Research Methods and Testing Information
What follows is a guide to help researchers find materials in the Columbia University Libraries that are related to mental and educational testing and research. Most of these resources point the researcher toward reviews of testing instruments and journal citations related to the use of testing instruments.
Check CLIO for additional books and journal titles.
Note: Measures for clinical practice: a sourcebook lists instruments' variables, while Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business lists access information for purchasing testing instruments themselves.
- Buros Institute
Information regarding major resources in the fields of educational and psychological testing. Provides professional assistance, expertise, and information to users of commercially published tests.
- ERIC/AE Test Locator
A joint project of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation, the Library and Reference Services Division of the Educational Testing Service, the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, the Region III Comprehensive Center at GW University, and Pro-Ed test publishers, this site features a database containing descriptions of over 10,000 tests and research instruments.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Contains comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students, and includes citations to identify and evaluate measurement tests used in health and psychosocial studies.
- Health Services and Sciences Research Resources
HSRR contains information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook Online
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE Z 5814 .P8 M44
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.
Handbooks and Guides
- Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation.
LEHMAN REFERENCE LB 2369 .M377 1998 (On Order for Social Work)
- Handbook of Geriatric Assessment.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE RC 953 .G34 1995
- Handbook of Multicultural Assessment: Clinical, Psychological, and Educational Applications.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE BF 176 .H36 2001
- Handbook of Psychological Assessment.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE BF 176 .G76 1997
- Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement.
SOCIAL WORK STACKS H 62.M44 1991
- A Handbook of Social Science Research.
LEHMAN REFERENCE H 62 .D583 1995 (On Order for Social Work)
- Handbook of Statistical Modeling for the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HA 29 .H2487 1995 (On Order for Social Work)
- Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook.
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES BF 176 .C66 2000
- Outcomes Measurement in the Human Services : Cross-Cutting Issues and Methods.
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES HV 91 .O97 1997
- Proposals That Work: A Guide for Planning Dissertations and Grant Proposals.
SOCIAL WORK RESERVES Q 180.55 .P7 L63
- Statistics for Social Workers.
SOCIAL WORK STACKS HA 29 .W45 2004
- The Survey Research Handbook.
LEHMAN REFERENCE HN 29 .A46 1995 (On Order for Social Work)
- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE BF 176 .T43 1991
- Tests in Print IV: An Index to Tests, Test reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests.
SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE Z 5814 .E9 T47