Judicial Branch Resources
The Columbia Law Library is the location for most legal and judicial materials on campus. If an item you need doesn't appear to be in CLIO, and is of a legal nature, search for it in the Law Library online catalog, Pegasus.
Other useful internet sites for locating judicial and legal materials are listed below.
- ABA LawInfo.org
This site, provided by the America Bar Association, is designed for the consumer, and is divided into eight sections: Family, Home, Job, Finances, Buying and Selling, Criminal Justice, and Finding a Lawyer.
- The Documentary History of the Supreme Court of the United States, 1789-1800. 8 vols.
New York : Columbia University Press, 1985-2007.
Call Number: KF 8742.A45 D66 1985
- Federal Judiciary
The official website for the U.S. Court system. Includes links to the Federal Circuit Courts.
- Finding Court Opinions On The Web
From the National Law Journal.
A commercial site, FindLaw provides free access to a large number of legal materials, including Federal and State cases and codes, forms and software, reference resources, law reviews, information for law students, businesses, and the public. There are separate sections dealing with specific topics such as housing, family law, and immigration.
- Guide to Law Online: United States
A web resource page, from the Law Library of Congress.
- Judges of the United States Courts
"The Federal Judges Biographical Database contains the service record and biographical information for all judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, U.S. Circuit Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeals, and the Supreme Court since 1789."
- Judicial Business of the United States Courts
The annual report of the director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts, providing statistics on the business done by the federal courts each year.
- Judicial Watch
Judicial Watch, Inc., a non-partisan, non-profit foundation based in Washington, D.C., was established in 1994 to serve as an ethical and legal "watchdog" over our government, legal, and judicial systems to promote a return to ethics and morality in our nation's public life.
- Leadership Library on the Internet
The Leadership Library, also known as Yellow Books, includes a Judicial directory, searchable by keyword, name, and agency; updated daily.
- National Center for State Courts: Court Web Sites
Provides links to all available state and local court sites.
- The Oxford Companion to American Law.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
Call Number: KF 154 .O96 2002
- Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Call Number: KF 8742.A35 O93 2005
- The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions 2nd ed.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
- Oyez: Supreme Court Multimedia
- The Supreme Court Compendium : Data, Decisions, and Developments. 3rd ed.
Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2003.
Call Number: KF 8742 .S914 2003
- Supreme Court Nominations
From the Library of Congress, this website provides a range of materials related to the nomination process, for both confirmed and not confirmed nominees.
- Supreme Court of the United States
The official website for the Supreme Court of the U.S. There is information about the Court, and links to its Docket, Arguments, Opinions, and Orders.
- Supreme Court Appointment Process: Roles of the President, Judiciary Committee, and Senate
Congressional Research Service, February 19, 2010
- U.S. Supreme Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents. Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion.
- Understanding the Federal Courts
A Justice Department publication which explains the structure of the Federal courts, the judicial process, common legal terms, and more. It also includes a directory of Federal courts.
- Web Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research
- Year-End Report on the Federal Judiciary