Child Welfare Resources
This is a list of factual information sources, bibliographies, indexes, and Internet resources related to the social welfare of children; physical items are located in the Social Work Reference Collection, and other locations as noted. Check CLIO for additional books and journal titles.
Research Guides - Handbooks
- Handbook of Parenting
SOCIAL WORK STACKS HQ 755.8 .H357 2002
- Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 6570 .K55 1995
- Handbook of Child and Adolescent Treatment Manuals
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RJ504 .H356 1994
- Handbook of Early Childhood Intervention
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RJ 135 .H36 2000
- Resources for Early Childhood: A Handbook
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HQ 767.9 .N8 1994
- Handbook of Child and Adolescent Sexual Problems
SOCIAL WORK STACKS RJ 506.P72 H36 1995
- Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES RJ 503.3 .H36 1992
- The Adoption Directory
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 875.55 .A364 1995
- Directory of Adult and Juvenile Correctional Departments, Institutions, Agencies, and Probation and Parole Authorities
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 9463 .D5721
- National Directory of Children, Youth & Families Services
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 741 .N3651
- Directory of Shelters & Transitional Living Programs Serving Runaway & Homeless Youths
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 1431 .D57 1993g
- The Child Sexual Abuse Custody Dispute Annotated Bibliography
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE KF 9323.A1 D43 1995
- Parenting: An Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1987
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE Z 7164.C5 F44 1995
- Children of Separation: An Annotated Bibliography for Professionals
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE Z 7164.M2 S73 1994
- Education Full-Text
Citations, abstracts and full-text of articles in education periodicals and other publications.
Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications.
Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.
- LexisNexis Statistical
Statistics on all subjects, U.S. and international.
- ProQuest Direct
Full-text, citations, and abstracts from periodicals in many disciplines plus major U.S. newspapers.
Full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Citations and abstracts for publications about psychology and related disciplines.
- Social Services Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy & community development.
- Social Work Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in social work and social welfare periodicals.
Statistics & Data
- Child Poverty Facts
A series of reports from the National Center for Children in Poverty, Mailman School of Public Health of Columbia University, New York.
- Child Trends DataBank
Features up-to-date data and research on over 70 indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month.
- Children's Defense Fund (CDF)
Numerous CDF publicataions contain statistics.
The Official Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
- CU Numeric Data Collection
The Data Service in Lehman Library's Digital Social Science Center maintains a collection of data studies suitable for use with statistical software. Part of the collection can be accesed via the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) and part via the CU Data Catalog.
- Keeping Track of New York City's Children
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 743 .N5 K43
- Kids Count Data Book
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HQ 792.U5 K53
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect acquires, preserves and disseminates high quality datasets relevant to the study of child abuse and neglect.
- Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement
The Poverty Guidelines are issued each year in the Federal Register by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
- School District Demographics
A website from the National Center for Educational Statistics which provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.
- The State of America's Children Yearbook
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES HV 741 .C5375
- State of the Child in New York State
SOCIAL WORK STACKS HQ 792 .N4 S72
- Statistical Handbook on Adolescents in America
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HQ 796 .S8237 1996
- The Urban Institute
Statistics and data are available on topics such as children and families, social services, and health care.