 Census.
    New York : Dept. of City Planning, 1985.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 A84 1985g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Chernick, Howard.
    Welfare Reform and New York City's Low-Income Population
    In this 2002 paper from the Institute for Poverty Research's Working Papers series, Howard Chernick and Cordelia Reimers examine the Current Population Survey in 1994-1995 and 1997-1999 to see if there was a discernible drop in households receiving public assistance in New York City.
  • Cities Census Committee, inc., New York.
    Population of the City of New York, 1890-1930.
    New York : the Committee, 1932.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 C5 1930 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Tabular presentation of data from several censuses, both Federal and New York State, with some data actually going back to 1790.
  • City of Contrasts 2000: 51 New York City Council Districts.
    New York, N.Y. : Community Studies of New York, Inc./INFOSHARE : City Project, 2000.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 C58 2000g (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Along with detailed demographic, health and other information on each of fifty-one Council Districts, the report includes color maps and graphs showing trends in test scores, asthma hospitalizations and birth-related statistics for each district and the City as a whole.
  • Coalition for the Homeless
    Coalition for the Homeless provides up-to-date information on New York City's homeless population and the shortage of affordable housing.
      State of the Homeless (annual)
  • Community Health Profiles
    New York City Community Health Profiles capture the health of 42 New York City neighborhoods. These comprehensive reports provide detailed information on significant health issues and serve as a critical resource for improving health, community by community.
  • Community Service Society of New York:
  • County Health Indicator Profiles (2005-2009): New York City
    Annual tabulations in the areas of socio-demographics, perinatal health, mortality, AIDS, hospitalizations, and disease morbidity; from the NYS Dept. of Health.
  • County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
    The County Health Rankings team synthesizes health information from a variety of national data sources to create the Rankings.
  • Crain's New York Business. City Facts. Annual.
    New York, N.Y. : Crain Communications, 2007-
    Call Number: HG 4058 .N42 C733 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Crime and Enforcement Activity in New York City
    The report presents statistics on race and ethnicity compiled from the New York City Police Department’s records management system. Crime Complaint Reports contain information on the crime victims’ race and ethnicity as recorded by the officers or precinct clerical staff interviewing the victim or complainant. The Crime Complaint Report also contains the victim’s description of any non-arrested suspects. Arrests made by the responding or investigating officers are also recorded as part of the booking process and contain race and ethnicity information for the arrested suspects. Additional information for the report is drawn from a separate Homicide and Shooting Database that collects statistical information for Murder and Shooting incidents. Stop Question and Frisk data are taken from the New York City Police Department’s Stop Question and Frisk database. .
  • Digital Atlas of New York City, by Professor William A. Bowen, California State University, Northridge
        Data is principally for 1990, atlases are divided into six major topics: Population and Race, Ancestry, Income and Poverty, Adult Educational Attainment, Household Types, and Commuters.
  • District Resource Statement ... Biennial.
    New York, N.Y. : Policy and Program Development/Office of Service Planning, 1985-1996/97.
    All in Social Work Stacks:
       Bronx - Call Number: HV 87 .N5 D4
       Brooklyn - Call Number: HV 87 .N5 D42
       Manhattan - Call Number: HV 87 .N5 D425
       Queens - Call Number: HV 87 .N5 D43
       Staten Island - Call Number: HV 87 .N5 D44
  • Dolfman, Michael L.
    9/11 and the New York City Economy: a Borough-by-borough Analysis (2004)
  • The Encyclopedia of New York City. 2nd ed.
    New Haven : Yale University Press ; New York : New-York Historical Society, c2010.
    Call Number: F 128.3 .E75 2010 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Govistics
    Govistics has information on 53,000+ locations in the U.S. Type in New York City and see a snapshot of NYC spending, revenue, employment, payroll and crimes; filter by categories. You can also look at trend charts, make peer comparisons, and download data into a spreadsheet.
  • Hanson-Sanchez, Christopher.
    New York City Latino Neighborhoods Databook.
    New York : Institute for Puerto Rican Policy, 1996.
    Call Number: F 128.9 .S75 H3 1996g
         Data for the 21 Latino neighborhoods and an additional 33 smaller Latino "sub-neighborhood" areas, along with statistics for the city as a whole and for each borough.
  • Health Care Annual. Annual.
    New York, N.Y. : United Hospital Fund of New York, c1990-2005.
    Call Number: Serial H
        This title and its predecessor, Health & Health Care in New York City (1983-1989) presents tabular data on the demographics, health status, and medical care of NYC residents, as well as data on health care financing.
    Web versions: 2003, 2004, 2005
  • Historical New York City Crime Data
    The tabular data presented here compiles reported crime and offense data recorded by the New York City Police Department from 2000 through 2010. Separate tables are presented for the Seven Major Felonies, Non-Seven Major Felony Crimes, Misdemeanors and Violations.
  • Infoshare Online
    Infoshare, produced by Community Studies of New York, is a database of official New York City statistics, including census (1980-2010), Housing and Vacancy Survey, crime, health & vital statistics, public schools, etc. You can build tables profiling an area in the city, using any unit of geography -- from city or borough to ZIP code, census tract, community district, police precinct, neighborhood, health area, and more.
    The best source for New York City statistics!
  • Keating, Raymond J.
    New York by the Numbers: State and City in Perpetual Crisis.
    NY : University Press of America, 1997.
    Call Number: HA 545 .K43 1997 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        A compilation of current and historical statistics in the areas of fiscal issues, education, crime, societal indicators, and the economy, which seeks to illustrate the decline of NYC and NYS.
  • Keeping Track of New York City's Children. Millennium ed.
    New York : Citizens' Committee for Children, 2010.
    Call Number: HV 99 .N5 K43 2002g (Copies available in multiple locations)
         Contains graphs and figures illustrating economic conditions & poverty, health, child care, educations, child welfare, environmental issues, and more. Also very useful for two additional tables of statistics on community district characteristics and community school district characteristics.
  • Krasner, Melvin I.
    New York City Community Health Atlas 1994.
    New York : United Hospital Fund of New York, c1994.
    Call Number: G 1254 .N4E55 K7 1994
  • Levitan, Mark.
    Accounting for Housing Needs in a High Rent City (2010)
  • Low-income Populations in New York City: Economic Trends and Social Welfare Programs, 1996.
    New York, N.Y. : United Way of New York City, prepared for City of New York, Human Resources Administration, 1997.
    Call Number: HV 99 .N59 L6 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Mollenkopf, John H.
    New York City in the 1980's : a Social, Economic and Political Atlas.
    New York : Simon & Schuster, 1993.
    Call Number: G 1254.N4E1 M6 1993 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • My Neighborhood Statistics
    My Neighborhood Statistics lets New York City residents know how City agencies are performing in their neighborhood by viewing locally mapped performance statistics using a street address or intersection. Color-shaded maps also allow for easy comparisons of highs and lows in different neighborhoods.
  • New York (N.Y.) Bureau of Health Statistics and Analysis.
    Summary of Vital Statistics, the City of New York. Annual.
    New York : the Bureau, 1940-
    Call Number: HA 730 .N42 N48 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • New York (N.Y.). City Planning Commission.
    Portfolio: an Information System for Community Districts. 59 vols.
    New York : City Planning Commission, 1979.
    Call Number: F 128.6 .N4 (Copies available in multiple locations)
      Although most of the data for this massive set was drawn from the 1970 census, the level of detail presented here hasn't been matched since. Arranged by Community District, the set also provides tabular data for a variety of other sub-Borough geographic units. Extensive text, tables, and maps.
  • New York (N.Y.) Dept. of City Planning.
       Annual Report on Social Indicators.
    New York, N.Y. : Department of City Planning, 1990-
    Call Number: HN 80 .N5 N50 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Provides statistics on nearly aspect of life in the city. Included are sections on demographics, economy and employment, public safety, health, education and culture, poverty and social services, housing, and the environment.
      Community District Needs.
    New York : The City, 1983-
    Call Number: HT 168 .N3 (Copies available in multiple locations)
      Community District Profiles
    Land use maps, locator maps, and a statistical profile for each of the 59 Community Districts in New York City.   Demographic Profiles: a Portrait of New York City' Community Districts from the 1980 & 1990 Censuses of Population and Housing
    New York : The Dept., 1992.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 D45 1992g (Copies available in multiple locations)
      Socioeconomic Profiles: a Portrait of New York City' Community Districts from the 1980 & 1990 Censuses of Population and Housing.
    New York : City of New York, Dept. of City Planning, 1993.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 S73 1993g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • New York (N.Y.) Dept. of Commerce and Industrial Development.
    Statistical Guide for New York City. Annual.
    New York : The Dept., 1957-1964.
    Call Number: HA 730 .N5 N481 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • New York (N.Y.) Dept. of Education.
    School Reports
  • New York (N.Y.) Dept. of Housing Preservation and Development.
    Housing and Vacancy Report. Triennial.
    New York : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 1987-1993.
      1987: Call Number: HD 7304 .N5 S72 1988g (Copies available in multiple locations)
    1991:
    Call Number: HD 7304 .N5 S74 1993g (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Housing New York City 1993.
    New York : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 1995.
    Call Number: HD7288 .N5 B56 1995g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Lee, Moon Wha.
    Housing New York City 1996.
    New York : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 1999.
    Call Number: HD 7288 .N5 L34 1999g
  • Lee, Moon Wha.
    Housing New York City 1999.
    New York : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 2002.
    Call Number: HD 7288 .N5 L34 2002g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Lee, Moon Wha.
    Housing New York City 2002.
    New York : Dept. of Housing Preservation and Development, [2006]
    Call Number: HD7288.78.U52 N74 2006 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Lee, Moon Wha.
    Housing New York City 2005.
    New York : Dept. of Housing Preservation and Development, 2008.
    Call Number: AA7544 N48 L53
  • New York. Fire Department.
    Citywide Statistics
    Includes monthly and annual Fire Report (1993-present) and EMS Report (1998-present), citywide and for each borough.
  • New York (N.Y.) Human Resources Administration.
    • HRA Facts
      Monthly caseload information for HRA programs, comparative figures for previous years.
    • Trend Charts
      Current tables and charts on public assistance, food stamps, Medicaid and Medicare, home care, job placement, and more.
  • New York (N.Y.) Office of Management and Budget.
    Monthly Report on Current Economic Conditions.
    Scroll down to the bottom of the page for links to the monthly reports, usually the latest 5-6 months; each report is 20+ pages of NYC economic data and analysis.
  • New York (N.Y.) Police Department.
    Statistical Report, Complaints and Arrests. Semiannual.
    New York : Police Dept, City of New York, Office of Management Analysis, Crime Analysis Section, 1983-
    Call Number: HV 7597 .A6
        Web version: Weekly Crime Statistics
  • New York City Council on Economic Education.
    Fact Book: Tables and Charts on the New York Metropolitan Region. Irregular.
    New York: The Council, 1965-1995.
    Call Number: HC 108 .N7 N4 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • New York City Housing and Neighborhoods Information System (NYCHANIS)
    A service of NYU's Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy, NYCHANIS is a database which allows users to choose a NYC neighborhood and retrieve data about it in terms of housing units and vacancies, land use, income, school atttendance, crime, and other factors. The results can then be mapped or charted in various ways. Access is free, but users must register for the site.
  • New York City Housing and Vacancy Survey, 1993-2002, New York City Rent Guidelines Board
    For 1996, see also, CD-ROM Call Number: HD 7293 .A492 N49
  • New York City Housing and Vacancy Survey 1999 & 2002, from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • New York City Rent Guidelines Board
    Staff Reports
  • New York Metropolitan Transportation Council
    A wide range of transportation-related data is available on this Web site, and has been organized into easy-to-read formats with charts, maps and visual displays through Geographic Information System (GIS) software. Click on Interactive GIS/Data on the left side to access the data menu.
  • New York's Competitiveness: a Scorecard for 13 U.S. Metropolitan Areas
    Prepared by the Citizens Budget Commission, July 2001.
  • The Newest New Yorkers.
    New York, N.Y. : Department of City Planning, 1992-
  • Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
    RECON was originally designed to assist the FDIC in the examination process by providing economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and county levels. Using RECON, anyone with internet access is able to drill down to any state, MSA, or county to view standard graphs, tables, and maps depicting economic conditions and how they have changed over time. RECON contains a 'shopping cart' feature that allows the user to assemble charts and tables of interest and then print them together at the end of their session.
  • Regional Economy .. Review and ... Outlook. Annual.
    New York: Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, 1988-
    Call Number: AB R2437
  • Rosenwaike, Ira.
    Population History of New York City.
    Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 1972.
    Call Number: HB 3527 .N7 R66 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Examines the ethnicity, religions, births, deaths, and migrations of the population of New York City from 1610 to 1970. Contains over 100 tables and a short bibliography.
  • The Self Sufficiency Standard for New York (2011)
    The Self-Sufficiency Standard defines the income needed to realistically support a family, without public or private assistance, based on the costs of six basic needs for working families: housing, child care, food, health care, transportation, and miscellaneous items as well as the cost of taxes and the impact of tax credits.
  • State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Every 5 years.
    Washington : U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1979-
    Call Number: HA 203 .A35 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Web version:
  • State of New York City's Housing and Neighborhoods. Annual.
    New York : New York University School of Law, Center For Real Estate and Urban Policy, 2001-
    Call Number: HD 7304 .N5 S7 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Stegman, Michael A.
    Housing and Vacancy Report : New York City, 1987.
    New York, N.Y. : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 1988.
    Call Number: HD 7304 .N5 S72 1988g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Stegman, Michael A.
    Housing and Vacancy Report : New York City, 1991.
    New York, N.Y. : Department of Housing Preservation and Development, 1993.
    Call Number: HD 7304 .N5 S74 1993g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Summary Travel Characteristics: New York, NY PMSA
    Statistics on travel into and from the NYC metropolitan area, from the 1995 American Travel Survey
  • U.S. Census Bureau:
    County QuickFacts: For each county: the latest Census demographic, business, and geographic statistics.
  • U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Region II with some sections specifically for NYC data
  • Welfare Reform and Social Indicators: New York City
    Current data for the city, each borough, and each Congressional District, from the Fiscal Policy Institute.

Sources for New York State Statistics

There is no separate, centralized repository for New York State statistical publications. The NYS Library has a large collection, but it is accessible only through a general search of its catalog. The New York State Data Center web site is the closest approximation of FedStats on the state level, but much less comprehensive. The web sites of Public Interest & Research Groups are good sources of New York State data.

  • HIV/AIDS Statistics in New York State
    Annual and semiannual reports, 2001-2008.
  • AIDS Surveillance Quarterly Update. Quarterly.
    Albany, N.Y. : Bureau of Communicable Disease Control, New York State Dept. of Health, 1991-2000.
    Call Number: RA 644.A25 A37662
  • Almanac of the 50 States. Annual.
    Burlington, VT : Information Publications, c1985-
    Call Number: HA 203 .A5
  • America's Health Rankings: State HealthStats
    For over 20 years, America's Health Rankings® has been tracking the state of our nation's health. This analysis provides a comprehensive perspective on our national health issues, state by state. The 2010 Rankings features an interactive map where you can explore these statistics, compare states side-by-side, and learn what we can do to improve our health in the future.
  • Beach, Richard A.
    New York State, a Socio-economic Atlas.
    Plattsburgh, N.Y. : Department of Geography, State University of New York at Plattsburgh, 1983.
    Call Number: G 1251 .G1 B42 1983
  • Business Fact Book. Annual.
    Albany : New York (State). Dept. of Commerce, 1957-76 .
    Call Number: HC 107.N7 N48
  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: State Budget and Tax
    A collection of data related to state budgets and taxation, including services and assistance programs
  • County Health Indicator Profiles
    From the NYS Dept. of Health; the Health Indicator Profiles are a summary of selected statistics for each New York State county as well as New York State, New York City, and New York State exclusive of New York City
  • CQ's State Fact Finder: Rankings Across America. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1993-
    Call Number: HN 60 .C68 
  • Crimestat
    In 2003, New York State established Crimestat, a performance management system for New York’s criminal justice efforts and agencies. Crimestat tracks the State’s progress in reducing crime and improving criminal justice. While many organizations use data to manage performance, Crimestat brings together criminal justice system indicators and performance indicators from numerous State agencies, as well as Federal and local criminal justice agencies. Measures are in place for the Division of Criminal Justice Services, other State criminal justice agencies, and strategy areas that cross agency lines, such as Operation IMPACT, offender re-entry, sex offender management, criminal aliens, and the DNA Databank.
  • Facts, Figures and Statistics from New York State
    Links to statistics from several New York State agencies, in eleven categories. The NYS version of FedStats, but not quite as evolved. Includes NYC statistics in some cases.
  • Goldstein, Eric A.
    The New York Environment Book.
    Washington, D.C. : Island Press, c1990.
    Call Number: TD 171.3 .N5 G64 1990
  • Govistics
    Govistics has information on 53,000+ locations in the U.S. Type in New York and see a snapshot of New York State spending, revenue, employment, payroll and crimes; filter by categories. You can also look at trend charts, make peer comparisons, and download data into a spreadsheet.
  • Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990.
    Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
    Call Number: HA 214 .H57 1993
  • HIV/AIDS Statistics in New York State
    Annual and semiannual reports, 2001-2008.
  • Injury and Violence in New York State
    From the NYS Dept. of Health; provides statistics in the categories of: assaults, bicycle injuries, falls, motor vehicle crashes, pedestrian injuries, self-inflicted injuries, submersion injuries, central nervous system injuries, traumatic brain injuries, and spinal cord injuries.
  • Keating, Raymond J.
    New York by the Numbers: State and City in Perpetual Crisis.
    NY : University Press of America, 1997.
    Call Number: HA 545 .K43 1997
        A compilation of current and historical statistics in the areas of fiscal issues, education, crime, societal indicators, and the economy, which seeks to illustrate the decline of NYC and NYS.
  • Kids Count Data Book. Annual.
    Baltimore : Annie E. Casey Foundation, 1990-
    Call Number: HQ 792 .U5 K53
        Includes a section of state profiles.
  • Meltzer, Ellen.
    The New Book of American Rankings.
    New York : Facts on File, c1998.
    Call Number: HA 214 .N49 1998
         Ranks the states in over 400 different different categories. Each table is accompanied by a brief description of the data and the source.
  • Municipal Reference Guide. New York. Annual.
    Shrewsbury, NJ : National Resources Directories, Inc., 1992-
    Call Number: HA 541 .M86 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Provides brief demographic, financial, and housing statistics for every county, municipality, and village in New York State.
  • New York Current Surface Water Conditions, from the U.S. Geological Survey
    Includes data for the Hudson, Delaware, Susquehanna, Allegheny, Niagara, and St. Lawrence River basins, and streams tributary to Lake Erie and Lake Ontario. Tables and charts are updated hourly.
  • New York Fact Sheet
    Basic demographic and agricultural statistics, from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service.
  • New York Nonprofit Profile
    Summary statistics on the number of 501(c)(3) charitable organizations, and reporting charitable organizations and their finances, from the National Center for Charitable Statistics.
  • New York State. Dept. of Labor. Labor Statistics.
    The alphabetic index includes statistics on topics such as earnings, employment, income, occupational injuries & illnesses, population, poverty, and wages.
  • New York State. Dept. of Motor Vehicles. DMV Statistical Summaries.
    Includes accident tables and license and registration tables.
  • New York State Data Center
    The Data Center is New York's primary repository of Decennial Census data. The site contains population and economic data, with links to other sources of NYS statistics.
  • New York State Municipal Profiles. Irregular.
    Palo Alto, Calif. : Information Publications, c1992-
    Call Number: HA 541 .N478
  • New York State Statistical Yearbook. Annual.
    Albany, NY : Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, 1967-
    Call Number: HA 544 .A11
  • Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
    RECON was originally designed to assist the FDIC in the examination process by providing economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and county levels. Using RECON, anyone with internet access is able to drill down to any state, MSA, or county to view standard graphs, tables, and maps depicting economic conditions and how they have changed over time. RECON contains a 'shopping cart' feature that allows the user to assemble charts and tables of interest and then print them together at the end of their session.
  • Regional Statistics
    From FedStats: Links to statistics produced by Federal agencies, aggregated at the city, county, or state level.
  • The Self Sufficiency Standard for New York (2011)
    The Self-Sufficiency Standard defines the income needed to realistically support a family, without public or private assistance, based on the costs of six basic needs for working families: housing, child care, food, health care, transportation, and miscellaneous items as well as the cost of taxes and the impact of tax credits.
  • Shupe, Barbara.
    New York State Population, 1790-1980: a Compilation of Federal Census Data.
    Call Number: HA 545 .S58 1987 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Includes population figures on the county, city, town, village, and unincorporated community levels, maps of county boundaries, and charts on the origins of counties.
  • Small Business Profiles: New York (annual), U.S. Small Business Administration
  • State Education Data Profiles: New York
    Comparative data tables for the U.S. and New York State, covering elementary & secondary education, postsecondary education, demographics, and public libraries. The data can also be displayed in a chart.
  • State Energy Data System: New York
    Data on prices, production, and consumption, plus a map and other resources, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration
  • State Health Facts: New York
    A collection of tables for population demographics, health needs indicators, health insurance coverage, and Medicaid, provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
  • State Health Workforce Profiles: New York (2000)
    The State Health Workforce Profiles compile accurate and current data on supply, demand, distribution, education and use of health personnel. Estimated numbers of workers indicate the size of the state's health workforce. Per capita ratios facilitate comparisons with other states and the nation.
  • State of the Child in New York State.
    Albany, N.Y. : New York State Council on Children & Families, 1988.
    Call Number: HQ 792 .N4 S72 1988g
  • The State of Working New York
    The State of Working New York is an annual series by the Fiscal Policy Institute which examines conditions facing workers and working families in New York State.
  • State Rankings: a Statistical View of the 50 States. Annual.
    Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno, 1997-
    Call Number: HA 203 .U171
  • Statistical Supplement to the Annual Report/New York State Department of Social Services. Annual.
    Albany, N.Y. : The Dept., 1994-
    Call Number: Serial S
  • U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics,New York-New Jersey Information Office
  • U.S. Census Bureau
    The Census Bureau compiles numerous statistics on the state, county, and local levels. Some of the most used are:
    • State and County QuickFacts: New York
      The latest demographic, business, and geographic statistics from Census for New York State
    • State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Every 5 years.
      Washington : U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1979-
      Call Number: HA 203 .A35 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    • County Population Estimates
      10 different categories of times series on county population, some going back to 1960
  • U.S. Decennial Life Tables for 1979-81, New York
    Hyattsville, Md. : National Center for Health Statistics, 1985-
    Call Number: HB 1335 Un39 1985 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • U.S. Decennial Life Tables, New York, 1989-1991.
    Hyattsville, Md. : National Center for Health Statistics, 1997-
    Call Number: HB 1335 .Un39 1997
  • Vital Statistics of New York State. Annual.
    Albany, NY : New York State Division of the Budget, 1971-
    Call Number: HA 544 .D46a (Copies available in multiple locations)