Foreign Press Translations


Lehman Library has holdings for three major series of foreign press translations in paper and/or microfiche, and subscribes to another major service on the World Wide Web. Some of the original sources from which these translations are derived are also held in the Columbia University Libraries. To locate the original sources, check CLIO by title; for example, for O Estado de Sao Paulo, the Brazilian newspaper. Full or partial text of many current newspapers now appears on the Web.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports World News Connection

The FBIS Daily Reports were issued in print from 1941 to mid-1996. For much of that time, they were issued in eight parts, covering all the regions of the world. For library holdings, consult the table below. As of September 17, 1996, the FBIS Daily Reports ceased publication in print format. The information from the FBIS Daily Reports is now available as:

  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
    Fully searchable full text for all regions.
  • World News Connection
    A full text web service updated daily; coverage is 1996-present.
  • FBIS Publications CD-ROM
    Call Number: PREX 7.10/3: - Lehman Reserves
    The CD-ROM, issued quarterly, contains the full text of what was formerly in the print FBIS Daily Reports and JPRS Reports, now called Science & Technology Reports. The U.S. Government Documents collection received discs with coverage 1996-2004, and they are available to be checked out at the Reserves Desk.
        All FBIS microfiche (Uncat U.S. Government Documents MF, 1974-1996) are filed in cabinets labeled "FBIS Daily Reports," located on the second level, under the West Reading Room. Bound paper copies exist for three parts: Asia & Pacific, Soviet Union/Central Eurasia and China, for which the call number is given below. All bound volumes of FBIS Daily Reports are located off-site, and can be requested at any library circulation desk.
Daily Report (9/4/1941-3/28/1974) Microfilm FN 139 - Offsite
 
 
Far East (1957-2/3/1967) D 839 .U62
Communist China/People's Republic of China/China (2/16/1967-8/1/1996) DS 777.55 .D95a/95b/96
Communist China/People's Republic of China/China (1974-8/1/1996) Uncat. MF
 
 
Asia & Pacific (2/6/1967-4/1987) D 839 .U631
Asia & Pacific (1974-5/1987) Uncat. MF
South Asia (4/1980-5/1987) Uncat. MF
East Asia (6/1987-8/19/1996) Uncat. MF
Near East/South Asia (6/1987-1996) Uncat. MF
 
 
Middle East/North Africa (1974-3/1980) Uncat. MF
SubSaharan Africa (6/1987-8/19/1996) Uncat. MF
 
USSR & Eastern Europe (1959-1/19/1968) D 839 .U632
Soviet Union (1/22/1968-12/1991) D 839 .U6321
Soviet Union (1974-1991) Uncat. MF
Soviet Union (Report) (10/11/1991-12/30/91) DK 285 .F25
Central Eurasia (1/1992-9/16/1996) D 839 .U6321
Central Eurasia (1/1992-9/16/1996) Uncat. MF
Central Eurasia (Report) (1/14/1992-9/16/1996) DK 285 .F25
 
 
Eastern Europe ( 1974-9/2/1996) Uncat. MF
Western Europe (1976-8/19/1996) Uncat. MF
 
 
Latin America (1974-8/1/1996) Uncat. MF
 
 
Analysis Report (1991-1995) D 860 .A53
Special Memorandum (1991-1995) D 860 .S64
Trends (1989-1995) D 839 .T72
FBIS Publications CD-ROM 1996-2004) PREX 7.10/3:
U.S. Government Documents CD-ROM (ask at Reserves Desk)
World News Connection 1994-present LibraryWeb

BBC Summary of World Broadcasts

BBC Summary of World Broadcasts ceased publication in March 2001. For similar coverage, check the online service World News Connection, described above.

The titles of the daily and weekly SWB publications changed in 1993, to more accurately reflect the map of today's world. The library's holdings appear below, with the new arrangement (1993-2001) followed by the old arrangement (1959-1993).

Bound volumes for all BBC Summary of World Broadcasts are located off-site, and can be requested at any library circulation desk.

New Arrangement

  • Pt.1: Former USSR
    Includes CIS, Russia, Ukraine, Belorussia, Moldova, Estonia,Latvia, Lithuania, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Military Affairs, Space
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DK 274 .B771 (1993-2001)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DK 274 .B7711 (1993-2001)
  • Pt. 2: Central Europe and the Balkans
    Includes Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, Hungary, Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Greece, Turkey, Cyprus, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Macedonia, Slovenia
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at D 839 .B75215 (1993-2001)
    • Weekly Economic Report at D 839 .B752151 (1993-2001)
  • Pt. 3: Asia-Pacific
    Includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, South Pacific, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Mongolia, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, China
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DS 501 .B7221 (1993-2001)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DS 501 .B721 (1993-2001)
  • Pt. 4: Middle East
    Includes Egypt, Gulf States, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestinians, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DS 49.7 .B7711 (1993-2001)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DS 49.7 .B7711 (1993-2001)
  • Pt. 5: Africa and Latin America
    Includes all of Latin America and the Caribbean, and all of Africa with the exception of the five North African countries covered in Pt.4
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DT 30.5 .S8 (1993-2001)
    • Weekly Economic Report at HC 800 .A1 S85

Old Arrangement

  • Pt. I : USSR
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DK 274 .B77/.B771 (1959-1993)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DK 274 .B7711 (1987-1993)
  • Pt. II: Eastern Europe
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at D 839 .B75214/.B75215 (1962-1993)
    • Weekly Economic Report at D 839 .B752151 (1987-1993)
  • Pt. III: The Far East
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DS 501 .B72/.B722 (1966-1993)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DS 501 .B721 (1961-1993)
  • Pt. IV: The Middle East, Africa, and Latin America
    • Bound volumes of Dailies at DS 49.7 .B77/.B771 (1965-1993)
    • Weekly Economic Report at DS 49.7 .B7711 (1987-1993)

JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service) Reports

JPRS, the largest single producer of English-language translations, was established in 1957 to provide agencies of the U.S. federal government with translations of foreign documents in all fields of technology, science, and the social sciences. Translations were done by private researchers and linguists under government contract with JPRS. JPRS was merged into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports described above, in 1995.

The Lehman collection of JPRS reports includes:

  • JPRS Reports.
    Microfiche - Lehman (1974-1995)
    The annual indexes for that period, also on microfiche, are filed at the beginning of the JPRS microfiche.
  • JPRS Reports.
    Microcards - Offsite (June 1964-Dec.1978)
    The microcards need to be requested for delivery to Butler Library, which has the only microcard reader on campus. The collection is incomplete for these dates, with many gaps in the holdings.

The following titles are printed indexes to older JPRS Reports. The Reports themselves are on microfilm/microprint sets which are not part of the Columbia University Libraries collections, but can be located in other libraries:

  • Bibliography-index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: China and Asia Exclusive of Near East. 10 vols.
    NY : Research & Microfilm Publications, 1962-1966.
    Z 3101 .C44 - Offsite
  • China and Asia (Exclusive of Near East) : Bibliography-index to U.S. JPRS Research Translations.
    Washington, D.C. : Research and Microfilm Publications, 1964-1968.
    Z 3101 .C44 - Offsite
    Have only v.3 (1964/1965)-v.6 (1967/1968)
  • Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS Reports (Joint Publications Research Service). 5 vols.
    NY : Readex Microprint Corp., 1958-1976.
    Z 6293 .Un3 - Offsite
  • Kyriak, Theodore E.
    Asian Developments: a Bibliography. 3 vols.
    Annapolis, MD : Research Microfilms, 1962-1964.
    Z 3001 .A81 - Offsite
    From July 1962 through Aug. 1964 contains only China (JPRS-SS-C).
  • Subject Index to United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations.
    Annapolis, MD : Research & Microfilm Publications, 1966-1968.
    Z 1223 .Z9 S9 - Offsite

Other Foreign Press Translations

  • AF Press Clips (Africa)
    Ceased publication June 28, 1991
    Back issues (1967-1991): DT 1 .A13 - Offsite
  • Aktueller Informationsdienst Afrika=African Press Review
    DT 1 .A86 - Lehman (1983-1998)
  • China News Digest
    China News Digest is operated by volunteers with a mandate to provide timely and balanced news coverage on China and China related affairs. Though not word-for-word translations, CND articles cite the media from which the articles are derived.
  • Current Digest of the Russian Press (1948-present)
    Includes issue of previous titles, Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press.
  • Current Digest of the Soviet Press, 1949-1992.
    Back issues (1949-1992): D 839 .C87 - Lehman
  • Hsinhua News Bulletin.
    Current issues: Starr East Asian Library
    Back issues (1950-12/93): DS 777.55 .H656 - Offsite
    Back issues (1/94-present): DS 777.55 .H656 - Starr East Asian
    Back issues (1953-1954): Microfilm FN 1044 - Offsite
  • MEMRI: Middle East Media Research Institute
    The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Farsi, and Hebrew media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.
  • Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
    RFE/RL provides news, broadcast schedules, Real Audio files, and other links to information on the countries of Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
  • Summary of Japanese Press.
    DS 801 .U5 - Offsite (1955-1985)
    Microfilm FN 387 - Offsite (1958-1996)
  • Summaries of Selected Japanese Magazines.
    Back issues (1953-1980, 1983): AI 19 .J3 U5 - Lehman
    Back issues (1952-1962, 1984-1992): Microfilm FN 388 - Offsite
  • Transitions.
    DJK 51 .R4541 - Lehman (1995-1999)
    News and analysis from the former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.