E-journals & Newspapers on South Asia
- Aakrosh: Asian journal on international terrorism and conflicts
New Delhi: Forum for Strategic and Security Studies. (Print journal title: Aakrosh: Asian journal on terrorism and internal conflicts, ISSN: 0971-7862, CLIO record)
Quarterly journal "devoted to the study of organized terrorism, and internal conflicts in South Asia, Afghanistan, Central Asian Republics and the Chinese provinces bordering the region." Edited by Major General Afsir Karim and other current and retired Indian government and military leaders. Full text archive with search engine.
- Annual of Urdu Studies
Madison, WI : Center for South Asia. (ISSN: 0734-5348, CLIO record)
A literary journal designed to "provide scholars working on Urdu humanities ... a forum in which to publish scholarly articles, translations, and views... [also] reviews of books, an annual inventory of significant Western publications in the field, reports, research-in-progress, notices, and information on forthcoming events of interest to its readers (conferences, workshops,competitions, awards, etc.). Each issue of the AUS will also include a section in the Urdu script featuring old and new writing."
- Asianists' Asia
Paris: Centre de Recherche sur les Études Asiatiques. (ISSN 1298-0358)
"An academic journal devoted to researched articles in the humanities and social sciences, and learned essays & relevant fiction or faction, including translations, which might not easily fit into, or find a place in, the existing Asian studies publications." Edited by T. Wignesan.
- AsiaWeek Online
Hong Kong: AsiaWeek Limited.
Developed by Time Inc. Asia. Full-text presentation of select articles, editorials and features from AsiaWeek Magazine. Considerable coverage of South Asia. Site contains an archive link for prior issues.
- Bharat Rakshak Monitor
[NP] : Bharat Rakshak: the Consortium of Indian Military Websites.
A monthly magazine produced by "a private non-profit venture committed to promoting a greater understanding and appreciation of India's military and its strategic environment." Intended to provide a non-specialist audience with a "centrist perspective on issues of importance to India's security". Articles by current and former military writers, analysts, retired officers, etc. This is not an official publication of the Government of India, nor of its military.
- Blue Chip : Business Peoples' Magazine
Islamabad, Pakistan: Blue Chip.
Pakistan business monthly. Presents current issue, and archives of past issues.
- Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies - SOAS
London: SOAS. [Online presentation published by Cambridge University Press]. ISSN: 0041-977X.
Site contains browsable and searchable tables of contents with complete citations of all articles plus abstracts. Registered users can purchase online articles in full-text.
- Business Recorder [Pakistan]
Karachi: Business Recorder.
"Pakistan's national financial daily, published simultaneously from Karachi, Lahore and on the World Wide Web." Editor is M. A. Zuberi.
- CASI Publications
Philadelphia: Center for the Advanced Study of India, University of Pennsylvania.
News and research from CASI, a University of Pennsylvania center functioning as an interdisciplinary academic link between American & Indian academics, policymakers and professionals, especially in the areas of energy & environment, governance, international security, communications & economic development.
- CNN.com Asia
[n.l.] : CNN.
Daily Asian news coverage culled from CNN, AsiaWeek and Time. Special subsection devoted to South Asia.
- Communalism Combat: Hate Hurts, Harmony Works
Mumbai, India: Sabrang Communications and Publishing Pvt. Ltd.
A monthly magazine of Sabrang, a secularist human rights organization that was "started in 1993 to provide information on, analyse and expose the machinations of communal politics in India, on the subcontinent and abroad and to publicise the attempt of secular individuals, groups and organisations engaged in fighting them. We stand for equal respect to all religions but are opposed to the cynical manipulation of faith in the pursuit of power. Therefore we are opposed to both majority and minority communalism." Communalism Combat publishes "analyses and exposures of the manipulations of communal political parties, both of the majority and the minority, as also soul-searching personal accounts of individuals...engaged in battling the forces that divide." Site contains current issue, and an archive of selected articles from each issue back to 1998.
- Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East (CSSAAME)
Durham, NC : Duke University Press. (ISSN: 1548-266X, CLIO record)
"Critical and comparative analyses of the histories, cultural productions, social and gender relations, politics, and economies of Africa, South Asia, and the Middle East... CSSAAME, which merged with the former South Asia Bulletin in 1995... brings together the breadth of comparative studies, the depth of area studies, and the theoretical sophistication of postcolonial and cultural studies." Two issues per year. Online backfile archive includes tables of contents. and full text of articles (in PDF and MS Word formats) from 1991 onward.
- Connect! : SAWF Fortnightly Ezine
[n.p.] : South AsianWomen's Forum.
A publication designed to foster "the intellectual, artisitic and business endeavors of our community members, especially women." Site contains articles, poetry, interviews, social commentary and opinions, columns, etc. Contains archives of back issues.
- Critical Asian Studies (formerly Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars)
[Cedar, MI] : Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars Inc. (ISSN: 1467-2715)
The stated mission of Critical Asian Studies is "to develop a humane and knowledgeable understanding of Asian societies and their efforts to maintain cultural integrity and to confront such problems as poverty, oppression, and imperialism...[and]...to create alternatives to the prevailing trends in scholarship on Asia, which too often spring from a parochial cultural perspective and serve selfish interests and expansionism."
- Daily News and Sunday Observer [Colombo]
Colombo, Sri Lanka: Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited [via Lake House and Lanka Internet Services Ltd).
"The English daily with the largest circulation in Sri Lanka." Site contains the complete current day's issue, and an archive of issues from 2001 onward.
- Dalit Voice: the voice of the persecuted nationalities denied human rights
Bangalore: Dalit Voice.
A fortnightly journal by V. T. Rajshekar, characterized by strong anti-Brahminist, anti-caste and anti-racist stance, advocacy of liberation from Brahminism, and polemical tone. Self-proclaimed as "the sole spokesman for the entire deprived, dehumanised lot of India...", – Dalits, Backward Castes, Christians, Muslims, Sikhs, women – "all victims of the Aryan Brahminical racism." The print journal has been published since 1993. The online archive goes back only to v. 23, no. 16 (August 16-31st, 2004). Live website is no longer active but our link takes you to archived versions of the site via the Internet Archive.
- Dawn.com (Daily Internet Edition)
Karachi & Lahore,Pakistan: Pakistan Herald Publications, DAWN Group.
"Pakistan's most widely circulated English language Newspaper." A daily newspaper. The site is updated daily by noon GMT, except on Fridays and public holidays in Pakistan, and contains the current issue as well as a limited archive.
- Dawn Wire Service (Weekly Internet Edition)
Karachi, Pakistan: Pakistan Herald Publications, DAWN Group. [via University of Virginia].
The DAWN Wire Service (DWS) is a free weekly news-service from Pakistan's largest English language newspaper, the daily DAWN. DWS offers news, analysis and features of particular interest to the Pakistani Community on the Internet.
- Economic and Political Weekly (EPW)
Mumbai: EPW. (ISSN 0012-9976)
"A social science journal [est. 1966] featuring research articles in economics, sociology, political; science and other emerging disciplines; scholarly commentary on topical developments; in-depth reports on people's struggles; regular columns by eminent social scientists; book reviews; weekly statistical updates; analytical review of company performances; monthly review of the money market; plus a periodical series of special statistics on the economy and society." Site contains full text of all articles back to January 1999. Access to earlier articles is available via JSTOR.
- Electronic Journal of Vedic Studies
[Cambridge, MA]: EJVS. (ISSN: 1084-7561)
Scholarly articles on Vedic Studies, many provided in full-text in multiple formats (HTML, ASCII, PDF and Postscript). Site also contains links to an archive of supporting materials (e.g. fonts, macros, and other utilities for Indian languages). The Editor-in-Chief is Michael Witzel of Harvard University.
- Faultlines: Writings on Conflict & Resolution
[New Delhi] : Institute for Conflict Management. (ISSN: 0972-1290)
A quarterly journal on conflict management and national security ofIndia, "bringing an inter-disciplinary focus to bear upon issues of internal security and conflict management, and on related areas of public policy." Provides primary source data as well as analytical and research papers on these topics. Edited and published by K.P.S. Gill.
[Bombay]: Bennet, Coleman & Co., Ltd. (The Times Group).
The popular Indian women's fortnightly.
- Frontier Post
Peshawar, Pakistan: Frontier Publications (pvt) Ltd.
A daily English-language newspaper from Pakistan. Site contains the current day's issue, and an archive.
[Madras, India and New York] : Frontline, Tribeca Internet Initiatives, Inc., Indiaserver, and The Hindu Group of Publications. (ISSN: 0970-1710)
"India's National Magazine". A major, well-respected bi-weekly news and feature magazine covering India and the world. Online site contains current issue as well as a searchable archive of prior issues (1997 to present) with full-text of all articles (with photos).
- Himal Southasian
Kathmandu, Nepal: Himal Inc. (ISSN: 1012-9804)
A monthly magazine (previously titled Himal South Asia) on political and cultural affairs and analytical articles and opinion pieces on South Asia "from a non-nationalist, regionwide perspective," with special focus oncross-border cultural and social movements, book reviews, and the arts. Edited by Kanak Mani Dixit. The website provides tables of contents (with brief abstracts) of all issues, as well as full-text of most articles from each issue, and extracts of others. The site archive contains issues from 1987 onward.
- Himalayan Journal of Development and Democracy
Albuquerque, New Mexico: Nepal Study Center, University of New Mexico.
Research papers on Nepal. Published irregularly. Backfiles available on the site.
- The Hindu
Madras, India: The Hindu.
Daily newspaper in full text. Site contains an archive of all issues back to January 1, 2000, with selected full-text articles from each. The related The Hindu Group Home Page has links for their other publications and magazines, special issues, historical collections, features, etc.
- Hinduism Today
Kauai, Hawaii: Himalayan Academy. (ISSN: 0896-0801)
A glossy monthly magazine "affirming Sanatana Dharma and recording the modern history of a billion-strong global religion in renaissance." International organ of the Satguru Sivaya Subramuniyaswami Ashram (Saiva Siddhanta Church), based in Hawaii. Covers general events and issues of Hinduism worldwide. Site contains an archive of backfiles from 1993 onwards (with plans to extend the files to earlier issues), as well links to other activities and publications of the Ashram and its international affiliates.
- IIAS Newsletter (Online)
Leiden, Netherlands: International Institute for Asian Studies. (ISSN: 0929-8738)
A substantial quarterly, providing "interviews, research updates, book reports, conference reports, news about followships and grants, forum articles, calendars of events, internet news, and a special Asian art section... comprehensive coverage of the latest developments in the field of Asian Studies." A very rich source of information on Asian Studies, with extensive coverage of South Asia. Particularly useful as a window on European activity in this field. Site contains complete backfiles. (A separate IIAS Home Page links to other activities, publications, directories and databases of this large and important European center.)
- India Perspectives [Online]
New Delhi: India Ministry of External Affairs. (ISSN: 0970-5074) December 1998-.
A well-produced general interest monthly magazine on Indian society and culture, produced by the Ministry of External Affairs.
- India Together
[Bangalore]: Civil Society Information Exchange Pvt. Ltd. 1998-.
An e-journal "devoted to coverage of public affairs, policy, and development in India, providing news in proportion to the country's broad development experiences...India Together runs at least one article each day, covering over 15 major topics and themes ranging from government and poverty to agriculture and environment. The publication also helps practitioners, scholars and artists take their ideas, insights and concerns expeditiously to an interested national and global audience." Although the individual articles are added to a daily "issue", there is no backfile archive of distinct issues as such. But the search feature allows one to search and retrieve any individual articles from the archive, based upon simple keyword searching.
- Indian Folklife Newsletter [Online]
Chennai: National Folklore Support Center. April 2000-.
Newsletter of the National Folklore Support Center. Newsletter is apparently quarterly and contains announcements, reviews, editorials, etc. in the area of folklore studies throughout India. Online edition contains full text of issues, but lacks photos and images which appear in the print edition.
- insideReport: Tamil Eelam News Review (WWW edition)
Jaffna,Sri Lanka: Inside Report. 1995-.
Apparently issued monthly. Site contains full text of monthly issues, only for July-October 1995 (as of 10/19/96).
- International Journal of Hindu Studies (Online)
Quebec:World Heritage Press. 1997-. [via University of Florida].
Published three times per year. "The aim of the [IJHS] is... to consider Hinduism analytically and comparatively as a 'form of life' as clarified by its contrasts and similarities to other historical and present day forms... Our focus will be, on the one hand,on Hinduism's adaptations to a wide range of historical circumstances and ecological, economic, and political possibilities and, on the other, on the Hindu forms that work "on the ground" in particular places and times to generate special kinds of social, cultural, and psychological order and problems." Published under the auspices of the International Institute of India Studies (Quebec), the Chief Editor is Prof. Sushil Mittal of the University of Montreal. The website does not contain full text of the Journal's articles, but does provide a complete table of contents (at least for the inaugural issue).
- International Journal of Jaina Studies
London: Centre of Jaina Studies, School of Oriental and African Studies. (ISSN: 1748-1074) 2005-.
Research papers, monographs and reviews in Jain studies.
- International Journal of Tantric Studies
[Cambridge, MA]:IJTS. (ISSN: 1084-7553). 1995-.
"Tantric studies in Sanskrit, Bengali, Vernacular, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, etc. Particular attention is paid to the Trika schools of Kashmir." Covers primarily Tantras (or Agamas orSamhitas in Sanskrit), scholarly treatments including philosophies of language, knowledge, æsthetics, rhetoric, etc. Editor-in-Chief is Enrica Garzilli of Harvard University. Site contains abstracts of selected current and back-issue articles, table of contents, and subscription information. Full-text access to articles is by subscription only.
- Jang [Daily Jang] (Online)
[Karachi : The Jang Group of Newspapers]. 1998-.
Urdu-language daily newspaper from Pakistan. Said to be the largest newspaper in Pakistan. Published in Karachi since 1937. Site contains newspaper in full text. Urdu text can be accessed either as graphics or as text. (Site claims the latter is only available using Internet Explorer 4.0 or later.) Site's archive contains September 25, 1998 and continuing.
- Journal of Buddhist Ethics
University Park, PA: Journal of Buddhist Ethics. (ISSN: 1076-9005) 1994-.
Annual scholarly journal "...to promote the study of Buddhist ethics through the publication of research articles, discussions and critical notes, bulletins and reviews." Site includes backfiles, online conferences, internet links, and other related material. General Editors are Damien Keown (University of London), and Charles Prebish (Pennsylvania State University).
- Journal of South Asian Women Studies
[Cambridge, MA]: JSAWS. (ISSN: 1085-7478) 1995-.
"...meant to disseminate works which address theoretical and practical issues that are of interest to both scholars of South Asia and to women in and from South Asia...". Geographic coverage actually includes both South and Southeast Asia. Editor-in-Chief is Enrica Garzilli of Harvard University. Full-text access is only to Editor's Notes and book reviews. Other articles available in full-text only to paid subscribers.
- Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society
London: Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland. [Online presentation published by Cambridge University Press]. (ISSN: 1356-1863) 2001-.
Site contains browsable and searchable tables of contents with complete citations of all articles plus abstracts. Only registered users can purchase online articles in full-text.
- Kashmiri Pandit International: Newsletter of Kashmiri Overseas Association, Inc.
[Baytown, Texas]: Kashmiri Overseas Association, Inc. 1995-.
The Kashmiri Overseas Association states its aim as "promoting Kashmiri Pandit ethnic and socio-cultural heritage...". The Newsletter, which comes out four to six times per year, contains much cultural, religious and especially political analysis and commentary (particularly about Kashmir, as viewed from the perspective of the Kashmiri Hindus), as well as detailed news of the activities of the Association itself.
- Kolam: A Mirror of Tamil and Dravidian Culture (continued byNew Kolam) – Köln : Institut für Indologie und Tamilistik [IITS], Universität zu Köln; Singapore: SASP National University Singapore. (ISSN: 1435-2311) 1998-.
A bi-annual multi-lingual publication of the IITS. Edited by Ulrike Niklas and Sascha Ebeling. A series of compilations onTamil literary traditions (classical and modern), sciences (grammar, philosophy, theology, medicine, architecture), and village culture (oral literature, village religion and customs, sociological topics, village performing arts, traditional arts and crafts, etc.). Requires installation of Tamil fonts.
- Language in India
[Bloomington, MN] : M. S. Thirumalai. March 2001-.
"...a monthly online journal devoted to the study of the languages spoken in the Indian sub-continent. We wish to present the scholarly research findings on these languages in popular language. Our focus will be on language use in mass media, education and administration, sociolinguistic and political aspects relating to these languages and the society in the Indian subcontinent, linguistic description, interdisciplinary research, and current issues of importance relating to Indian languages..."
[Colombo, Sri Lanka] : Lines. May 2002-.
A monthly political discussion magazine. "lines is an online magazine that engages with the political spaces of Sri Lanka. We seek to provide a forum that inspires and challenges us to critically scrutinize the terms of received debates, and enable alternative political imaginaries...lines was founded and is co-edited by Ahilan Kadirgamar, S. Nanthikesan and Vasuki Nesiah." Site includes current issue and archive back to May 2002.
- Little India
Reading, Pennsylvania: Little India. Nov.1995-.
"... a monthly feature magazine focusing on overseas Indian life..., onthe nearly one million Indians in the United States. Every month, themagazine brings its readers trenchant commentaries on overseas Indian life and the works and visions of overseas Indian artists, performers andprofessionals. Contributors include Indian academics, scholars, professionals, artists, students, social activists, government officials and journalists." Site contains current issue and links to back issues.
- Migration News
Davis, California: University of California at Davis. 1994-.
Migration News is a newsletter that summarizes the most important immigration and integration developments during the preceding month. Topics are grouped by region: North America, Europe, Asia, and Other. Site also includes electronic data on migration-related topics, organized by world area and by theme.
- Modern Asian Studies
London: Cambridge University Press. (ISSN: 0026-749X, CLIO record) 1998-.
Site contains browsable and searchable tables of contents with complete citations of all articles plus abstracts. Additional archives available via JSTOR.
- Nation [The Nation] Online
Lahore, Pakistan: The Nation Publications (pvt) Limited. [Current issue only].
English-language daily newspaper of Pakistan. The print publication began in 1986 in Lahore. Site contains full text, but has no back-issue archives. (Current issue only).
- NCSAS Newsletter
Melbourne, Australia: National Centre for South Asian Studies, LaTrobe University. 1995. [via Monash University]
- News India-Times on the Web
New York: News India-Times [Perry & Co.]. (ISSN: 1071-0248) 1997-.
An English-language weekly newspaper for Asian Indians in US. Substantial news coverage and editorials about India, as well as news of the Indian-American community. Site contains the current week's edition, as well as backfiles from 1997 onwards.
- News International [Pakistan]
[Karachi : The News International; The Jang Group of Newspapers]. 1998-.
English-language daily newspaper from Pakistan, in full text. Site's archive contains September 26, 1998 and continuing.
- Pakistan Economist [Online]
Karachi: Pakistan and Gulf Economist. 1996-.
Online version of the well-known financial news weekly, The Pakistan and Gulf Economist. Contains full-text articles on finance &markets, industry & economy, market watch, weekly news, special features, searchable database, etc. Archives of back issues contain selections of the more important articles, but not the full issues.
- Pakistan Link: Daily Internet Edition
Inglewood,California: Pakistan Link. 1998-.
"The largest Pakistani-American newspaper and the first Pakistani newspaper on the Internet." Site contains full-text of current day's issue, as well as an archive of the Daily News sections from the previoustwo months.
- Panchayat: Discussions of South Asian Politics, Society & Culture
[Philadelphia] : Vikash Yadav. May 2002-.
A left-secular non-commercial daily web-log and discussion forum organized by Vikash Yadav (Univ. of Pennsylvania) and Conrad Barwa (Oxford Univ.). Archivegoes back to May 2002.
- Passi sulla Rete: Pacing the Net
Venice: Department of Indological and Far Eastern Studies, Università Ca' Foscari di Venezia. April 1996 - November 1996.
"Passi sulla Rete (Pacing the Net) is published as part of the Multimedia Project of the Department of Indological and Far Eastern Studies, Università Ca' Foscari di Venezia. It is devoted to (1) selected new resources on India, Tibet, China, Korea and Japan especially useful to students and scholars; (2) developments in the use of computers in the humanities; and (3) new networked tools of general interest." Issues are in Italian. Site contains only numbers one through four (April 1996 to November 1996).
- Pop Times: the Population and Development Newsletter of UNFPA India
[New Delhi] : UNFPA India - United Nations Population Fund. 2000-.
Newsletter of UNFPA India with reports, news, media coverage, etc. on UNFPA programs in India.
- Princely States Report: Journal of Indian States History, Philately & Numismatics
[s.l.] : Vahana Project. (ISSN: 1534-5572) 2000-2001.
Detailed research articles on the (primarily philatelic) history of the Indian princely states.
- Qalandar: Islam and Interfaith Relations in South Asia
[s.l.] : Qalandar. 2002-.
A monthly newsletter with editorials, analytical articles, book reviews, interviews, etc. on Islam and its relations with other faiths in South Asia.
[Santa Cruz, CA]: Batish Institute of Indian Music and Fine Arts. 1995-.
"...an educational magazine for the music and fine arts of India. It features regular lessons on Indian music and the various instruments of India like the sitar, tabla, dilrubha etc... lots of GIFs, examples of audio excerpts, and MIDI files where applicable." Published approximately quarterly. Site contains current issue as well as complete online backfiles. Published by the Batish Institute of Indian Music and Fine Arts.
- Newsletter, Regional Centre for Strategic Studies. - Colombo, Sri Lanka: Regional Centre for Strategic Studies. 1999-.
Quarterly newsletter of this NGO devoted to "collaborative research, networking and interaction on strategic and international issuespertaining to South Asia." Online archive goes back to Vol. 5 no. 1 (January 1999).
[Cambridge : Global Reproductive Health Forum - Harvard, in association with SNDT Women's University (Mumbai, India) and The Centre for Women's Development Studies (New Delhi)]. 1999-.
"an on-line journal dedicated to disseminating work by scholars, activists, and organizations exploring discourses of reproductive health and rights in South Asia. The journal focuses on expanding understandings of 'health' and making connections with people and issues outside the traditional scope of public health and reproductive rights in the region."
- Revolutionary Democracy Journal [Online]
[New Delhi] : [np]. 1995-.
"a half-yearly theoretical and political journal published in April and September from India. It contains materials on the problems facing the communist movement, particularly relating to Russia, China and India, the origins of modern revisionism, the restoration of capitalism in the USSR and developments in the international communist movement." Beginning with the April 2000 issue only selected articles have been posted. In some cases only the introductions to articles, including some of the most important ones, are posted. The complete table of contents of the more recent issues are shown. From 1995-2000, full-text of all articles is included on the site.
- SAGAR: South Asia Graduate Research Journal (Online). –Austin, TX: University of Texas at Austin. 1994-.
"A biannual journal from the Center for Asian Studies at theUniversity of Texas at Austin... Showcases exceptional graduate studentand junior scholar articles. It also includes faculty and graduateresearch methodology, reports from the field, and book reviews." Web site contains substantial backfiles.
- SALNAQ: South Asia Libraries Notes & Queries [e-SALNAQ]. –[np] : CONSALD (Committee on South Asia Libraries and Documentation).1999-.
Organ of the Committee on South Asia Libraries and Documentation, designed to "keep those interested in South Asia bibliographic information current with new bibliographic tools and information resources" on South Asia.
- SALON Newsletter: South Asian Linguistics 'Off' the Net (Online)
London: SALON; Tanmoy Bhattacharya. 1997-.
Brief articles, notices, queries and postings on the linguistics of South Asia, by members of an international group of linguists and linguistics students devoted to this topic. The Newsletter grew out of the transactions of the SALON listserv. Site contains archives as well as current issue, and links to the SALON homepage.
- Samaj: South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal
[Paris: Association pour la Recherche sur l’Asie du Sud]. 2007-.
"SAMAJ is the first academic on-line journal devoted to social sciences studies on South Asia. It publishes only research-based articles written by professional academics as well as doctoral students. Its scope is multidisciplinary, covering studies in history, geography, anthropology, sociology, political science and economy."
- Samar: South Asian Magazine for Action and Reflection
[New York, NY] : SAMAR Collective. 1997-.
"SAMAR responds to a need for a publication that fosters serious debates within the South Asian community and is meant for a general audience. It focuses on analyses of social processes rather than on direct reporting of news events. As suggested by the name of the magazine, SAMAR tends towards social analyses that draw their energy from activist involvement"
- SAND: South Asia Nuclear Dialogue
Berkeley: Nautilus Institute for Security & Sustainable Development. 2000-.
Weekly bulletins, reports and updates on nuclear issues in SouthAsia. "The South Asia Nuclear Dialogue Network (SANDNet) aims to bring together officials, NGO representatives, scholars, and others working to advance peace and security in South Asia. SANDNet weekly email and web updates provide news summaries, analysis, and discussion mainly from the South Asian press. SANDNet also serves as a repository for security-related government documents, substantial policy statements, and links to other high-quality web pages that focus on regional nuclear and security issues."
- SAPRA India Monthly Bulletin (Online)
New Delhi: SAPRAIndia (Security and Political Risk Analysis India), a division of K MediaPrivate Ltd.1995-.
Bulletin of SAPRAIndia, "a New Delhi based, private sector, independent think tank which focuses on peace/conflict studies, political & business risk, terrorism and security related issues pertinent to the South Asiancontext. SAPRA India looks at all of these from an 'Indian point' of view. Specifically, it analyses trends, events or findings in the military,external, political and business fronts that could impact on India at the strategic level." Site contains abstracts of all articles as well as full-text of selected articles from each issue (but only through 1997?)
- SCANNER: Electronic Newsletter for Economics and Bangladesh Studies. [New York: Tanweer Akram]. January-December, 1998.
"Scanner is an electronic newsletter for economists and other specialists interested in Bangladesh. It lists publications, workshops, conferences, events and information of professional and academic interest. It is edited by Tanweer Akram." Note: website contains descriptionand contact information only. The journal is available free of charge over the internet, distributed only in the form of an e-mail subscription, which can be requested from the address given at the site.
- Seminar: The Monthly Symposium (Web-Edition). New Delhi: Malvika Singh, Seminar Publications. July 1999-.
The online version of the famous monthly Indian political magazine of the same name, which has been publishing almost 50 years. Site is equipped with indexes, tables of contents, a search engine, and full-text archives back to July 1999. (The current issue provides full table of contents and only selective full-text of articles. The remaining articles are included in full-text one month after the issue's release).
- SikhSpectrum.com Quarterly
Quarterly magazine on general topics on politics, culture, religion – often from a Sikh cultural perspective. Full-text archive covers all issues from 2002 onward.
- siliconindia magazine [Silicon India]
New York: Silicon India. August, 1997-. (ISSN 1091-9503)
A monthly "business and technology magazine for professionals of Indian origin. Its aim is to provide information, news, analysis and opinion on business and technology in India and the United States. It is a forum forIndian professionals to interact, exchange information, develop business relations and share industry expertise. siliconindia is the leading information resource for technology savvy professionals..." Site includes tables of contents as well as the full text of many articles selected from each issue (including all back issues).
- SINHAS: Studies in Nepali History and Society
[Kathmandu]: Nepal Studies Group, Center for Social Research & Development. 1996-. [via Emory University]. (ISSN: 1025-5109)
"...an interdisciplinary forum for original research... that i) opens upto scholarship areas of study that have not traditionally been part of "Nepal Studies" and ii) casts new light on familiar topics." Apparently biennial.
- South Asian Outlook
[np] : GlobalomNet Media. July 2001 -.
"An independent e-monthly...by South Asians for South Asians." News and opinion and culture. Publisher is based in Canada and Germany.
- Taraqqi: Monthly Online Journal of News, News Analysis and Views onIndian, South Asian and World Events
New York : Association of Indian Progressive Study Groups (AIPSG). September 1999-.
"Taraqqi features news, news analysis, commentary and views on a variety of subjects concerning the peoples of India, South Asia and to people of South Asian origin abroad. In particular, it will highlight the initiatives people everywhere are taking to affirm their rights and to contribute towards the movement for renewal. Taraqqi also features background material for our readers to place those initiatives and problems in the context they appear. Our regular topics include the movement forpeople's empowerment (democratic renewal), problems of state terrorism and defence of rights, Indo-Pak relations, the "identity crisis" of South Asian youth abroad among others."
- Teaching South Asia
[Joplin, Missouri] : Project South Asia, Missouri Southern State University. (ISSN: 1529-8558). Winter 2001-.
"Published semi-annually, this electronic journal features articles, written by teaching professors from around the world, addressing issues and problems of course and curriculum development relating to South Asia..." Edited by Karl J. Schmidt.
- World Tibet Network News
[NP] : Canada-Tibet Committee. 1992-.
A daily world news on Tibet and Tibetans. Site contains current month of issues, and a link to a backfile archive starting with December 6, 1992.