New York City Social Welfare Resources
This is a list of factual information sources, bibliographies, indexes, and Internet resources related to social welfare in New York City; physical items are located in the Social Work Reference Collection, and other locations as noted. Check CLIO for additional books and journal titles.
Research Guides - Handbooks
- A.C.E.S., Public Benefits Resource Center, Manual: A Guide to Government Benefit Programs for Individuals and Families in New York City: a Program of the Community Service Society of New York.
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES KFX 2045 .A2 A254 1996g
- The Encyclopedia of New York City.
LEHMAN REFERENCE F 128.3 .E75 1995 (On order for Social Work)
- New York Public Records Guide: Southern New York Region.
LEHMAN REFERENCE CD 3404 .K53 1994g
- Demographic Profiles: A Portrait of New York City's Community Districts from the 1980 & 1990 Censuses of Population and Housing.
SOCIAL WORK STACKS HA 730 .N5 D45 1992g
- Statement of Community District Needs
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HT 168 .N3
- The Demographics of Immigration: A Socio-demographic Profile of the Foreign-Born Population in New York State.
LEHMAN STACKS JV 7045 .Y68 1992
- American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RA 977.A1 A461
- CARES Directory: Social and Health Services in the Greater New York Area.
(Formerly: The Source Book. 1984/1985-1995/1996.)
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 99.N59 S6
- Clinical Register of Social Workers.
The National Association of Social Workers directory of clinical social workers in the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Associations/Associations Unlimited.
Descriptions of over 144,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local associations in all fields.
- The Green Book: Official Directory of the City of New York.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE JS 1222.A3 N4
- Municipal Reference Guide. New York.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 541 .M86
- National Directory of Children, Youth & Families Services.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 741 .N3651
- The New York State Directory.
LEHMAN REFERENCE JK 3430 .N56 (On order for Social Work)
- New York State Foundations: A Comprehensive Directory.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 98.N7 N57 1999g
- The Public Welfare Directory.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE R 360.058 A51
Indexes & Abstracts
Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
- Social Services Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy & community development.
- Social Work Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in social work and social welfare periodicals.
- Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in sociology periodicals.
Statistics & Data
- Annual Report on Social Indicators.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HN 80.N5 N50
- County and City Data Book.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 202 .A36
- County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 203 .C68
- CU Numeric Data Collection
The Data Service in Lehman Library's Digital Social Science Center maintains a collection of data studies suitable for use with statistical software. Part of the collection can be accesed via the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) and part via the CU Data Catalog.
- District Resource Statement: An Analysis of Expenditures and Services by Community District.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 87.N5 D4
- InfoShare Online
A database of statistics about New York City.
- New York State Statistical Yearbook.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 544 .A11 (On order for Social Work)
- Newest New Yorkers: A Statistical Portrait.
LEHMAN REFERENCE F 128.A1 S392 1992g
- Poverty in New York City, 1996: An Update and Perspectives.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV4046.N6 R783 1997g
- Socioeconomic Profiles: A Portrait of New York City's Community Districts from the 1980 & 1990 Censuses of Population and Housing.
SOCIAL WORK STACKS HA 730.N5 S73 1993g
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 203 .A35
- Vital Statistics of New York State.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 544 .D46a
Related Internet Resources
New York City Government Information
New York State Government Information
- The Official New York State Website
- New York State Documents (Documents Service Center)
- New York State Department of Health: Information for Researchers
Centers, Agencies & Organizations
- The Foundation Center
The Foundation Center is an independent nonprofit information clearinghouse established in 1956. The Center's mission is to foster public understanding of the foundation field by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects.
- Russell Sage Foundation
The principal American foundation devoted exclusively to research in the social sciences.
- Social Indicators Survey Center
The Social Indicators Survey (SIS) Center at the Columbia University School of Social Work conducts research on inequality and survey methodology. Their mission is to provide unique data sources for the analysis of social problems, to provide teaching resources for Columbia University students, and to provide useful knowledge to social service administrators, planners, and policy makers in New York City and elsewhere.
- Social Science Research Council
Founded in 1923, the Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is an independent, non-governmental, not-for-profit, international association devoted to the advancement of interdisciplinary research in the social sciences.