Dept. of Education CD-ROMs


  • The National Education Goals Report: Building a Nation of Learners. 1994-1995.
    National Education Goals Panel. 1995.
    ED 1.1/3-2:994-95 - U.S. Government Documents
    For Macintosh and Windows.
  • Open to All: Title IX at 30.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Secretary of Education's Commission on Opportunity in Athletics. 2003.
    ED 1.2:AL 5/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • Fathers' Involvement in Children's Learning.
    U.S. Dept. of Education. 2000.
    ED 1.83: F 26/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • The Reading Leadership Academy Guidebook CD Companion.
    U.S. Dept. of Education and the Partnership for Reading. 2002.
    ED 1.8:R 22/8/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains presentations and resources about scientifically based reading research from The Secretary's Reading Leadership Academies.
    Removed from the print book of the same title and call number.
  • The Reading Leadership Academy Guidebook CD Companion.
    U.S. Dept. of Education. 2004.
    ED 1.83:L 46 - U.S. Government Documents
    Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and the Partnership for Reading, produced by RMC Research Corporation.
  • Partnership for Family Involvement in Education: Presentation Materials.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Partnership for Family Involvement in Education. 1998.
    ED 1.83:P 25/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains speaker's notes and overheads that address each of the four sectors of the Partnership for Family Involvement in Education--family-school groups, community organizations, religious groups, and employers--and lays out the research-based rationale and activities that can support family involvement in education at the local level. Files are in both Powerpoint and HTML formats.
  • Partners for Learning: Preparing Teachers to Involve Families: Teacher & Administrator Preparation Kit.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Partnership for Family Involvement in Education. 1998.
    ED 1.83:P 25/2/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains presentation materials on educator preparation for family involvement in education that include speaker's notes and overheads in Powerpoint, a QuickTime video clip from a teleconference hosted byu Vice President Al Gore and U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley, and an HTML publication with examples of effective practice.
  • Partnership for Family Involvement in Education: Tool Kit.
    U.S. Dept. of Education. 2000.
    ED 1.83:P 25/4/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • Student Aid Audio Guide, 2003-2004.
    U.S. Dept. of Education. [2003].
    ED 1.83:ST 9/CD/2003-2004 - U.S. Government Documents
  • Tool Kit on Teaching and Assessing Students With Disabilities..
    U.S. Dept. of Education. [2006?].
    ED 1.83:T 22/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • The Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) and Teacher Followup Survey (TFS) CD-ROM: Electronic Codebook and Public-Use Data for Three Cycles of SASS and TFS.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. [2003].
    ED 1.134:SCH 6/CD - EDS
  • Teaching Mathematics in Seven Countries: Results from the TIMSS 1999 Video Study.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Institute of Education Sciences. 2003.
    ED 1.302: M 42/28/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    NCES 2003-013.
    Removed from the book of the same title and call number.
  • SASS: Schools and Staffing Survey, 1987-1988.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1992.
    ED 1.332:Sc 6 - EDS
    Data includes information on teachers, school administrators, schools, and local educational agencies.
  • SASS: Schools and Staffing Survey, 1990-1991.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1994.
    ED 1.332:Sch 6/2/990-91/CD - EDS
    A comprehensive database on public school districts, public and private schools, teachers and principals, including a one-year followup.
    Also, 1990-91 Schools and Staffing Survey: Data File User's Manual, Vol.1: Survey Documentation, at ED 1.332:Sch 6/990-91/v.1 - EDS
  • SASS: Schools and Staffing Survey, 1993-1994: Electronic Codebook and Public Use Data.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1995.
    ED 1.332:Sch 6/2/993-94/CD - EDS
    Consists of four separate surveys administered simultaneously to linked samples of respondents. These surveys are: the Teacher Demand and Shortage Survey (School District data), the School Principal Survey, the School Survey, and the Teacher Survey.
  • NPSAS: National Postsecondary Student Aid Study, 1986-87.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1992.
    ED 1.333: 986-87/CD - EDS
    Includes data on how students and their families pay for postsecondary education.
  • NPSAS: National Postsecondary Student Aid Study, 1989-90, Table Generation System.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1992.
    ED 1.333: 989-90/CD/table - EDS
    Includes data on how students and their families pay for postsecondary education.
  • NPSAS: National Postsecondary Student Aid Study, 1992-93, CD-ROM Public Use Data File.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1995.
    ED 1.333: 992-93 - EDS
    Contains data from the National Postsecondary Student Aid Studies conducted in 1992-93, 1989-90, and 1986-87.
  • NPSAS: National Postsecondary Student Aid Study, 1995-96, Public Use Data File.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1998.
    ED 1.333: 995-96 - EDS
    Contains data for the 1996 National Postsecondary Student Aid Study and all the other available NCES data analysis systems for Windows (DASW).
    Ceased publication. For updates, see the NPSAS website.
  • High School and Beyond, 1980 to 1986.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1992.
    ED 1.334: 980-86/CD - EDS
    Includes data from the base year and the 1982, 1984, and 1986 follow-up surveys of nationally representative samples of 1980 public and private high school sophomores and seniors. In addition, it has school data from principals in 1980 and 1982, postsecondary spells of attendance, postsecondary institution characteristics, and student financial aid.
  • Decennial Census 2000 School District Tabulation (STP2) Data: School District Demographic System (SDDS) Librarian.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334: D 35/DVD - EDS
    Includes data from the base year and the 1982, 1984, and 1986 follow-up surveys of nationally representative samples of 1980 public and private high school sophomores and seniors. In addition, it has school data from principals in 1980 and 1982, postsecondary spells of attendance, postsecondary institution characteristics, and student financial aid.
  • NAEP Data on Disk: 1994 Almanac Viewer.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1996.
    ED 1.334/2:AL 6/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    The 1994 NAEP Almanac Viewer examines the National Assessment of Educational Progress results. The almanacs are cross tabulations of important demographic subgroups such as gender, race/ethnicity, and parental education crossed with student proficiency data or background information from students, teachers, and schools.
  • Assessing the Arts: Selected NAEP Tasks and Scoring Guides for Grades 4 and 12, 1997 Field Test.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Institute of Education Sciences. 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:AR 7/2/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • The NAEP 1997 Arts Report Card.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1999.
    ED 1.334/2:AR 7/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Eighth-grade findings from the National Assessment of Educational Progress.
  • Baccalaureate and Beyond: Longitudinal Study Second Follow-up. B&B:93/97.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, 1999.
    ED 1.334/2:B 12/CD - EDS
  • Baccalaureate and Beyond: Longitudinal Study (B&B:2000/01 DAS) All DAS CD.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Institute of Education Sciences, 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:B 122 - EDS
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2001.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43 - EDS
    ECLS-K Base Year Public-Use.
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2006.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43/2/CD - EDS
    ECLS-K Fifth Grade Public-Use Data File.
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2002.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43/2002/CD - EDS
    ECLS-K Longitudinal Kindergarten-First Grade Public-Use Child File.
    NCES 2002-148.
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43/2004 - EDS
    ECLS-K Third Grade Public-Use Child File.
    NCES 2004-002.
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43/2004-2/CD - EDS
    ECLS-K Base Year Public-Use Child File, Teacher File, School File.
    NCES 2001-029 Revised.
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-1999: Data Files and Electronic Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2006.
    ED 1.334/2:C 43/3/CD and Appendix - EDS
    ECLS-K Longitudinal Kindergarten-Fifth Grade Public-Use Data File.
    NCES 2006-035.
  • CivEd: IEA Civic Education Study.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2002.
    ED 1.334/2:C 49/CD - EDS
    Contains U.S. National Data and Quick Guide to the Data Codebook, U.S. User's Guide.
  • CivEd: IEA Civic Education Study. Revised.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:C 49/2003/CD - EDS
    Contains U.S. National Data and Quick Guide to the Data Codebook, U.S. User's Guide.
  • Common Core of Data (CCD).
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. 1995-
    ED 1.334/2:C 73/ - EDS
    Have:
    • CD - School Years 1987-88 through 1992-93
    • 988/89-993/94 - School Years 1988-89 through 1993-94
    • 991/92-995-96 - School Years 1991-92 through 1995-96
    • 993/94-997-98 - School Years 1993-94 through 1997-98
    The Common Core of Data is NCES's primary database on elementary and secondary public education in the U.S. CCD is a comprehensive annual, national statistical database of all elementary and secondary schools and school districts, which contain data that are comparable across all states. The 50 states and the District of Columbia are included in the collection, as well as the outlying territories under U.S. jurisdiction.
  • 1996 National and State Summary Data Tables.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1998.
    ED 1.334/2:D 26/3/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    The NAEP 1996 Summary Data Tables present mathematics and science results from the 196 National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) and the 1996 NAEP State Assessments. Mathematics results from the 1990 and 1992 assessments are also provided for the nation and for states who participated in either or both of those assessments. Data are in PDF format.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 1988-94 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/988-94/CD - EDS
    Base Year Through Third Follow-up ECB/CD-ROM.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 1988-94 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System: 2002 Re-release.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/988-94/2002/CD - EDS
    Base Year Through Third Follow-up ECB/CD-ROM.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 1988-2000 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2002.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/988-2000/CD - EDS
    Base Year Through Fourth Follow-up CDB/CD-ROM.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 1988-94 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1996.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/996/CD - EDS 
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 1988-94 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System: 1999 Re-release.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2000.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/999/CD - EDS
    Base Year through Third Follow-Up ECB/CD-ROM.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 2002 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System: Public Use.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/2002/CD - EDS
    Base Year.
  • National Education Longitudinal Study: 2002/04 Data Files and Electronic Codebook System: Public Use.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2006.
    ED 1.334/2:Ed 8/2002/04/CD - EDS
    First Follow-up
  • 1993 National Study of Postsecondary Faculty: Public Use Faculty and Institution Files.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1998.
    ED 1.334/2:F 11/CD - EDS 
  • NSOPF:99: National Study of Postsecondary Faculty (DAS).
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2001.
    ED 1.334/2:F 11/99/CD - EDS
    Public Use Data Analysis System (DAS).
    This CD contains all Data Analysis Systems for the following NCES studies:
    • National Study of Postsecondary Faculty
    • Beginning Postsecondary Students
    • Baccaulaureate and Beyond
    • National Postsecondary Student Aid Study
    • High School and Beyond
    • National Education Longitudinal Study
    • National Longitudinal Study of the High School Class of 1972
    • National Household Education Survey of 1995 Adult Education
  • National Longitudinal Study of the High School Class of 1972.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1994.
    ED 1.334/2:H 53/CD - EDS
    Contains the NLS72 database, baseyear and 4 follow-ups, and the postsecondary transcript study.
    One CD with information and installation booklet in case.
  • High School & Beyond: Fourth Follow-up (Sophomore Cohort) HS&B: 1992.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995.
    ED 1.334/2:H 53/2/CD - EDS
    Contains data from the High School and Beyond Longitudinal Study Fourth followup - HS&B:92 - in the form of a public release Data Analysis System (DAS). This DAS does not contain all variables collected as part of HS&B, but does contain most of those which are of interest to analysts for descriptive purposes. It does contain all variables used to generate the 'Descriptive Summary of 1980 High School Sophomores Twelve Years Later' report.
  • International Comparisons in Education, Program for International Student Assessment: PISA 2000.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:IN 8/CD - EDS
    Contains PISA 2000 Public Use Data: U.S. National Data and Quick Guide to the Data Codebook, U.S. User's Guide.
    NCES 2004-006
  • International Comparisons in Education, Progress in International reading Literacy Study 2001.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2004.
    ED 1.334/2:IN 8/2/CD - EDS
    Contains PIRLS 2001 Public Use Data: U.S. National Data and Quick Guide to the Data Codebook, U.S. User's Guide.
    NCES 2004-016
  • Video Examples from the TIMSS Videotape Classroom Study: Eighth Grade Mathematics in Germany, Japan, and the United States.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, 1998.
    ED 1.334/2:M 42/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains clips from 6 public-use videotaped eighth-grade mathematics lessons (2 each from Germany, Japan, and the U.S.), lesson tables for the mathematics lessons, Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 for IBM PC.
  • Teacher Change: Improving Mathematics K-12.
    Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education. 1999.
    ED 1.334/2:M 42/4/CD - U.S. Government Documents 
  • 1995 Third International Mathematics and Science Study Data, User's Guide, and United States Technical Report Compilation.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Office of Educational Research and Improvement. 2001.
    ED 1.334/2:M 42/5/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contents: 1995 TIMSS Data, 1995 TIMSS Data User's Guide, 1995 TIMSS United States Technical Report.
  • Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study: First Followup (BPS:90/92 DAS).
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995.
    ED 1.334/2:P 83/CD - EDS 
  • Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study: Second Followup (BPS:90/94 DAS).
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1996.
    ED 1.334/2:P 84/CD - EDS 
  • Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study: First Followup (BPS:96/98 DAS).
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvements. 2000.
    ED 1.334/2:P 84/2000/CD - EDS 
  • Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study: Second Followup Data Analysis System (DAS) BPS: 96/01.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Institute of Education Sciences. 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:P 84/2003/CD - EDS
    NCES 2003-159.
  • The Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) and Teacher Followup Survey (TFS) CD-ROM: Electronic Codebook and Public-Use Data for Three Cycles of SASS and TFS.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvements. 1998.
    ED 1.334/2:SCH 6/CD - EDS
    Includes data from SASS 1987-88, 1990-91, 1993-94; TFS 1988-89, 1991-92, 1994-95.
    SASS is an integrated set of surveys of public and private schools, principals, teachers, and school districts throughout the U.S. They are designed to collect data on, among other issues, the educational qualifications of school teachers and principals, and the working conditions of teachers. All three cycles of SASS consist of four separate surveys administered simultaneously to linked samples of respondents. These surveys are: the Teacher Demand and Shortage Survey (TDS: School Distric data) the School Principal Survey, the School Survey, and the School Teacher Survey.
    TFS is a one-year followup of a sample of teachers who were originally selected for the Teacher Questionnaire in the SASS. They are designed jto collect data on stayers, teachers who remain teaching at the same school from year to year; movers, teachers who move from one school to another; and leavers, teachers who left the profession between one school year and the next.
  • Private School Online Directory.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 2000.
    ED 1.334/2:SCH 6/2/CD - U.S. Government Documents
  • SSOCS 2000 Public-use Data Files, User's Manual, and Detailed Information.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Institute of Education Sciences. 2003.
    ED 1.334/2:SCH 6/4/CD - EDS
    School Survey on Crime & Safety.
  • School Survey on Crime & Safety (SSOCS) 2003-4 Public-use Data Files, User's Manual, and Codebook.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Institute of Education Sciences. 2007.
    ED 1.334/2:SCH 6/4/CD/2007 - EDS
    School Survey on Crime & Safety.
  • Education Statistics on Disk 1994 Ed.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995.
    ED 1.334/2:ST 2/CD - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains tables, charts and text files from NCES publications including: 1993 Digest of Educational Statistics, 1993 Condition of Education, Projections of Education Statistics to 2004, 1993 Youth Indicators, Historical Trends, and Education in States and Nations.
    One CD with information and installation booklet in case.
  • Education Statistics on Disk 1996 Ed.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1997.
    ED 1.334/2:ST 2/996 - U.S. Government Documents
    Contains tables, charts and text files from NCES publications including: 1996 Digest of Educational Statistics, 1992-1996 Condition of Education, Projections of Education Statistics to 2006, 1996 Youth Indicators, Historical Trends: State Education Facts 1969 to 1989, State Comparisons of Education Statistics: 1969-70 to 1993-94, 120 Years of American Education: a Statistical Portrait, and Education in States and Nations: Indicators Comparing U.S. States with Other Industrialized Countries in 1991.
    One CD with information and installation booklet in case.
  • 1991 Survey of Recent College Graduates.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995.
    ED 1.334/2:SU 7/CD - EDS
    Public Release File data.
  • Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Disc.
    National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Education. Annual. 1994-
    ED 1.334/4:[year] - EDS
    Have: 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996
    Contains data from the core postsecondary education data collection program in the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). Contains records from the following five raw data files:
    • Completions
    • Fall Enrollment
    • Finance
    • Institutional Characteristics
    • Salaries & Tenure
    These files contain all of the variables in the original data file. Selected variables (nearly 1500) were extracted from the five raw data files & combined into a single analysis file, with each record on that file representing a single institution. The analysis file is also available as an ASCII text file. When displaying the analysis file, similar variables are grouped together on each screen. Available screens are:
    • Institution Info
    • Enrollment & Changes
    • Revenues & Expenditures
    • Salaries, Benefits, & Tenure of Faculty
    • Enrollment by R/E Status FT (Full Time)
    • Enrollment by R/E Status PT, Grand Totals & %
    • Completions by CIP Baccalaureate Level
    • Programs by Award Level
    • Racial/Ethnic Breakdown by Award Level
    One CD with information & installation booklet in case.
  • National Household Education Surveys Program, Electronic Codebook and Data Files.
    U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1994-
    ED 1.334/5:[yrs] - EDS
    The National Household Education Survey (NHES) is an ongoing project of the National Center for Education Statistics. The NHES uses random digit dial (RDD) sampling and computer-assisted telephone interviewing (CATI) to conduct studies of important education issues. Contains:
    • 2001 Early Childhood Education Program Participation
    • 2001 Before- and After-School Programs and Activities
    • 2001 Adult Education and Lifelong Learning
    • 2003 Parent and Family Involvement in Education
    • 2003 Adult Education for Work-Related Reasons
    • 2005 Early Childhood Education Program Participation
    • 2005 After-School Programs and Activities
    • 2005 Adult Education
    Keep latest version only.
  • Eisenhower National Clearinghouse: a Collection of Curriculum Standards and Frameworks for Mathematics and Science Education.
    Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education, Ohio State University, 1996.
    ED 1.340/3: - U.S. Government Documents
    Have:
    • 1/1: A Collection of Curriculum Standards and Frameworks for Mathematics and Science Education
    • 2/1,2/2: Reform in Math and Science Education: Issues for Teachers, Issues in the Classroom
    • 3/1: Making Schools Work for Every Child
    • 3/2: Tools for Discussion: Attaining Excellence Through TIMSS