The European Union
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- Access to Legislation in Europe, 2009
This guide gives essential information on official sources of legal gazettes, consolidated legislation and legislative databases. It covers the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, the European Economic Area, as well as each of the Member States in these legal systems.
- Archick, Kristin.
The European Parliament
An analysis of the functions and powers of the European Parliament, and a comparison with the U.S. Congress, by the Congressional Research Service, July 2009
- Archive of European Integration (AEI)
This site, from the University of Pittsburg is an online repository dedicated to the collection of full text materials on European integration.
- Encyclopedia of the European Union.
Call Number: JN 30 .E52 2000
- EU History: History of European Integration Site
This site, from the History Department at the University of Leiden, puts the EU into a historical context, with extensive background material, bibliographies, primary and statistical sources, etc.
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history).
- EUROPARL: Fact Sheets
Provides information on initiatives and on the policies of the European Union in general.
- The European Union: a Guide for Americans
Basic information on the EU, from the Delegation of the European Commission
- The European Union: Annual Review of Activities. Annual. 1994-
Call Number: JN 15 .E875
- Historical Archives of the European Union
Located at the European University Institute, in Florence, Italy.
- IATE: InterActive Terminology for Europe
A database which translates terminology used in the EU among multiple languages.
- Inside Europe: Your Guide to Life Inside the European Union
A service of the BBC News, this site features sections on the EU budget, expansion, a timeline, and a glossary of terms.
- Interactive Enlargement Map
- Jacobs, Francis.
The European Parliament. 7th ed. 2007.
Call Number: JN 36 .J33 2007g
- Minahan, James.
One Europe, Many Nations.
Call Number: D 21.3 .M55 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Portrait of the Regions. 10 vols. 1993-2001.
Call Number: HA 1107.5 .P67 1993g
- Roy, Joaqui´n.
Historical Dictionary of the European Union. 2006.
Call Number: JN 15 .R75 2006
- Slomp, Hans.
Europe, a Political Profile : an American Companion to European Politics. 2006.
Call Number: JN 5 .S56 2011
Find Journal Articles
- European Integration Current Contents
European Integration Current Contents provides access to the tables of contents of journals relevant in European Integration research - law, human rights, economics, history and political sciences. Currently it covers 101 journals published in nine languages and 14 countries. Where available, abstracts are also included. It is keyword searchable.
- European Research Papers Archive (ERPA)
A searchable database of online working papers in the field of European integration research.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides bibliographical coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts for political science articles in journals and yearbooks published worldwide.
- JOLIS: Joint World Bank & IMF Libraries Online Catalog
JOLIS includes references to books, journal titles, journal articles, working papers, conference proceedings, technical reports, videos, software, electronic resources, and more.
- PAIS International
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Coverage 1915-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- Agence Europe News Service.
Brussels : Agence Europe, 1973-
Consists of Europe Daily Bulletin, Europe Library, Europe Documents.
Web version available as part of Factiva
- Central Europe Online
General news, business and economic news, cultural and travel information for the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.
- Daily Report: Western Europe/FBIS. 1974-1996.
Also on microfiche in Lehman Library
Daily summarized translations of major political and economic news from European newspapers, radio, television, and wire services.
Continued by: FBIS Publications World News Connection, described below.
- The Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes full-text databases, e.g. Country Reports, regional newsletters, and a time series database providing information and data on over 190 countries. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts. The time series database provides 270 series for 115 countries.
- EU Focus
"In-depth treatment of important European issues and the transatlantic relationship," from the Delegation of the European Commission to the United States.
- EU Insight
"A timely EU issue brief with special attention to EU/US relations," from the Delegation of the European Commission to the United States.
- EU News
Washington D.C., Delegation of the Commission
Information available at the site includes European Union (EU) law, business and news developments in Europe, finance and EU programs. The site also keeps track of European Commission proposals and the progress of draft legislation.
Video excerpts (with transcriptions) from the various EU public broadcasting stations, in all EU languages.
- Europa Press Room
- Europe Today
Europe Today is a news programme about Europe, for Europe. It is broadcast from the BBC World Service in London, but includes views and perspectives from every part of the continent, assembled by a pan-European team of radio journalists. It can be read onsite or listened to via RealAudio.
- European Public Opinion Analysis
Official EU polling information, including Eurobarometer and Europinion.
- European Voice Online
The website of European Voice, a Brussels-based weekly newspaper published by The Economist Group and devoted entirely to European affairs.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and more.
- World News Connection
The internet version of FBIS Publications, 1996-present. WNC provides foreign news, translated and updated daily, searchable in a variety of ways, including a listing of today's top headlines
European Union Resources
- Centre for European Reform
The Centre for European Reform is a think-tank devoted to improving the quality of the debate on the future of the European Union.
- European and Canadian Affairs
A web site from the U.S. Dept. of State, includes sections on the New Transatlantic Agenda, NATO, Information on U.S. Embassies in Europe, Contacts in the State Dept., and links to Dept. of State publications about Europe
- European Forum for Democracy and Solidarity
The European Forum for Democracy and Solidarity was founded in January 1993. It was established by the social democratic parties and political foundations from EU countries as a joint institution dedicated to support the transformation and democratisation processes in Central and Eastern Europe and to function as a platform for co-operation with social democratic oriented personalities, groups and parties in the region.
- European Governments on the Web: from Gunnar Anzinger
EuroStudies is part of the Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) in the UK. It provides links to information about all European countries, including Articles/Papers/Reports, Data, Government Publications, Governmental Bodies, Journals (Full Text), News, Organizations/Societies, and Research Projects/Centres.
- The European Library
Searches the content of European national libraries
- George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies
- Maps of Europe
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, The University of Texas at Austin
- Statewatch Database
Searchable database which monitors the state and civil liberties in the UK and Europe
The Lisbon Treaty
- Text of the Lisbon Treaty
- Your guide to the Lisbon Treaty, from the European Commission, July 2009
The Treaty of Lisbon will define what the EU can and cannot do, and what means it can use. It will alter the structure of the EU’s institutions and how they work.
- The European Union: Leadership Changes Resulting from the Lisbon Treaty, U.S. Congressional Research Service, March 3, 2010
Europa's website on the treaty.
- Treaty of Lisbon: Taking Europe into the 21st Century
Other European IGOs/NGOs
- Commonwealth of Nations
- The Council of Europe
- Guide to Researching the Council of Europe by Anne Burnett, Reference/Foreign & International Law Librarian at the University of Georgia School of Law Library
- Council of European Municipalities and Regions
Promotes pan-European, market- oriented research and development
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
- European Court of Human Rights
- European Patent Office
- European Science Foundation
- European Space Agency
- European Telecommunications Standards Institute
- Group For Research and Information On Peace and Security (GRIP)
- North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
- Adapting to the New Security Environment in Europe: NATO Enlargement (National Security Council)
- Fact Sheet: The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (U.S. Dept. of State, 7/1/97)
- NATO Parliamentary Assembly (Formerly the North Atlantic Assembly)
- United States Security Strategy for Europe and NATO, June
- OECD: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
- OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
- UN Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)
- Western European Union
- WHO Regional Office for Europe (WHO:EURO)
- World Bank
European Studies in the United States
- Center for West European Studies University of Pittsburgh
- European Union Centers of Excellence In the United States from the Delegation of the European Commission to the U.S.
- WESSWEB (Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries)WESSWEB has two goals: to provide Western Europe specialists with information for their work and to provide WESS members with information about the Section.
Official Publications of the European Union
European Commission service offering user-friendly and interactive information on the European Union's goals, institutions and policies, with links to all of the Union's component institutions and databases.
- The EU At a Glance
- EU Institutions and Other Bodies
- Committee of the Regions
- Council of the European Union
- European Economic and Social Committee
- European Central Bank
- European Commission
- Reforming the Commission, March 1, 2000
White Paper which outlines a specific Action Plan for reform and modernization of the European Commission.
- Reforming the Commission, March 1, 2000
- European Court of Auditors
- European Court of Justice
- European Environment Agency
- European Investment Bank
- European Ombudsman
- European Parliament
- European Union News
- Policy Areas of the European Union
The EU is active in a wide range of policy areas, from human rights to transport and trade. The link for each policy title provides a summary of what the EU does in that area, and useful links to relevant bodies, laws and documents.
- Enlargement of the EU
Includes Enlargement Commission Reports for each of the candidate countries, Draft Accession Partnerships, and other key documents.
- European Integration Online Portal
Includes working papers and research papers.
- CORDIS: Community Research and Development Information Service
- Eurydice: the Information Network on Education
- G8 Information Centre, University of Toronto
Information on the G7/G8 summits and related activities.
- European Union Documents
Including European law, documents common to all the institutions, and documents of individual institutions.
- Delegation of the European Commission to the United States, Washington, D.C.
Includes a Profile of the EU, News, Articles from the Current Issue of Europe Magazine, the EU-US Partnership, info on the Member States, and Information Resources: EU Depository Libraries in the U.S., Centers of European Studies, Electronic Information (a description of EU databases), and more.
- Information Society
This website, managed by DG Information Society, contains a wealth of thematic information produced mainly by the European Commission and other European Union actors. Currently around 30 content providers publish on this site.
- United States Mission to the European Union, Brussels
Provides key documents (speeches, agreements, declarations, conferences), facts & figures, and issues by topic.
Guide to EU Document Citations
|If the citation looks like this:||The document is from this publication:|
|OJ C309 19.11.87 p.3||Official Journal C (Information and Notices)|
|OJ l86 17.3.87 p.5||Official Journal L (Legislation)|
|COM (87)685||COM (Commission of the EU) Documents|
|CES (88)745||CES (Economic and Social Committee) Opinions and Reports|
|PE Doc A2-74/88||EP Reports (European Parliament Reports) a.k.a. Working Papers|
|3.388/196||Debates of the European Parliament|
|85/870/EEC or 1220/88||
A Decision, Directive, Regulation or Agreement
European Union Documents
The New York University Law Library is an official depository for European Union documents. All of the items in this section can be found there. Anyone can use the EU depository materials, upon request.
- Accessing European Parliament Documentation.
Lanham, MD : UNIPUB, 1993.
Call Number: Z 7165 .E8 A32 1993g
- Bulletin of the European Union. Monthly. 1975-
Call Number: JX1981 .B8701
- Directory of Community Legislation in Force (EUR-Lex)
Call Number: JX 1981 .R261
The Directory of Community legislation in force is a subject index in two volumes of current legislation, one alphabetical and the other chronological. It is updated and re-issued every six months.
- General Report on the Activities of the European Union. Annual.
Call Number: HC 241.2 .A1 E91
- "Green Papers"
Documents presented for public discussion and debate.
- Official Journal of the European Communities.
The Official Journal is published every working day. Columbia's holdings can be found at the Columbia University Diamond Law Library, as below.
- Information and Notices - the "C" series. 1973-
Call Number: KJE 908 .I54
Covers a wide range of Union information, such as Commission proposals for legislation, reports of the progress of cases before the Court of Justice, written questions put by the European Parliament to the Council and the Commission together with their relative answers, the current exchange rate of the European currency unit (the ECU), invitations to tender for agricultural and animal products, the annual report of the Court of Auditors, competition notices for job vacancies in the EC institutions, opinions of the Economic and Social Committee, etc.
- Invitations for Public Tenders - the "S" series.
Since the advent of the single market, all invitations to tender for public works, services and supply contracts must be publicised throughout the EU (contracts for construction projects worth more than ECU 5 000 000, supply and services contracts worth more than ECU 200 000). These are published in the Supplement to the Official Journal of the European Communities.
- Legislation - the "L" series. 1973-
Call Number: KJE 908 .L31
Contains all the legislative acts and regulations whose publication is obligatory under the Treaties establishing the European Communities, as well as a large number of acts that do not carry a statutory obligation to publish.
- Debates of the European Parliament. 1987-
Call Number: JX 1984 .E12 D31
- Index to the Official Journal of the European Communities.
Call Number: KJE 908.2 .I531
The monthly and annual indexes consist of two volumes: Volume I: Alphabetical Index, and Volume II: Methodological Tables (numerical index). These volumes are used in tandem, the indexed items in the Alphabetical Index referring to the titles of the documents in the Methodological Tables.
- Information and Notices - the "C" series. 1973-
- Texts Adopted by the European Parliament. Monthly.
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1987-
Call Number: JX 1984.E12 T314
Texts of all of the founding and consolidating treaties of the European Community and European Union.
- "White Papers"
Documents presenting a detailed and debated policy both for discussion and political decision.
- EU Whoiswho, the Official Directory of the European Union
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2005-
Statistics & Data
- DSSC Data Service, Columbia University
Located in 215 Lehman Library, the DSSC Data Service offers the University community access to a wide variety of numerical data resources and related services.
- Sources for International Statistics
Sources covering all countries, as well as the specific European ones
- IGO Publications Ready Reference Collection
Many IGO publications are statistical in nature.
- European Legal Studies Center at Columbia Law School
- Council for European Studies
- East Central European Center in the School of International and Public Affairs
- European Union Center of New York
- The European Institute in the School of International and Public Affairs
- Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America (Casa Italiana)
- La Maison Française