General Statistical Sources: United States and Canada


The following is a guide to a selection of tools used to locate statistics about the United States and Canada. There are other guides for statistical sources for New York and Foreign Countries.

Especially useful titles and sites are highlighted.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Key Resources

  • American FactFinder
    American FactFinder is the portal to the major products of the Census Bureau, including the decennial census, the American Community Survey, the economic census, annual population estimates, and annual economic surveys.
  • Economic Report of the President. Annual.
    Pulls together key data from a variety of federal agencies.
  • EDGAR (SEC Filings & Forms)
    All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.
  • FedStats
    More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. Sources are listed by both statistical agency and within an A-Z topic list.
  • FREDĀ® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
    FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FREDĀ® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
    This extraordinary database contains over 37,000 data sets, fully searchable and customizable. Retrieved tables can be downloaded as Excel or PDF files, printed and graphed. Date of coverage varies, but many tables include data 1790-2000. Also available as a print version, below.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1973-
    The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. 1878-
  • Statistics Canada
  • U.S. Census Bureau: Subjects A-Z

Guides, Indexes and Background Sources

  • Anderton, Douglas L.
    The Population of the United States. 3rd ed.
    New York : Free Press, c1997.
    Call Number: HB 3505 .B63 1997
         A source of statistics, but also a valuable guide, with detailed discussions of the way in which official population, health, and labor statistics are gathered, copies of the forms (census, birth certificates, etc.), and extensive bibliographies.
  • Economic Indicators Handbook. Irregular.
    Detroit : Gale Research, 1992-
    Call Number: HC 101 .E385
  • Guide to U.S. Government Statistics. Annual.
    Manassas, VA : Documents Index, Inc., 1996-
    Call Number: Z 7554 .U5 G94 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Provides a brief description (including Superintendent of Documents Classification number) for every statistical series produced by every U.S. government agency. Indexed by title, geographic area, and subject.
  • Dictionary of U.S. Government Statistical Terms.
    Palo Alto, CA : Information Publications, 1991.
    Call Number: HA 17 .D53 1991g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Principles and Practices for a Federal Statistical Agency. 4th ed.
    Washington, D.C. : National Academies Press, c2009.
    Call Number: HA 37.U55 P75 2009
         Since 1992, the Committee on National Statistics (CNSTAT) has produced a book on principles and practices for a federal statistical agency, updating the document every 4 years to provide a current edition to newly appointed cabinet secretaries at the beginning of each presidential administration. This fourth edition presents and comments on four basic principles that statistical agencies must embody in order to carry out their mission fully: (1) They must produce objective data that are relevant to policy issues, (2) they must achieve and maintain credibility among data users, (3) they must achieve and maintain trust among data providers, and (4) they must achieve and maintain a strong position of independence from the appearance and reality of political control. The book also discusses 11 important practices that are means for statistical agencies to live up to the four principles. These practices include a commitment to quality and professional practice and an active program of methodological and substantive research. This fourth edition adds the principle that statistical agencies must operate from a strong position of independence and the practice that agencies must have ongoing internal and external evaluations of their programs.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1973-
    The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index.
  • Sears, Jean L.
    Using Government Information Sources: Print and Electronic. 3rd ed.
    Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2001.
    Call Number: Z 1223.Z7 S4 2001
         The best place to start researching U.S. government statistics. There are 16 separate chapters devoted to "The Statistical Search," covering such topics as population, income, prices, foreign trade, crime, defense, energy, projections, etc.
  • Statistical Programs of the United States Government. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : Office of Management & Budget, 1990-
    Call Number: PrEx 2.10/3:
         An excellent overview of the various statistical agencies of the government -- their budgets, programs, and long-range plans.
  • Stratford, Jean Slemmons.
    Major U.S. Statistical Series: Definitions, Publications, Limitations.
    Chicago : American Library Association, 1992.
    Call Number: HA 37 .U55 S77 1992

United States Government Sources

  • FedStats -- This is the place to start to locate U.S. Government Statistics
    More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to a wide range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use. The principal statistical agencies are:
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis
      is responsible for the preparation, development, and interpretation of the National Income and Product Accounts, summarized by the Gross Domestic Product (GDP); the wealth accounts, which show the business and other components of national wealth; the input-output accounts, which trace the interrelationships among industrial markets; personal income and related economic series by geographic area; and the U.S. balance of payments accounts and associated foreign investment accounts.
    • Bureau of Justice Statistics
      Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates statistical information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operations of the justice system at all levels of government and internationally. It also provides technical and financial support to state governments for development of criminal justice statistics and information systems on crime and justice.
    • Bureau of Labor Statistics
      Produces statistics on employment and unemployment; consumer expenditures; prices and living conditions; wages and employee benefits; productivity and technological changes in U.S. industries; projections of economic growth, the labor force, and employment by industry and occupation; and occupational injuries and illnesses.
    • Bureau of Transportation Statistics
      Compiles, analyzes, and makes accessible information on the Nation's transportation systems; collects information on intermodal transportation and other areas as needed; and enhances the quality and effectiveness of DOT's statistical programs through research, development of guidelines, and promotion of improvements in data acquisition and use.
    • Energy Information Administration
      Collects and disseminates data on energy reserves, production, consumption, distribution, prices, technology, and related international, economic, and financial matters. Coverage of EIA's programs includes data on coal, petroleum, natural gas, electric, and nuclear energy.
    • Economic Research Service
      Part of the Department of Agriculture, provides economic analyses to support a competitive agricultural system, a safe food supply, healthy well nourished population, harmony between agriculture and the environment, and enhanced quality of life for rural Americans.
    • Environmental Protection Agency
      Monitors the quality of the air; the quality of drinking, surface and ground water; ecosystem status; and the introduction of toxic or hazardous substances into the environment. It conducts research and studies to provide baseline data and to evaluate and support environmental monitoring systems.
    • Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division
      Provides annual income, financial, and tax data based on individual returns, business returns (including corporations, partnerships, and sole proprietorships), and returns filed by tax-exempt organizations. SOI also provides periodic data and in-depth analyses based on other returns, such as those filed by estates, as well as those related to employment taxes, excise taxes, gift taxes, employee plans, tax-exempt bonds, trusts, and the international area.
    • National Agricultural Statistics Service
      Collects, summarizes, analyzes, and publishes agricultural production and marketing data on a wide range of items; statistical highlights summarize frequently requested data for the most recent year. An extensive collection of reports and datasets cover the number of farms and land in farms; acreage, yield, production, and stocks of grains, hay, oilseeds, cotton, potatoes, tobacco, fruits, selected vegetables, floriculture, and selected specialty crops; inventories and production of hogs, cattle, sheep and wool, goats and mohair, mink, catfish, trout, poultry, eggs, and dairy products; prices received by farmers for products, prices paid for commodities and services, and related indexes; cold storage supplies; agricultural chemical use; and related areas of the agricultural economy. Estimates for approximately 120 crops and 45 livestock items are published in 400 reports each year.
    • National Center for Education Statistics
      Collects, analyzes, and publishes statistics on education and public school district finance information in the United States; conducts studies on international comparisons of education statistics; and provides leadership in developing and promoting the use of standardized terminology and definitions for the collection of those statistics. Also supports the Data Analysis System (DAS) and the National Public School Locator.
    • National Center for Health Statistics
      Responsible for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of statistics on the nature and extent of the health, illness, and disability of the U.S. population; the impact of illness and disability on the economy; the effects of environmental, social, and other health hazards; the use of health care services; health resources; family formation, growth, and dissolution; and vital events (i.e., births and deaths). CDC also provides data on morbidity, infectious and chronic diseases, occupational diseases and injuries, vaccine efficacy, and safety studies.
    • National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
      Collects, publishes, and analyzes statistics on the Nation's science and engineering higher educational system and those who participate in it. The Division measures science and engineering enrollments and degrees and develops information on other aspects of higher education through the use of outside data. The Directorate for Education and Human Resources supports international assessments of student knowledge and curriculum, as well as contextual studies and indicators that monitor progress under NSF educational programs.
    • Social Security Administration, Office of Policy
      Responsible for analysis and research on policy initiatives for the Social Security Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) programs and the Supplemental Security Income program. Studies the effects of those programs and of changes to them on individuals, the economy, and program solvency. The Office of Policy also serves as a central resource for the agency on the development of program, administrative, and operational demonstrations and evaluations.
    • Office of Management and Budget
      Assists the President in overseeing the preparation of the Federal budget and supervises its administration in Executive Branch agencies. In helping to formulate the President's spending plans, OMB evaluates the effectiveness of agency programs, policies, and procedures, assesses competing funding demands among agencies, and sets funding priorities. OMB ensures that agency reports, rules, testimony, and proposed legislation are consistent with the President's budget and with Administration policies.
    • U.S. Census Bureau
      Decennial demographic statistics program provides information on the number, geographic distribution, and social and economic characteristics of the nation. Also, conducts several periodic censuses every five years, covering the years ending in 2 and 7. The Economic Censuses include censuses of manufacturing, mineral industries, construction industries, retail and wholesale trade, service industries, and transportation and other businesses. The Census of Governments collects state and local data on public finance; public employment; and governmental organization, powers, and activities.
  • AgingStats.Gov
    Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. Includes:
      Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being
  • Alsalam, Nabeel.
    A Description of the Immigrant Population : an Update.
    [Washington, D.C.] : Congress of the United States, Congressional Budget Office, [2011]
  • American War and Military Operations Casualties: Lists and Statistics, Congressional Research Service, 2010
  • Atlas of United States Mortality.
    Hyatsville, MD : National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1996.
    Call Number: HE 20.6202:AT 6
        This atlas is the first to show all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's). The 18 causes of death included in this atlas account for 83 percent of all deaths in the United States during 1988-92.
  • Business Statistics of the United States. Annual.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1995-
    Call Number: HF 105 .B87 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Continues the earlier title, Business Statistics, published 1951-1992.
    Online versions: 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010
  • Chartbook on Disability in the United States, 1996.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Department of Health, National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, 1989.
    Call Number: ED 1.2:D 63/8
  • Chartbook on Women and Disability in the United States.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Department of Health, National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, 1999.
    Call Number: HV 1569.3 .W65 J26 1999g
  • Chartbook on Work and Disability in the United States, 1998.
    Washington, DC : Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, 1998.
    Call Number: HV1553 .C45 1998g
  • ChildStats.gov
    The Official Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. Includes
    America's Children: Key National Indicators of Child Well-Being. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, 1997-
    Call Number: PR 42.8:C 43/C 43
    Call Number: HQ 792.U5 A44 2005
  • County and City Data Book. Every 6 years.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1949-
    Call Number: HA 202 .A36 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Online versions: 1944-2000, 2007
  • County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book. Annual.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, c1992-
    Call Number: HA 203 .C68 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Online versions: 2002, 2004, 2005
  • County Health Rankings, University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Crime & Justice Electronic Data Abstracts (U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics)
        Most of these files are in .wk1 format.
  • Data.gov
    The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Data.gov includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats. The catalog of tools links you to sites that include data mining and extraction tools and widgets. Datasets and tools available on Data.gov are searchable by category, agency, keyword, and/or data format.
  • Disability and Health State Chartbook - 2006: Profiles of Health for Adults With Disabilities
  • Earnings, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
    Information on the earnings of employed persons derived from the Current Population Survey (CPS). Data on employed and unemployed persons, hours of work, and demographic characteristics of the labor force (including women) also are available.
  • Expenditures on Children by Families = What It Costs to Raise a Child, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture
  • Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data. Annual.
    Lanham, Md. : Bernan Press , 1997-
    Call Number: HD 8051 .A63 (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Online versions: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006
  • HCUPnet
    A free, on-line query system based on Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) data - provides access to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and State level.
  • Health, United States. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1976-
    Call Number: HE 20.7042/6: (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Heart Disease & Stroke Maps
    Atlanta, Ga. : CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, c2001.
    This application presents data for heart disease and stroke mortality and hospitalization rates. The application is produced through collaboration between the CDC and the states.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
    This extraordinary database contains over 37,000 data sets, fully searchable and customizable. Retrieved tables can be downloaded as Excel or PDF files, printed and graphed. Date of coverage varies, but many tables include data 1790-2000. Also available as a print version, below.
    • Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present. 5 vols.
      New York : Cambridge University Press, c2006.
      Call Number: HA 202 .H57 2006 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Interactive Cancer Atlas, National Cancer Institute
    The Interactive Cancer Atlas (InCA) allows you to create customized United States maps showing how many people were diagnosed with or died from cancer by cancer site, gender, race/ethnicity, and state during a given period.
      Cancer Mortality Maps, National Cancer Institute
      Atlas of Cancer Mortality in the United States, 1950-1994.
    Hyatsville, MD : National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute, 1999.
    Call Number: G 1201.E51 A8 1999
  • Life Tables
    A life table (also called a mortality table or actuarial table) is a table which shows, for each age, what the probability is that a person of that age will die before his or her next birthday. This site, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, provide U.S. life tables from 1966 to the present, and decennial life tables for 1890 to 2001.
  • Measuring Healthcare Quality
    This website, from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, pepares two annual statistical reports, the National Healthcare Disparities Report and the National Healthcare Quality Report.
  • National Resources Inventory
    The National Resources Inventory (NRI) is a statistically based survey that has been designed and implemented using scientific principles to assess conditions and trends of soil, water, and related resources on non-Federal lands in the United States-nearly 75 percent of the Nation's total land area. The 1997 NRI captures data on land cover and use, soil erosion, prime farmland soils, wetlands, habitat diversity, selected conservation practices, and related resource attributes at more than 800,000 scientifically selected sample sites. The 1997 NRI covers all 50 States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and some Pacific Basin locations. The 2003 NRI is also now available.
  • Places, Towns and Townships. Irregular.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, c1993-
    Call Number: HA 203 .P573
    Online versions: 2003
  • Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
    The Poverty Guidelines are issued each year in the Federal Register by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The guidelines are a simplification of the poverty thresholds for use for administrative purposes--for instance, determining financial eligibility for certain federal programs. There is a dollar amount listed for the 48 States & D.C., Alaska, and Hawaii, for family units from 1 to 8.
  • Report on the American Workforce
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Labor, -2001.
  • School District Demographics System
    A website from the National Center for Educational Statistics which provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.
  • Science and Engineering Indicators
    This biennial report to Congress from the National Science Foundation provides a broad base of quantitative information about U.S. science, engineering, and technology.
  • States and Local Areas
    The State and Local Area Web site allows online access to the data provided by the Statistical Abstract supplement publications, State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and County and City Data Book. The electronic version provides more current data as well as source links which allow the user to access additional data not included in Census Bureau publications. Also provided are links to additional statistical resources which are not included in the publications.
  • State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Irregular.
    Washington : U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1979-
    Call Number: HA 203 .A35 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • State Education Data Profiles
    Provides statewide information in elementary/secondary education, postsecondary education and selected demographics for all states in the U.S. Allows comparison of up to four states and the U.S. as a whole, and the ability to graph the results.
  • State and Territorial Data
    Data provided includes births, fertility rate, deaths, death rate, marriages and divorces, prevalence and trends data for numerous categories, and a link to the state health department.
  • The State of the Nation's Cities: A Comprehensive Database on American Cities and Suburbs.
    Rockville, MD : HUD USER, 1996.
    Call Number: HT 167 .S72 1996g (Copies available in multiple locations)
    A comprehensive database on 77 American cities and suburbs. As of January 19, 1998 Version 2.2a of the database brings together over 3,000 variables from a wide variety of sources, allowing easy comparability of indicators on employment and economic development, demographic measures, housing and land use, income and poverty, fiscal conditions, and a host of other health, social, and environmental indicators.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. 1878-
    Call Number: HA202 .Un31 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics Sourcebook. 2nd ed.
    Rockville, MD : Dept. of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1998.
    Call Number: HE 20.424:4
    Call Number: RC 564 .S827 1995
  • U.S. Global Change Data and Information System
    GCDIS is a collection of distributed information systems operated by government agencies involved in global change research. GCDIS provides global change data to scientists and researchers, policy makers, educators, industry, and the public at large. GCDIS includes multidisciplinary data from atmospheric science, ecology, oceanography, as well as economics and sociology.
  • Women and Heart Disease: An Atlas of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Mortality. 2nd ed., 2008
    Includes more than 200 national and state maps of heart disease mortality. The maps in the Atlas highlight the geographic, racial, and ethnic inequalities in heart disease mortality among women.

Canadian Government Sources

Nongovernmental Sources

These sites may provide statistics compiled by the organization, or take official government statistics and repackage them, often in more useful formats. The one-volume compilations of statistics are particularly useful for their citations to the sources of their statistics, enabling the researcher to update them from the original source in many cases.

  • AARP Research: Surveys and Statistics
    Data from the American Association of Retired Persons.
  • ACCRA Cost of Living Index. Quarterly.
    Louisville, KY : ACCRA, 1992-
    Call Number: HB 235.U6 C58
        Published by the American Chamber of Commerce Researchers Association, it is the most comprehensive source for "cost of living" data for metropolitan areas across the U.S. The ACCRA Web Site provides one sample page.
  • Ad Age DataCenter
    The Ad Age DataCenter provides exclusive advertising and marketing industry data compiled by the Ad Age Research Department. This constantly updated collection includes more than 600 separate charts arranged in four major categories: marketers, media, agencies, salary surveys. Requires free registration.
  • Adherents.com
    Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 44,000 adherent statistic citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 1,300 religions, churches, denominations, faith groups, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. To find US statistics, use the "Search by Geographic Location" function. There are entries at the national, state, and local level!
  • Guttmacher Institute Data Center
    The Alan Guttmacher Institute provides information on reproductive choices, sexual behavior, reproduction and family formation. Each section on its web site contains statistics, and there is also a custom table builder option.
  • American Demographics.
    Ithaca, N.Y., American Demographics Inc., 1979-
    Call Number: Serials A
  • American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money. 5th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2005.
    Call Number: HC 110 .I5 A447 2005g
  • American Lung Association: Epidemiology and Statistics
    Tables, charts, and graphs on air quality, asthma, COPD, lung disease, smoking, tubercolosis, and other diseases.
  • American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns. 7th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2005.
    Call Number: HF 5414.33.U6 A4 2005g
        Check CLIO for earlier editions.
  • American Women: Who They Are & How They Live. 3rd ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2006.
    Call Number: HQ 1421 .A486 2006g (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Association of Religion Data Archives
    The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Select profiles by denomination, state, county and ZIP code. There are also QuickStats, GIS maps and reports, and a bibliographic database.
  • The Asian Databook : Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Asian and Pacific Islander Population, Including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds from Bangladeshi to Vietnamese, for 1,883 U.S. Counties and Cities.
    Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., c2005.
    Call Number: E 184 .A75 2005
  • America's Top-rated Cities: a Statistical Handbook. Annual. 4 vols.
    Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., 1992-
    Call Number: HT 123 .A669 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Berinstein, Paula.
    The Statistical Handbook on Technology.
    Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1999.
    Call Number: T 21 .B47 1999
  • Brownstone, David M.
    Facts about American Immigration.
    New York : H.W. Wilson, 2001.
    Call Number: JV 6465 .B73 2001 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Cancer Facts and Figures. Annual.
    New York : American Cancer Society, 1967-
    Call Number: Serial C
         The web site contains current and older versions of the publication, plus many other cancer statistics.
  • Child Trends DataBank
    Provides over 70 indicators of child and youth well-being, in these categories: Health; Social & Emotional Development; Income, Assets & Work; Education & Skills; Demographics; Family & Community.
  • Children's Defense Fund
    Numerous CDF publications contain statistics.
  • Clodfelter, Micheal.
    Vietnam in Military Statistics : a History of the Indochina Wars, 1772-1991.
    Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1995.
    Call Number: DS 556.54 .C57 1995
  • The Comparative Guide to American Suburbs. Quadrennial.
    Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., 1997-
    Call Number: HA 214 .C66 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • EconData.Net
    EconData.Net is designed to help practitioners, researchers, students, and other data users quickly gain access to relevant state and substate socioeconomic data. The site aims to be a convenient, comprehensive first stop for anyone searching among the vast, disparate array of public and private data sources on the Web.
  • Economic Indicators Handbook: Time Series, Conversions, Documentation. Irregular.
    Detroit : Gale Research, c1992-
    Call Number: HC 101 .E385
  • Economic Policy Institute:
    EPI provides data in several areas, including Economic Indicators (analyses of government data from the Census, BLS, and BEA) and its flagship publication:
    The State of Working America. Annual.
    Washington, DC : Economic Policy Institute, c1988-
    Call Number: HD 8051 .S73 (Copies available in multiple locations)
      Updated with Economy Track, the latest labor market numbers, updated every month.
  • ERSys.com
    Using maps, charts, reports, and relevant links, Ersys covers over 1300 US cities with detailed information on demographics, environmental factors, economic indicators, housing stats, media (newspaper, television, and radio), schools, transportation, local contacts, and much more.
  • Fast, Timothy.
    The Women's Atlas of the United States. Rev. ed.
    New York : Facts on File, c1995.
    Call Number: HQ 1410 .F27 1995g (Copies available in multiple locations)
         Color maps showing variations in education, employment, family, health, crime, and politics, usually by state.
  • Fitzpatrick, Gary L.
    Direct Line Distances: United States Edition.
    Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1986.
    Call Number: G 109 .F54 1986 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Foreign Trade of the United States : Including State and Metro Area Export Data. 2nd ed.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan, c2001.
    Call Number: HF 1416.5 F68 2001g
  • Frey, William H.
    America by the Numbers: a Field Guide to the U.S. Population.
    New York : New Press : Distributed by W.W. Norton, c2001.
    Call Number: HA 214 .F74 2001
  • Frey, William H.
    Mapping the Growth of Older America: Seniors and Boomers in the Early 21st Century (2007)
  • Gale Book of Averages.
    Detroit : Gale Research Inc., 1993.
    Call Number: HA 155 .G34 1993
        Contains over 1100 charts, tables, and graphs, with sources, and a detailed subject index.
  • Gates, Gary J.
    The Gay & Lesbian Atlas.
    Washington, D.C. : Urban Institute Press, c2004.
    Call Number: HQ 76.3.U5 G355 2004 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Area Data. Annual.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1999-
    Call Number: RA 407.3 .H45
         Includes 85 data items, in four main categories: population characteristics, vital statistics, healthcare resources, and Medicare. Easy to compare state and county characteristics.
  • Health and Environment in America's Top-Rated Cities: a Statistical Profile. Irregular.
    Boca Raton, FL : Universal Reference Publications, c1994-
    Call Number: RA 566.3 .H42
  • The Health Care Marketplace Project
    Presented by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, the Health Care Marketplace Project provides information and analysis about the health care market, including trends in health insurance, health care costs, and health care services.
  • Heaton, Tim B.
    Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States.
    Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 2000.
    Call Number: E 184.A1 H417 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Historical Census Browser
    The data here, a project of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), describe the people and economy of the United States between 1790 and 1960. Data are available for any county in most states during this time period. You can also generate maps of the data.
  • Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What. Biennial.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist, c1997-
    Call Number: HC 110.C6 O34
  • Housing Statistics of the United States. 4th ed.
    Lanham, Md., USA : Bernan Press, 2001.
    Call Number: HD 7293 .A1 H654 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Hunger in America: 2006, 2010
    Hunger in America is the largest, most comprehensive study of its kind ever conducted. The study provides authoritative, comprehensive, and statistically valid data on the national charitable response to hunger and the people served by private hunger-relief agencies. Through face-to-face client interviews and surveys of local charitable agencies, Hunger in America chronicles the nature and incidence of demand for emergency food assistance.
  • Injury Facts. Annual.
    Chicago : National Safety Council, 1999-
    Call Number: Serial I (Copies available in multiple locations)
    Continues Accident Facts, 1945-1998.
  • Investors Syndicate.
    A Half-century of Progress, 1894-1944: Facts and Figures About the Growth of Economic Life in the United States.
    Minneapolis, Investors Syndicate, 1944.
    Call Number: SB6 I62
  • Kids Count Data Book. Annual.
    Baltimore : Annie E. Casey Foundation, 1990-
    Call Number: HQ 792 .U5 K53 (1991-2002)
    Call Number: HQ 792 .U5 C37 (1998-2006, most recent online only))
  • Kurian, George Thomas.
    Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005 : America Year by Year. 2nd ed.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 2001.
    Call Number: HA 202 .K87 2001 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Mitchell, Susan.
    American Generations: Who They Are, How They Live. 7th ed.
  • Mitchell, Susan.
    Generation X :Americans Aged 18 to 34 . 4th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2006.
  • National Bureau of Economic Research Online Data
    Macrodata, industry data, and more, mostly from NBER, with some links to other sources.
  • National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
    NCCS is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research.
  • National Center for Children in Poverty
    Provides fact sheets, state profiles, and other demographics on children in poverty, from the Mailman School of Public Health of Columbia University, New York
  • Older Americans: a Changing Market. 4th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2004.
    Call Number: HQ 1064.U5 O43 2004g
  • Pew Hispanic Center:
    A focus of the Pew Hispanic Center is demography -- the patterns of Hispanic population growth and settlement across the United States. The center produces a number of regular reports on immigration and population trends, for both Hispanics and other foreign-born residents of the U.S.
      Statistical Portrait of the Foreign-Born Population in the United States, 2009
      Unauthorized Immigrant Population: National and State Trends, 2010
  • Portrait of Health in the United States.
    Lanham, MD : Bernan ; c2001.
        Includes an extensive chapter on "How to Find More Health Statistics."
  • Population Reference Bureau
    The Population Reference Bureau informs people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues. PRB produces Data Sheets and the Population Bulletin. Also very useful is the Graphics Bank, a collection of PowerPoint presentations on population and health. The PRB DataFinder lets you create custom tables by searching on location, indicator or topic.
  • Racial and Ethnic Diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. 6th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y : New Strategist Publications, Inc., 2009.
    Call Number: E 184.A1 R78 2009g
  • Religious Congregations & Membership in the United States 2000 : an Enumeration by Region, State and County Based on Data Reported for 149 Religious Bodies.
    Nashville, Tenn. : Glenmary Research Center, c2002.
    Call Number: R317.3 R27
  • Rusk, Jerrold G.
    A Statistical History of the American Electorate.
    Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2001.
    Call Number: JK 1967 .R87 2001 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Russell, Cheryl.
    Racial and Ethnic Diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. 6th ed.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, c2009.
    Call Number: E 184.A1 R78 2009g
  • Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics. Annual.
    Arlington, VA : CACI Marketing Systems, c 1996-
    Call Number: HA 203 .S66
        Provides a broad cross-section of detailed information on two geographic study areas: ZIP Codes and counties. Includes software that lets you easily search, query, sort, print, and import/export data.
  • Source Book of Health Insurance Data. Annual.
    New York, Health Insurance Institute, 1955-
    Call Number: HG 9396 .So84
  • The State of America's Children Yearbook. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : Children's Defense Fund, 1991-
    Call Number: HV 741 .C5375
        Latest data available at Children's Defense Fund, in the Data section
  • The State of the Nation's Ecosystems
    New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002.
    Includes sections on: National, Coasts and Oceans, Farmlands, Forests, Fresh Waters, Grasslands & Shrublands, Urban & Suburban Areas. Produced by the Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment.
  • State of the Union: America in the 1990s. 2 vols.
    New York : Russell Sage Foundation, 1995.
    Call Number: HC 106.8 .S7352 1995 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Vol. 1: Economic trends; Vol. 2: Social trends.
  • Statehealthfacts.org: Your Source for State Health Data
    Sponsored by the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource contains the latest state-level data on over 400 different health topics.
  • Stateline.org
    stateline.org is a project of the Pew Center for the States. There is a profile of each state, with extensive data. The Issues section provides comparative tables for all states in the areas of budget & taxes, crime & prisons, environment, highways & transportation, income & poverty, population, education, healthcare, utility deregulation, and welfare reform.
      State of the States
      Stateline's annual preview of what will be the year's most-discussed issues in state capitals.
  • StateMaster.com
    StateMaster.com is a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. StateMaster.com goes beyond the numbers to provide you with visualization technology like pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots.
  • Statistical Forecasts of the United States. 2nd ed.
    Detroit : Gale Research, 1995.
    Call Number: HC 106.8 .S7357 1995
  • Statistical Handbook of Working America. 2nd ed.
    Detroit : Gale Research, 1997.
    Call Number: HD 8051 .S738
  • Statistical Handbook on ....
    There are a number of titles beginning with these words, from two different series, published 1991-2004. Check CLIO for titles and call numbers.
  • A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions & Trends. 2nd ed.
    Lanham, Md. : Bernan Press, 2002.
    Call Number: HN 60 .S7 2002g
         Especially useful for the graphical display of data.
  • Statistical Record of....
    There are a number of titles beginning with these words, from two different series, published 1991-2004. Check CLIO for titles and call numbers.
  • Tidwell, Billy J.
    The Black Report: Charting the Changing Status of African Americans.
    Lanham, Md. : University Press of America, c1997.
    Call Number: E 185.86 .T49 1997
  • The Urban Institute
    Statistics and data are available in several places on this site:
      Research By Topic
  • The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2009. 4th ed.
    Amenia, NY : Grey House Pub., c2009.
    Call Number: HB 235.U6 V35 2009
         A fascinating compilation of the costs of consumer items and purchasing power of consumers. Chapters cover the Civil War to 1899, 1900-1919, 1920-1939, 1940-1959, and 1960-2009.
  • Vital Signs: the Trends That Are Shaping Our Future. Annual.
    New York : W.W. Norton, c1992-
    Call Number: TD 193.2 .V58 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Vital Statistics on American Politics. Irregular.
    Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 1988-
    Call Number: JK 274 .S74 (Copies available in multiple locations)
        Tables in these subjects: Elections & Political Parties, Campaign Finance & PACs, Public Opinion & Voting, Media, Congress, Presidency & Executive Branch, The Judiciary, Federalism, Foreign & Military Policy, Social Policy, Economic Policy. There is also a substantial bibliography of statistical sources for each chapter.
  • Who We Are. Hispanics.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, Inc., c2007.
    Call Number: E 184.S75 W48 2007g)