AGSL Digital photo archive: Asia and Middle East Presents over 4,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. The selection focuses on the countries of Asia and the Middle East. The images come from the collections acquired over many decades by the AGS Library, including an extensive photographic print collection.
Art Sri Lanka
The site presents a number of online exhibitions displaying the work of 28 leading Sri Lankan artists. Other sections of the website investigate the art history, religious art, and antiquities of the country.
Asia Pacific and the Africana Collection The British Library’s collection of prints, drawings and photographs from the Indian subcontinent and its surrounding territories is one of the world’s greatest visual records of the cultural history of South Asia from the late-eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
Asian Historical Architecture
A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage from sites in eighteen countries: Afghanistan, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam. Includes background information and virtual tours.
Beyond the Taj
Architectural traditions and landscape experience in South Asia, a collection developed by Professor Bonnie G. MacDougall and Margaret Webster of the College of Architecture, Art and Planning, Cornell University. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 3,000 photographs taken throughout South Asia by Professor Robert D. MacDougall (1940-1987), an architect and anthropologist.
Birla Academy of Art & Culture
Provides access to some of its collection. There is a museum 'tour', in which images of the sculptures and paintings displayed in the academy are presented, as well as a section called 'collectors' corner', which shows off a selection of the contemporary paintings in the collection.
A large number of Indian devotional images and scenes from religious and mythological tales.
Delight in design: Indian silver for the Raj
An exhibition based on the collection of Paul F. Walter at Miriam & Ira D. Wallach Art Gallery at Columbia University, curated by Vidya Dehejia, with Dipti Khera and Yuthika Sharma.
Contains nearly 300,000 original color slides and black-and-white and color photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia. Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Thailand, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), China, and Japan.
Indian paintings & textiles(Oriental Museum, Durham University)
Highlights include exquisite miniature portraits, scenes from Hindu and Jain mythology, and richly embroidered costumes and furnishings.
International Collections Database
Showcases some of the visual materials held by the Special Collections Division of University of Washington Libraries. In this digital collection are featured selected photographs and postcards from Asia and South America including scenes from China, India, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Japan, 1870s-1930s.