Decennial Census Information: 1880 Census Detailed Holdings
United States. Census Office. 10th census, 1880.
Tenth Census of the United States, 1880. 22 vols.
HA 201 1880 - Butler Stacks
The final reports of the 1880 Census were published in 22 volumes.
Volumes which contain tables specifically about New York are highlighted: v.1-4, 7-13, 15.
- Volume 1
Statistics of the Population of the United States...
Includes U.S. and State maps showing population density & distribution, colored & foreign born population, temperatures, and rainfall.
- Volume 2
Report on the Manufactures of the United States...
Includes U.S. maps showing steam & water power, iron & steel production, chemical products and salt.
- Volume 3
Report on the Productions of Agriculture...
Includes U.S. maps showing grain production and tobacco cultivation.
- Volume 4
Report on the Agencies of Transportation... [Railroads, Telegraphs, Telephones]
- Volume 5
Report on Cotton Production... [Part I: South Central/ Southwest]
Includes agricultural maps of the cotton States and acreage in cotton.
- Volume 6
Report on Cotton Production... [Part II: Southeast/ Pacific Coast]
Includes agricultural maps of the cotton States and acreage in cotton, plus maps of geology and surface features.
- Volume 7
Report on Valuation, Taxation, and Public Indebtedness...
- Volume 8
Newspaper and Periodical Press/Alaska/Ship-building...
Includes U.S. maps of newspaper & periodical publication, and many maps of Alaska.
- Volume 9
Report on the Forests of North America...
Includes U.S. & State maps showing density & distribution of forests and fuels.
- Volume 10
Production, Technology, and Uses of Petroleum/ Mfg. of Coke...
Includes maps showing building stones, bitumen & oil in specific regions of the U.S.
- Volume 11
Report on Mortality and Vital Statistics... [Part I]
- Volume 12
Report on Mortality and Vital Statistics... [Part II]
Includes U.S. maps showing distribution of deaths by various causes, proportion of deaths, & birth rates.
- Volume 13
Statistics and Technology of the Precious Metals...
- Volume 14
The United States Mining Laws and Regulations...
- Volume 15
Report on the Mining Industries of the United States... [Iron/ Coal]
- Volume 16
Reports on the Water Power of the United States... [Part I]
- Volume 17
Reports on the Water Power of the United States... [Part II]
- Volume 18
Report on the Social Statistics of Cities... [Part I: New England/Mid-Atlantic]
- Volume 19
Report on the Social Statistics of Cities... [Part II: South/ West]
- Volume 20
Report on the Statistics of Wages in Manufacturing Industries... [retail prices]
- Volume 21
Report on the Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes...
- Volume 22
Report on Power and Machinery Employed in Manufactures ...