- Digital Colonial Documents
Intended to promote study of the rare seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents.
- Medical history of British India
Disease prevention and public health. Full text of 44 volumes on the medical history of British India from the India Papers collection of National Library of Scotland. These are rare official documents which record disease prevention and public health in India in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Mutiny at the margins
Provides new perspectives on the Indian Mutiny (or Uprising) of 1857. As well as scholarly networks and collaborative research, the project includes conferences, workshops and other public events in Edinburgh, London and India during 2007-2008. It is funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) and is based in Edinburgh University's School of History and Classics.
- Allama Iqbal Urdu Cyber Library Network
Digital library of Urdu books also known as virtual library of Urdu language. You can read Iqbal studies (Iqbaliyat), Urdu literature, Urdu Poetry, Urdu Shairy, Urdu Afsaney, Urdu Ghazals and Other Urdu Classics.
- Amir Khusrau’s Garden of Cultural Plurality
Khusrau’s biography and works.
- DCS Digital Corpus of Sanskrit
A searchable collection of lemmatized Sanskrit texts designed for research in Sanskrit linguistics and philology. Its interfaces make it possible to search for lexical units and their collocations in a corpus of more than 2,500,000 manually tagged words.
- Electronic Resources for Hindi and Other South Asian Languages
Includes text archive of medieval Hindi (Tulsidas, Jaysi, Qutban) and Sanskrit works; audio archive of Hindi, Kurux, Malto, Santali and Mundari recordings and photo archive of Hindu sacred sites.
- Hindi authors & poets
Links to full-text works, biographical information, and bibliographies on Hindi poets and authors to from classical times to today.
- Iqbal : poet philosopher of Pakistan
Detailed biography of his life, discussions of his major literary works and political accomplishments. Provides details of the Iqbal Academy, Pakistan, which aims to promote the the study of Iqbal's works and his teachings. The academy's journal, 'Iqbal review' is available via a link from the website, and selected articles are offered in full text. The site also has a selection of Iqbal's poetry in Urdu and Persian as well as a list of publications to aid those studying Pakistani literature, philosophy and politics.
- Kabir : the mystic poet
Contains a selection of poems written by the mystic poet Kabir, who was noted for his two line poems (dohas) and love songs. The poems are indexed by genre and are presented in both English and Hindi. There is also a page with a small number of the works translated into French.
- Kazi Nazrul Islam
An exhaustive resource about the Bengali poet Kazi Nasrul Islam. Extensive biographical details are given, along with anecdotes and comments from Nazrul himself as well as essays and commentaries on his life and works by others.
- Literature zu Sudasien (Library of the South Asia Institute of the University of Heidelberg)
Holds some rare and valuable literature from the 18th to the early 20th century. It offers access to digital full text versions of selected works of these historical publications.
- Love sonnets of Ghalib
Complete translation, transliteration and explication by Sarfaraz K. Niazi.
- Pandanus Sanskrit e-texts
Searchable collection of Sanskrit electronic texts, transcribed and proofread by students of the Seminar of Indian Studies (Institute of South and Central Asia, Faculty of Arts, Charles University, Prague).
- The Plants of Kalidasa's Meghaduta
Tamomi Sato's multimedia presentation of plants mentioned in Meghaduta, Kalidasa's poem in Sanskrit. Colorful paintings of the plants and the audio of the poem is also included.
- Project Madurai
An open and voluntary initiative to collect and publish free electronic editions of ancient Tamil literary classics. This means either typing-in or scanning old books and archiving the text in one of the most readily accessible e-format.
- Salidaa : South Asian Diaspora Literature & Arts Archive
The collections comprise both text-based and visual materials from spheres perceived as both traditional and classical. The site is of most interest to those studying or researching the cultures and societies of the British-based South Asian diaspora communities.
- Sanskrit documents collection
Sanskrit texts, tools to learn Sanskrit and links to other sources for Sanskrit.
- Sanskrit heritage site
It gives the user access to a wealth of resources and language tools to assist with the translation, transliteration and study of Sanskrit texts.
- Sanskrit Knowledge Systems
It aims to investigate the extent and structure of Sanskrit scientific understanding between the years 1550 and 1750. The site lays out the working principles of the project and gives access to many of the texts that are worked upon, as well as to a number of full-text versions of working papers.
- SARIT (Search and Retrieval of Indic Texts)
Displays Indological texts marked up with TEI (Text Encoding Initiative) guidelines, and provides machine readable texts for philological research.
- Somadevah e-texts
A repository of Sanskrit texts in transliteration without any commentary with occasional notes.
- South and Southeast Asian literature : classic and postcolonial writers in English, 1825 to present
A searchable collection of fiction & poetry.
- Tibetan Himalayan Digital Library
This is an exhaustive and comprehensive resource for anyone studying Tibet, Himalaya or Buddhism and has material in Tibetan, Nepali, Chinese and Dzongkha.
- TITUS : Thesaurus Indogermanischer Text- und Sprachmaterialien Several texts in various Indic languages.
Religion, Philosophy, & Indology
- Arunachala & Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi
Several texts, photos and links.
- BuddhaNet’s e-book library
Theravada and Mahayana Suttas
- Digital Shikshapatri
Access to a treasure of the Oxford's Bodleian Library and a wide variety of online resources which set the Shikshapatri, written by Shree Swaminarayan, in its historical, cultural and religious context.
- Dvaita Text resource
Downloadable texts from the tradition of Acharya Madhva.
- Gita Supersite
Multilingual Bhagavadgita with translations, classical and contemporary commentaries.
- GRETIL (Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages)
Includes related Indological materials from Central and Southeast Asia.
- Indologie Zurich Textarchiv
Text of Bhagvadgita, Brahmapurana, Brhatkathaslokasangraha, Gaudapadakarika, and Harivamsa are available.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive
Several texts of Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism and Sikhism are available here.
- Jain literature
Books, audio, video in English, Gujarati, Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit & Prakrit.
A well-designed and maintained website giving access to a large number of resources for the scholar of Indology and Sanskrit.
- Mahabharata resources
Gives a long list of resources for those studying the Mahabharata.
- Muktabodha on-line library
Selected Sanskrit religious & philosophical texts.
- Philologica digital texts (at Indica et Buddhica)
Machine readable texts for Indology & Buddhology. Free registration required.
- Pali Canon online database
A database version of the Pali Canon (in Pali) based on the digitised text prepared by the Sri Lanka Tipitaka Project. The advantage of using this version of the Pali Tipitaka is that it makes it easy to search for individual words across all 16,000+ pages at once and view the contexts in which they appear.
- Ramakrishna Math & Ramakrishna Mission Publications
Biographies, text of Gospels of Sri Ramakrishna, Complete works of Swami Vivekanada, and Lectures of Swami Vivekananda along with the copies of two serial publications, Vedanta Kesari and Prabuddha Bharata.
- Sacred scriptures of Hinduism
Includes text of many scriptures and links to resources.
- Sankaracarya : complete works
The site has complete works of Adi Sankaracarya in many Indian languages. The text can be downloaded and doesn't have any font display problems in PDF files.
- Sanskrit Web
German language site with an English version. The main texts on the site are the Rigveda, the Yajurveda and the Samaveda, although a further section takes you to a page giving access to a number of shorter documents.
- Sri Granth
Sri Guru Granth Sahib search engine & resource. The site permits viewing of parallel passages in any chosen combination of Gurmukhi, Hindi, Punjabi, and English, plus a transliteration and two Punjabi teekas (commentaries).
- Vedic Literature at Maharishi University of Management
PDF files in Devanagari script of the Vedas, Upanisads, Samhitas, Puranas and other texts. It also has an index of the vedic literature.
- Virtual e-text archive of Indic texts (part of Indology : resources for Indological Scholarship, BASAS)