Social Work Reference Materials


This is a list of information resources, bibliographies, indexes, and Internet resources related to social work. Physical items are located in the Social Work Reference Collection, and other locations as noted. Check CLIO for additional books and journal titles.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Guides to Research and Literature

  • Social Science Reference Sources: A Practical Guide.
    LEHMAN REFERENCE Z 7161 .A1 L5 2000 (On Order for Social Work)
  • An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals.
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 85 .A93 1997
  • Intervention Research: Design and Development for Human Service.
    SOCIAL WORK RESERVES HV 11 .I57 1994
  • Qualitative Research in Social Work.
    SOCIAL WORK RESERVES HV 11 .Q28 1994

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Almanacs

Directories

Handbooks

  • Advocacy Skills: A Handbook for Human Service Professionals.
    SOCIAL WORK STACKS HV 31 .B28 1995 
  • Handbook of Child and Adolescent Treatment Manuals.
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RJ 504 .H356 1994 
  • American Homelessness: A Reference Handbook. 
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HV 4505 .H647 2001
  • Multicultural Clients: A Professional Handbook for Health Care Providers and Social Workers.
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RA 418.5 .T73 L37 1995 
  • Resources for Early Childhood: A Handbook.
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE HQ 767.9 .N8 1994 
  • Techniques and Guidelines for Social Work Practice.
    SOCIAL WORK RESERVES HV 91 .S48 2003
  • Children and Adolescents in Need: A Legal Primer for the Helping Professional.
    SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE KF 3735 .Z9 W45 1995

Online Databases

  • Education Full-Text.
    Citations, abstracts and full-text of articles in education periodicals and other publications.
  • ERIC.
    Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications.
  • ProQuest Direct.
    Full-text, citations, and abstracts from periodicals in many disciplines plus major U.S. newspapers.
  • PsycARTICLES.
    Full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • PsycINFO.
    Citations and abstracts for publications about psychology and related disciplines.
  • Social Services Abstracts.
    Citations and abstracts for research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy & community development.
  • Social Work Abstracts.
    Citations and abstracts for articles in social work and social welfare periodicals.

Internet Resources

  • U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
    Oversees the following agencies, among others:
    • Administration for Children & Families (ACF) is responsible for some 60 programs which provide services and assistance to children and families and administers the state-federal welfare program, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF).
    • Administration on Aging (AOA) supports a nationwide aging network, providing services to the elderly as well as policy leadership on aging issues.
    • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)supports research designed to improve the outcomes and quality of health care, reduce its costs, address patient safety and medical errors, and broaden access to effective services.
    • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) (formerly the Health Care Financing Administration) administers the Medicare and Medicaid programs, which provide health care to America's aged and indigent populations. CMS also administers the new Children's Health Insurance Program through approved state plans that cover more than 2.2 million children.
    • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) helps provide health resources for medically underserved populations. HRSA supports a nationwide network of community and migrant health centers and primary care programs for the homeless and residents of public housing.
    • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) works to improve the quality and availability of substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services.
  • Economic Success Clearinghouse
    A source for information, policy analysis, and technical assistance on welfare reform, the Economic Success Clearinghouse contains links to the networks own publications and covers "hot topics" in a wide range of contemporary issues related to social welfare. 
  • PovertyNet
    Sponsored by the WorldBank, PovertyNet offers comprehensive coverage, including measurements, trends, and strategies to reduce poverty. Special sections address the intersection of poverty with culture and health. Includes the Poverty Monitoring database and an online library.
  • Brookings Institution: Welfare Reform and Beyond Initiative
    The objectives of this initiative are to synthesize current research on welfare reform, making it available to policymakers and the public, and to encourage the development and discussion of new policy options for low-income families, with a special focus on policies that encourage work by and raise incomes for the "working poor." 
  • Urban Institute
    The Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization in Washington, D.C. This page provides access to a number of online health-related press releases, periodicals, and publications.