U.S. Politics: Information Resources
Find Books & Manuscripts
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Digital Dissertations
Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- American Political Science Association.
Style Manual for Political Science 2006 ed
The 1993 edition is located in Lehman Reference. Call Number: JA74 .A52 1993g
- CQ Congress collection: making sense of representative democracy.
Provides an analytical survey of the history and development, powers, personalities, current developments, and legislation considered and passed by the United States Congress.
- CQ electronic library
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. 6 vols.
Call Number: KF4548 .E53 1986
- Oxford handbooks: Political science
Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in political Science. The handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History Edited by Michael Kazin
Princeton University Press, c2010.
Find Journal Articles
- CIAO: Columbia international affairs online
A source for theory and research in international affairs. Provides a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- International Political Science Abstracts.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Citations, mostly with abstracts, 1989- present, updated quarterly.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- PAIS Archive and International
Includes references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies. Coverage from 1915 to the present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index.
Philadelphia, Institute for Scientific Information, 1973- .
Print volumes (1956-1990) are available in Lehman Reference (Z7161 .S65).
- Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Citations to books, reports and journal articles, from the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in ca 1000 political science journals. Coverage from 1975 to the present.
Statistics & Data
- CQ voting and elections collection: expert analysis, demographics, and data.
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America.
- Exit polls: Surveying the American electorate, 1972-2010
Explores the trends in longitudinal variables asked in the national Election Day exit polls from their beginning in 1972 to the present.
- GIS and Statistical Data Sources
Data and statistical resources available at Columbia University Libraries.
- Vital Statistics on American Politics. 2006 to present.
Previous editions, 1988 to 2005, are available in multiple locations, Call Number: JK274 .S74
- The Almanac of American Politics
Provides a brief political history of each state and Congressional district in the U.S., with profiles of each of the incumbent Governors, Senators and Representatives.
- A Dictionary of Political Biography.
Oxford University Press. Revised online-only edition 2009, 1998.
- The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
Porvides biographies of persons in the politicla sphere. Arranged in an A - Z format.
News and analysis service tracks legislation before Congress and alerts users to late-breaking news and updated Hill schedules, status of bills and bill summaries, committee coverage with votes and markups, transcripts of select oral testimony and all written submitted testimony, votes analysis, member biographies, daily news wrap-up, nonpartisan articles on policy topics, status of bills, comparisons of competing versions of bills, and coverage of appropriations.
- Digital National Security Archive
Contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
- Legislative Insight
Provides thoroughly researched legislative histories for enacted United States public laws (and more) with links to full text documents.
- National Journal Group's policy central.
A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.
- ProQuest Congressional.
Bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register, from 1789 to the present.
- U.S. Government Documents.
CU Subject Guides to U.S. government documents.