Terrorism: Information Resources



This is a selective guide to library materials and Internet resources on terrorism and terrorist activities. For suggestions to other material, please check with Lehman Reference staff. A Columbia University e-seminar series, Covering Terrorism, presented by Associate Professor Brigitte L. Nacos, examines the marriage of convenience that exists between terrorists and the media.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Find Books

Book Catalogs

  • CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
    CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
  • Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
    Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
  • WorldCat
    An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
  • Borrow Direct
    A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.

Books

  • CQ Homeland Security
    CQ Homeland Security is a one-stop, Web-based intelligence service that brings subscribers the most up-to-date and comprehensive homeland security information. A dedicated team of CQ reporters and editors provide real-time daily news and analysis on the latest homeland security spending and policy issues, as well as homeland security legislation, informative status reports on all homeland bills and custom CQ bill analyses.
  • ProQuest Congressional
    ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database of U.S. congressional publications, enhanced with links to full text documents, bill tracking features, and other new features; an excellent product and the best place to start for legislative research on any topic.
  • Babkina, A. M.
    Terrorism : a Bibliography with Indexes. 2nd ed.
    Huntington, N.Y. : Nova Science Publishers, c2001.
    Call Number: Z 7164. T3 B33 2001
  • Mickolus, Edward F.
    Terrorism, 1980-2004 : a Selectively Annotated Bibliography. 5 vols.
    New York : Greenwood Press, c1988-2006.
    Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 M
  • Newton, Michael.
    Terrorism in the United States and Europe, 1800-1959 : an Annotated Bibliography.
    New York : Garland, 1988.
    Call Number: R016 .3358 N485
  • Prunckun, Henry W.
    Shadow of Death : an Analytical Bibliography on Political Violence, Terrorism, and Low-intensity Conflict.
    Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1995.
    Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 P78 1995
  • Rand Corporation.
    A Bibliography of Selected Rand Publications. Terrorism (1980-2004).
    Santa Monica, CA : Rand, 1985-
    Call Number: Z 7164 .T3 R364
  • Schmid, Alex Peter.
    Political Terrorism : a New Guide to Actors, Authors, Concepts, Data Bases, Theories, & Literature
    New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, [2005]
    Call Number: HV 6431 .S349 2005
  • Terrorism and Crime Studies
    A series of current, online bibliographies prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.

Background Information

Find Journal Articles

Journals

  • Aakrosh : Asian Journal on Terrorism and Internal Conflicts. Quarterly.
    New Delhi : Forum for Strategic and Security Studies, 1998-
    Call Number: HV 6433 .A8 A3
  • Early Warning
    William M. Arkin on National and Homeland Security; Early Warning will report daily on the comings and goings of the national security community -- military, special ops, intelligence, homeland security -- part blog, part investigative journalism.
  • Global Security Newswire
    Daily news on nuclear, biological and chemical weapons, terrorism and related issues.
  • GovExec.com: Defense and Homeland Security
  • Homeland Security Affairs
    Access to full-text of a subset of the entire Jane's Online databases. Titles include: Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's International Defense Review, Jane's Intelligence Review, Foreign Report, Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Jane's World Defence Industry, Jane's Sentinel Security Assessments, Jane's Intelligence Watch Report, Jane's Terrorism Watch Report, Jane's Counter Terrorism, Jane's World Insurgency and Terrorism, Jane's Chem-Bio Handbook, Jane's Chem-Bio Review, Jane's Geopolitical Special Reports.
  • Journal of Homeland Security
  • Studies in Conflict and Terrorism. Quarterly.
    London : Taylor & Francis, 1992-
    Call Number: HM 136 .S85
  • Terrorism and Political Violence. Quarterly.
    London : Frank Cass, 1989-
    Call Number: HV 6431 .T6
  • Terrorism Focus

Journal Articles Databases

  • Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Quarterly.
    Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.: Air University Library, 1949-
    Call Number: Z 5063 .A2 U8
        You can also Search AULIMP. Click on "web-based catalog" then select "AUL Index to Military Periodicals" from the menu.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Provides citations to articles on topics in world history, in all western languages.
  • International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
    Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
    Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • Jane's Online
    Access to full-text of a subset of the entire Jane's Online databases. Titles include: Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's International Defense Review, Jane's Intelligence Review, Foreign Report, Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Jane's World Defence Industry, Jane's Sentinel Security Assessments, Jane's Intelligence Watch Report, Jane's Terrorism Watch Report, Jane's Counter Terrorism, Jane's World Insurgency and Terrorism, Jane's Chem-Bio Handbook, Jane's Chem-Bio Review, Jane's Geopolitical Special Reports.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    A database of government reports, journal articles, books, and other research in topics in criminal justice.
  • PAIS International. Monthly.
    New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
    Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations)
  • EINIRAS Database Network
    The EINIRAS database makes available several databases of citations to security-related articles, 1990-present. They can be searched by English, French, Spanish, and German keywords.
  • Terrorism and Crime Studies
    A series of current, online bibliographies prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.

Annual Reviews

  • Annual Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism
    A report from the Office of Management and Budget.
  • Country Reports on Terrorism, formerly Patterns of Global Terrorism. Annual.
    Washington : U.S. Dept. of State, 1983-
    Call Number: HV 6431 .P377
       This annual report is submitted in compliance with Title 22 of the United States Code, Section 2656f(a), which requires the Department of State to provide Congress a full and complete annual report on terrorism for those countries and groups meeting the criteria of Section (a)(1) and (2) of the Act.
  • Political Violence Against Americans. Annual.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of Diplomatic Security, 1988-
    Call Number: CLIO Record
  • Terrorism in the United States. Annual.
    Washington : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, 1987-
    Call Number: J 1.14/22:
       Annual report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, detailing incidents of terrorism in the U.S.

U.S. Government Agencies

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

Research Centers & Think Tanks

Primary Source Documents