General Census Monographs


The titles cited here are a selection of those which concern the operations and history of the decennial censuses in general, and the changes in the census process over the last 200 years. Works which deal specifically with one or more of the censuses are listed on the pages for those censuses.
To locate other census-related titles in the Columbia University Libraries, do one of the following subject searches on CLIO:

Another very useful resource is the Census Index, created by the Ohio State University Libraries. It is an online database of decennial census titles, 1790-1997, searchable in many ways, including the Dubester number.

  • Anderson, Margo.
    The American Census: a Social History.
    New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1988.
    HA 37 .U55 A53 1988 - Butler, Lehman
  • Anderson, Margo.
    Who Counts? the Politics of Census-Taking in Contemporary America.
    New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1999.
    HA 179 .A53 1999 - Lehman
  • Bohme, Fredrick G.
    200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790-1990.
    Washington, D.C. : Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1989.
    HA 37 .U55 B63 1989 - Lehman
  • Congressional Quarterly's Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census.
    Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, 2000.
    HA 37 .U55 C66 2000 - Lehman Reference
    R016.3173 En19 - Butler Reference
  • Cook, Kevin L.
    Dubester's U.S. Census Bibliography with SuDocs Class Numbers and Indexes.
    Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1996.
    Z 7553 .C3 C66 1996 - Lehman Reference
    R016.3173 C772 - Butler Reference
    Covers the 1790-1940 censuses, with a complete list of all census publications. Particularly useful for identification of the multiplicity of items published in censuses after 1870.
  • Counting People in the Information Age.
    Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 1994.
    HA 37 .U55 C66 1994g - Lehman
  • Eckler, A. Ross.
    The Bureau of the Census.
    New York : Praeger, 1972.
    HA 37 .U55 E25 - Butler
  • Feeney, Patrick Gerard.
    The 200 Years' War and Counting: Power Politics and Census Controversies, 1790-1990.
    Temple University, 1994. Ph.D. Dissertation.
    Citation & Abstract
  • Holt, W. Stull.
    The Bureau of the Census : Its History, Activities, and Organization.
    Washington : Brookings Institution, 1929.
    317.3 Un798 - Offsite
  • Kemp, Thomas Jay.
    The American Census Handbook.
    Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2001.
    CS 49 .K4 2001 - Offsite
  • Measuring America: the Decennial Census from 1790 to 2000
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Census Bureau, 2002
    HA 37 .U55 M376 2002 - Lehman
    Includes questionnaires, brief histories, and cost of each census.
  • Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790 to 1990.
    Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1996.
    HA 214 .F67 1996g - Lehman Reference
  • Truesdell, Leon Edgar.
    The Development of Punch Card Tabulation in the Bureau of the Census, 1890-1940: with Outlines of Actual Tabulations Programs.
    Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1965.
    HA 37 .U55 T7 - Offsite
  • United States. Bureau of Labor.
    The History and Growth of the United States Census, Prepared for the Senate Committee on the Census...
    Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1900.
    207 Un38 - Offsite
    317.3 Un364 - Offsite
    Covers 1790-1890 censuses.
  • United States. Bureau of the Census.
    A Century of Population Growth.
    Washington, D.C. : The Bureau, 1909.
    HA 195 1909 - Offsite
    HA 195 .A5 1966 - Offsite
  • United States. Bureau of the Census.
    Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972.
    Washington, D.C. : The Bureau, 1974.
    C 3.163:790-972 - US Government Documents
  • United States. Bureau of the Census.
    Negro Population, 1790-1915.
    Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1918.
    SM63.5 U58 - Offsite
    060 Un316 - Offsite
  • United States. General Accounting Office.
    Decennial Census: Overview of Historical Census Issues.
    Washington, D.C. : GAO, 1998.
    HA 201.12 U55 1998a - Lehman