Research Guide to South & Southeast Asian History
Search CLIO to find books, journals, and other material in most Columbia University Libraries collections. For books and journals published before 1980 that do not appear in CLIO, consult the card catalog in Room 310, Butler Library, or ask a librarian.
The largest online catalog in the world, with over 40 million book and journal records. This catalog is an essential resource for literature surveys, and for locating material in other research libraries.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Additional online resources
- Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library (T. Matthew Ciolek, Australian National University)
- Banglapedia: national encyclopedia of Bangladesh
Its function is to provide access to information and to be a guide to general knowledge about all aspects of the past and resent of Bangladesh.
- Digital Colonial Documents Project (India)
Makes available rare colonial documents in a searchable database and intends to promote study of seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period.
- Harappa: Glimpses of South Asia before 1947
Essays and pictures describe life and culture in the Indus Valley (India and Pakistan) during ancient times. This site includes photograph collections of many archeologically significant sites.
- History of India (Kamat’s Potpourri)
Extensive material on the history, culture, and diversity of India. Includes an album on Mahatma Gandhi, a timeline with links and provides searchable index.
- Internet Indian History Sourcebook (Paul Halsall, Fordham University)
A subset of texts derived from three major online sourcebooks Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and Internet Modern History Sourcebook, along with added texts and websites.
- Mohenjo-Daro! (Jonathan Mark Kenoyer)
With introduction, essay, bibliography and images of Mohenjo-Daro.
- Portals to the World
Contains selective links (selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria) providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.
- SAJA South Asia Self Study Guide
Helping journalists better understand South Asia. Includes chronology of South Asia from Sources of Indian Tradition, I and II, (Columbia, 1995) / Ainslee Embree and Stephen Hay, (eds)
- SARAI (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet)
A collection of categorized links and resources.
- SAVIFA South Asia Virtual Library (University of Heidelberg)
An information gateway for South Asia Studies It offers comprehensive access to professionally selected and annotated internet resources.
- South Asia Links (Timothy Lubin, Washington & Lee University)
Links to several sites on history, religion, law, politics and society.
- South Asia Country Profiles and Timelines (BBC News)
Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries of South Asia. Some audio video clips from BBC News Archives are also included.
- Web Resources for South Asian History (compiled by Deana Heath, UCLA)
- World History Archives (Hartford Web Publishing)
Includes history of South Asia.
Find articles & book reviews
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations of articles.
- Historical Abstracts
World history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
- International Bibliography of Book Reviews
- International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
Full-text articles from over 600 scholarly journals, including the American Historical Review. Coverage is from the earliest issues of a journal up to 5 years from current publication.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse
Full-text articles from over 200 scholarly journals.
Diverse full-text content includes an outstanding collection of American newspapers.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
A database containing 350,000 records on British and Irish history, including relations with the empire and Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
- SARDS 2
An electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London, a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
- Web of Knowledge
Extensive coverage of articles published in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.