1948 Census of Business


The 1948 Census of Business was issued in seven volumes. Detailed holdings are described below.

Volumes which contain tables specifically about New York are highlighted.

Retail Trade

  • Volume 1
    Retail Trade. General Statistics, Part 1.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: U.S. Summary, Sales Size, Single and Multiunits, Employee Size, City Size, Legal Form of Organization, Warehouses and Other Auxiliary Units, Miscellaneous, Territories and Possessions.

    Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; and the U.S., by geographic division.

    Includes charts.
  • Volume 2
    Retail Trade. General Statistics, Part 2 and Merchandise Line Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: Merchandise Inventories, Credit Sales, Selected Types of Operations, Employment and Pay Roll Analysis, Trucks, Miscellaneous, Merchandise Line Sales - Food Group, Merchandise Line Sales - Eating and Drinking Places, Merchandise Line Sales - General Merchandise Group, General Stores, Merchandise Line Sales - Apparel Group, Merchandise Line Sales - Furniture, Furnishings, Appliance Group, Merchandise Line Sales - Automotive Group and Gasoline Service Stations, Merchandise Line Sales - Lumber, Building, Hardware Group, Merchandise Line Sales - Drug and Proprietary Stores, Merchandise Line Sales - Miscellaneous Kinds of Business.

    Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; and the U.S., by geographic division.

    Includes charts.
  • Volume 3
    Retail Trade - Area Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: Stores, Sales, Pay Roll, and Personnel for the U.S., Geographic Divisions, States, Standard Metropolitan Areas, Counties, and Cities.

    Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; and the U.S., by geographic division.

Wholesale Trade

  • Volume 4
    Wholesale Trade - General Statistics and Commodity Line Sales Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: U.S. Summary, Sales Size and Operating Expenses, Credit, Sales by Class of Customer, Legal Form of Organization, Employee Size, Trucks, Miscellaneous General Statistics, Territories and Possessions, Commodity Line Sales - U.S. Summary, Commodity Line Sales - Merchant Wholesalers - Geographic Divisions, Commodity Line Sales - Manufacturers' Sales Branches (with Stocks) - Geographic Divisions, Commodity Line Sales - Assemblers (Mainly Farm Products) - Geographic Divisions, Petroleum Bulk Stations and Terminals.
        Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; the U.S., by geographic division; and percent increase in sales of wholesale establishments: 1939 to 1948.
        Includes charts.
  • Volume 5
    Wholesale Trade - Area Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: U.S. Summary, each State, the District of Columbia, and Territories (Alaska and Hawaii).
        Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; and the U.S., by geographic division.

Service Trade

  • Volume 6
    Service Trade - General Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: U.S. Summary, Receipts Size, Employee Size, City Size, Legal Form of Organization, Trucks, City Statistics, Laundries, Cleaning and Dyeing Plants and Related Services, Amusements, Hotels, Tourist Courts, Automobile Repair Services and Garages, Miscellaneous, Territories.
        Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; the U.S., by geographic division; and the increase in receipts from 1939 to 1948, distributed by state, for personal, business, and repair services.

    Includes charts.
  • Volume 7
    Service Trade - Area Statistics.
    HF 3007 .Un31 1948 - Offsite
    Chapters for: U.S. Summary, each State, the District of Columbia, and Territories (Alaska and Hawaii).
        Includes maps of standard metropolitan areas; standard metropolitan areas in the northeastern U.S.; and the U.S., by geographic division.