Women in Development: Information Resources
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research on issues related to women in economic and political development throughout the world.
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- Encyclopedia of the Developing World. 3 vols.
New York : Routledge, c2006.
Call Number: HC 59.7 .E52 2006
- Global Gender Gap Report, from the World Economic Forum
- Human Development Report. Annual.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1990-
Call Number: HD 72 .H8 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Industrial Development Report. Annual.
New York: United Nations, 1985-
Call Number: HC 59.69 .I53 (1996-1997)
Call Number: HC 59.69 .I53 (2002/2003-2005, 2009)
- Kinnear, Karen L.
Women in Developing Countries : a Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2011.
Call Number: HQ 1870.9 .K577 2011
- The Least Developed Countries Report. Annual.
New York: United Nations, 1984-
Call Number: HC 59.7 .L3219
- Progress of the World’s Women
Progress of the World’s Women is UNIFEM’s biennial investigation of progress made towards a world where women live free from violence, poverty and inequality.
- World Survey on the Role of Women in Development. Irregular.
New York: United Nations, 1986-
Call Number: HQ 1240 .W676
Find Journal Articles
- British Library for Development Studies
Search all serial titles, monographs acquired since 1987 and articles selectively indexed since 1990.
- JOLIS: Joint World Bank & IMF Libraries Online Catalog
- Eldis Gender Resource Guide
Search databases and access gender country profiles.
- International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Indexes and abstracts articles in the field of political science, including the sub-fields of public administration, political theory and international relations.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- PAIS International
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Coverage 1915 - present
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Provides articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
- Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- Directory of Development Organizations.
The directory of development organizations, listing 53,750 development organizations, has been prepared to facilitate international cooperation and knowledge sharing in development work, both among civil society organizations, research institutions, governments and the private sector.
- International Organizations Funding Directory.
London : Europa, 2004.
Call Number: JZ 4839 .I68 2004g
- Sustainable Development Policy Directory.
Oxford ; Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2006
Call Number: HC 79 .E5 S773 2006
U.S. Government Agencies
- Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS)
FAS is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) that represents the diverse interests of U.S. farmers and the food and agricultural sector abroad. It also collects, analyzes, and disseminates information about global supply and demand, trade trends, and emerging market opportunities. A search of their site will provide numerous items relating to women and development.
- Office of Global Women's Issues, U.S. Department of State
- United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
USAID is an independent government agency that conducts foreign assistance and humanitarian aid to advance the political and economic interests of the United States.
Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment
Search USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse for development publications, many of which are available online.
- Women in Development
A series of publications from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
- Inter-American Commission of Women
Part of the Organization of American States, it was created expressly to ensure recognition of the civil and political rights of women. Through its delegates in each country, CIM provides support and recognition to national women's movementsQat governmental level, with NGOs, and with grassroots organizations.
- International Labour Organization: Domestic Workers
- United Nations: Women Watch
"The UN Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women," is an evolving electronic forum on global women's issues. It provides up-to-date information on the UN's work on behalf of the women of the world and on the global agenda for improving the status of women. It is a gateway to UN materials related to women:
- UN Conferences on Women (including women's issues at other UN conferences)
- Directory of UN Resources on Gender and Women's Issues, with links to relevant UN agencies, intergovernmental bodies, and regional commissions including:
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Commission on the Status of Women
The Commission was established to prepare recommendations and reports to the Economic and Social Council on promoting women's rights in political, economic, civil, social and educational fields.
- UN Women: United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
In July 2010, the United Nations General Assembly created UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women.
- United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD)
UNRISD is an autonomous agency engaging in multi-disciplinary research on the social dimensions of contemporary problems affecting development. Its mandate is to study the relationship between social and economic development.
- World Bank: Gender in the World Bank
- World Health Organization: Gender, Women and Health
Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Academy for Educational Development (AED)
The Academy for Educational Development is an independent, nonprofit service organization committed to addressing human development needs in the United States and throughout the world.
- Association for Women's Rights in Development
AWID is an organization committed to gender equality and a just and sustainable development process.
- Centre for Development and Population Activities (CEDPA)
CEDPA is a women-focused nonprofit international organization founded in 1975. CEDPA's mission is to empower women at all levels of society to be full partners in development.
- International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
ICRW is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting social and economic development with women's full participation.
- Women's Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)
- WIDNET (Women in Development Network)
WIDNET provides especially good resources for statistics and full text documents of IGOs which relate to women.
- WSSLINKS: International Women
This page includes links to sites (in the U.S. and elsewhere) that address women's issues outside the U.S. Several are in languages other than English. Developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- World Neighbors
World Neighbors is a US-based non-profit organization working at the forefront of worldwide efforts to eliminate hunger, disease and poverty in Asia, Latin America and Africa. It encourages community leadership and self-help in rural communities though 89 programs in food security, community health, and family planning.
- Economic and Political Development: Information Resources
- Population, Migration, and Refugee Studies: Information Resources
- Women's Studies Subject Guides
- Barnard Center for Research on Women
- Columbia University Institute for Research on Women and Gender
- SIPA Program in Economic and Political Development