1935 Census of Business


The 1935 Census of Business was issued in four parts:

A number of other reports were also issued. Detailed holdings are described below. Volumes which contain tables specifically about New York are highlighted.

Retail Distribution

HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite

  • Volume 1
    United States Summary.
  • Volume 2
    County and City Summaries.
    Includes map of the U.S., showing by states the amount of sales in 1935, and ratio of 1935 and 1933 sales to 1929 sales.
  • Volume 3
    Kinds of Business, by Areas; Stores and Sales for States, Counties, and Cities.
  • Volume 4
    Types of Operation.
    Includes map of retail sales.
  • Volume 5
    Employment and Payroll.
    Includes map of total employees and total yearly payroll, by states: 1935.
  • Volume 6
    Credit Sales, Analysis of Sales (Revenue Sources), Merchandise stocks on Hand, Analysis by Size of Business.
  • Geographical Distribution of Retail Trade in Chicago, Illinois.
    Includes outline map of the 935 census tracts in Chicago; outline map of the 75 community areas in Chicago, showing total stores and sales for each community; and base map showing mile, half-mile and diagonal streets.

The following four titles are all bound together in one physical volume:

  • Retail Chains.
    Includes map of the U.S. showing number of chains domiciled in each state, and chain sales ratios.
  • Retail Operating Expense.
  • Retail Trade Survey.
  • Intra-City Business Census Statistics for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
    Includes maps of City of Philadelphia showing retail structure, and City of Philadelphia showing intra-city business areas.

Wholesale Distribution

HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite

  • Volume 1
    United States Summary.
    Includes maps of percent increase in sales 1933-1935, and cities with sales of $100,000,000 and over.
  • Volume 2
    States and 25 Selected Cities.
    New York State: p.67-69
    New York City: p.184-191
    Includes maps of percent increase in sales 1933-1935, by states, and sales of 25 selected wholesale trade centers.
  • Volume 3
    Cities and Counties.
    Includes map of cities with sales of $100,000,000 and over.
  • Volume 4
    Kinds of Business. Full-service and Limited-function Wholesalers Analyzed by 142 Kinds of Business, by States.
  • Volume 5
    Employment and Pay Roll.
    New York State: p.43
    New York City: p.93
  • Volume 6
    Business-size Groups and Analysis of Operating Expenses. Wholesale Merchants and Industrial Distributors Only.
  • Volume 7
    Credit Sales and Sales by Classes of Customers.
    New York City: p.39, 94-95
  • Volume 8
    Commodity Sales.
    New York City: p.19
  • Drug Wholesaling.
  • Electrical Wholesaling.
  • Voluntary Group and Cooperative Wholesalers, Groceries and Related Products.
    Includes map: "Wholesale Distribution: 1935 - Business of Voluntary Group and Cooperative Wholesalers, Groceries and Related Products: Percentage of Sales of All Full-Line Grocery Merchants, by States."

Construction Industry

HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite

  • Volume 1
    Work Performed, Personnel, Pay Roll, and Cost of Material, by States and Cities, and by Kind of Business.
    Includes charts.
  • Volume 2
    Employment by Months, and by Occupational Groups by States and Cities, and by Kind of Business.
    Includes charts.
  • Volume 3
    Types of Construction, Comparisons Between 1929 and 1935, and Miscellaneous Data.
    Includes charts.

Service Establishments

HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite

  • Volume 1
    U.S. Summary.
  • Volume 2
    Statistics For States, Counties, and Cities.
    Includes map of concentration of business of service establishments for 1935.
    Includes charts.
  • Volume 3
    Monthly Employment.
    Includes map of concentration of business of service establishments for 1935.

The following four titles are all bound together with Service Establishments:

  • Hotels.
  • Places of Amusement.
  • Tourist Camps.
  • Non-profit Organizations, Office Buildings, and Miscellaneous.

Other Reports

  • Business Census Publications.
    No holdings
  • Distribution of Manufacturers' Sales.
    No holdings
  • Hotels
    See above, with Services.
  • Miscellaneous Mining Industries in 1935.
    HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite
  • Motor Bus Transportation
    No holdings
  • Motor Trucking for Hire. U.S. Summary.
    No holdings
  • Non-profit Organizations, Office Buildings, Miscellaneous.
    See above, with Services.
  • Personnel and Pay Roll in Industry and Business, and Farm Personnel, by Counties.
    HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite
  • Places of Amusement.
    See above, with Services.
  • Public Warehousing.
    No holdings
  • Real Estate Agencies.
    No holdings
  • Tourist Camps.
    See above, with Services.

The following three reports are bound together (HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite):

  • Banks.
  • Other Financial Institutions.
  • Insurance.

The following two reports are bound together (HF 3007 Un31 - Offsite):

  • Advertising Agencies.
  • Radio Broadcasting.