New York City Documents


This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for locating the official publications and documents of New York City and its agencies. Publications by and about New York City and its agencies can be found in several libraries, primarily Lehman, Business, and Butler. Check CLIO by title, subject, or issuing agency name to locate them.

There are several other library guides which have New York City as their focus:

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


General Information on New York City Documents: Print & Microfiche

Publications issued by the various departments and agencies of the City of New York are notoriously difficult to locate and obtain, since there is no one central distribution point for such documents. The only comprehensive source for New York City publications is the City Hall Library, formerly known as the Municipal Reference and Research Center. City Hall Library is the only depository for official New York City publications.

Selected New York City documents can be found in many of the libraries at Columbia University and its affiliated institutions. Check CLIO for titles in Columbia Libraries.

  • Index to Current Urban Documents
    Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 1972-
    Call Number: Z 7165 .U5 I6
    The print version indexes most of the NYC publications deposited at the City Hall Library, above, from 1972 to 2000. The documents are on microfiche, MICFICHE FX3 4549.
    The online version, 2001 to the present, indexes and provides the full text of municipal publications from around the country, including New York City.

Mayor's Office & the City Council

The Green Book : Official Directory of the City of New York. Semiannual.
New York: [the City], 1918-
Call Number: JS 122 2.A3 N4

NYC.gov: the Official New York City World Wide Web Site

Information available on this site includes:

New York City Agencies

Federal Agencies in New York City

Politics NYC

  • New York City Campaign Finance Board
    Provides information about the work of the New York City Campaign Finance Board; the members and staff of the Board; the voluntary New York City Campaign Finance Program that provides public matching funds to candidates who meet the requirements of the Program; the New York City Voter Guide; the New York City Debate Program; the ways in which public disclosure is available for participants' computerized campaign finance information; publications available from the Campaign Finance Board; and campaign finance reform legislation that the Board has proposed.
  • New York City Political District Maps
    Includes maps for voting districts for the U.S. Congress, NYS Senate and Assembly, NYC Council and Municipal Court.
  • New York City Polls
    From the Quinnipiac College Polling Institute, Hamden, Connecticut
  • Summary of Election Results, Board of Elections in the City of New York

Public Interest & Research Groups

  • Association for Neighborhood Housing and Development
    ANHD is a 501(c)(3) membership organization founded in 1974, comprised of 94 nonprofit neighborhood housing groups serving low- and moderate-income New Yorkers. Over the past decade alone, ANHD’s training, policy research, advocacy, strategic communications, and leadership development for 94 grassroots groups and residents has resulted in leveraging over $1.3 billion for affordable housing, rescuing over 30,000 apartments and 160 buildings for low-income residents, and creating break through policies for community development.
  • Center for Urban Research, City College of New York
  • The Center for an Urban Future
    The Center for an Urban Future is a public policy organization dedicated to improving the overall health of New York City and serving its long-term interests by targeting problems facing low-income and working-class neighborhoods in all five boroughs. A new kind of think tank, and the sister organization of City Limits magazine, the Center brings a unique, community-oriented perspective to the public policy arena.
  • Center for Urban Research, City College of New York
    The Center for Urban Research organizes research on the critical issues that face New York and other large cities in the U.S. and abroad, collaborates with public agencies, nonprofit organizations, and other partners, and holds forums for the media, foundations, community organizations and others about urban research at the Graduate School and City University of New York.
  • Central Park Conservancy
  • Columbia/Revson Fellowship: a Program on the Future of the City of New York, at Columbia University
  • Citizens Budget Commission
    The Citizens Budget Commission, founded in 1932, is a nonpartisan, nonprofit civic organization devoted to influencing constructive change in the finances and services of New York City and New York State government. The CBC site provides analyses of NYC budgets, as well as other information.
  • Citizens' Committee for Children of New York
  • Citizens Union of the City of New York
    Citizens Union was founded in 1897 to seek "honest and efficient" city government and to fight to public corruption that had so long been prevalent. Today, Citizens Union works with continued energy and vitality through a program of: lobbying for CU's reform agenda; evaluation of candidates and issues; forums and seminars; legal action; and research on public policy.
  • Community Service Society of New York
    "A private, nonprofit social service organization dedicated to fostering a better life for poor residents of the country's gateway city...focusing its efforts on income maintenance, health care, affordable housing and education."
  • Design Trust for Public Space
    The Design Trust for Public Space is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to improving public space in New York City. It does research, design, and planning projects, from parks, plazas and streets to city buildings, transportation systems and entire neighborhoods.
  • The Fiscal Policy Institute
    The Fiscal Policy Institute aims to increase public and governmental understanding of issues related to the fairness of New York's tax system and the stability and adequacy of state and local public services.
  • Fund for the City of New York
    The Fund is an independent private operating foundation and public charity. Its mandate is to respond to the opportunities and problems of New York City; to improve the performance of the city's government and the quality of life of its citizens. To achieve these ends, the Fund introduces new programs, technology, and methods to government agencies and nonprofit organizations, and helps to implement them.
  • Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy
    The Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy at NYU is a joint research center in the New York University School of Law and The Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service. The Center's mission: To conduct objective academic and empirical research on the legal and public policy issues involving real estate, housing and urban affairs; provide a forum for discussion and interchange among leading practitioners, policy makers, scholars, faculty and students about real estate and urban policy; To promote innovative teaching techniques and learning experiences in real estate and urban-related topics.
  • Hell's Kitchen South: Senior Seminar in Urban Studies
    The Hell's Kitchen South Project is a study in urban planning with the city grid standing in as the foundation of the study environment. The project includes detailed maps and photographs of the neighborhood; texts related to the social, historical and architectural development of Hell's Kitchen; and links to related projects in urban research, block analysis, zoning, among others.
  • The Manhattan Institute for Policy Research
    The Institute's goal is to develop and encourage public policies at all levels of government which will allow individuals the greatest scope for achieving their potential, both as participants in a productive economy and as members of a functioning society. Its working units are the Center for Educational Innovation, the Center for Civic Innovation, and the Judicial Studies Program. It publishes City Journal, as well as other publications.
  • Municipal Art Society of New York
    The Municipal Art Society of New York (MAS) is a private, non-profit membership organization that aggressively champions excellence in urban design and planning and the preservation of the best of New York's past. The Society believes that the physical city - its light, air, land and open spaces - and its sensible development are critical to New York's continued economic health and social well-being.
  • New York Academy of Sciences
    In service to science, the Academy initiates and facilitates communication among scientists, physicians, policy makers, government officers, educators, and journalists from around the world through its interdisciplinary scientific and section meetings and diverse publications. In service to society, Academy Programs draw upon the foremost experts and the most current information about advances in science and technology to inform analysis and discussion of public policy issues, to promote pre-college education, and to foster the human rights of scientists.
  • New York City Employment & Training Coalition
    The New York City Employment and Training Coalition (NYCETC) is an association of workforce development practitioners--community based organizations, community colleges and union affiliated training programs--committed to providing high quality education, training and employment services to unemployed and underemployed New Yorkers. Site includes research publications and data.
  • New York Landmarks Conservancy
    The Landmarks Conservancy is a nationally recognized organization which helps owners of older buildings by providing grants, low-interest loans, hands-on consulting services, workshops, and publications. In neighborhoods throughout the City and State, we preserve homes, businesses, social service centers, cultural institutions, schools, houses of worship, and tourist destinations. The Conservancy's programs serve as models in cities across the country.
  • New York Public Interest Research Group (NYPIRG)
    NYPIRG is New York State's largest research and advocacy non-profit organization primarily focused on environmental preservation, consumer protection, government reform and public health issues.
  • New York Urban League
  • New Yorkers for Parks
  • Partnership for New York City
  • Pratt Center for Community Development
    The Pratt Center for Community Development works for a more just, equitable, and sustainable city for all New Yorkers, by empowering communities to plan for and realize their futures. As part of Pratt Institute, the Center leverages professional skills - especially planning, architecture and public policy - to support community-based organizations in their efforts to improve neighborhood quality of life, attack the causes of poverty and inequality, and advance sustainable development.
  • Preserve & Protect
    A not-for-profit corporation providing space on the World Wide Web for historic preservation and environmental protection organizations in New York.
  • Regional Plan Association
    The nation's oldest regional planning organization, Regional Plan Association has worked since 1929 to improve the quality of life in the New York/New Jersey/Connecticut metropolitan area by creating long-term plans and promoting their implementation across political boundaries. On the basis of professional research, the Association recommends policy improvements, fosters cooperation among various government and private organizations, and involves the public in considering and shaping its own future. RPA's areas of research include land use planning, transportation, economic development, the environment, governance and social policy.
  • Straphangers Campaign
    An advocate for safe, comfortable, reliable and affordable subways and buses in New York City. Their reports and profiles are usually the only reported data about the operation of NYC's public transportation system.
  • Taub Urban Research Center, at NYU
    The Taub Urban Research Center explores issues and challenges affecting cities and metropolitan regions. The Center issues reports and conducts forums that include participants from government, business, nonprofit organizations, and the academic community. The Center's website activities include: analysis of population and employment trends, announcements about conferences and symposia, plus an on-line forum to explore major issues and problems facing cities around the world.
  • TenantNet: the Online Resource for the Residential Tenant
    TenantNet focuses mostly on NYC and NYS; includes unofficial, online versions of some NYC publications, such as the New York City Zoning Handbook and the New York City Housing Vacancy Surveys; and a directory of tenant organizations in NYC.
  • United Hospital Fund
    The United Hospital Fund, founded in 1879, is a not-for-profit health services research and philanthropic organization that addresses critical issues affecting health care in New York City. The mission of the Fund is to address critical issues affecting voluntary hospitals and health care.
    Health Insurance Coverage in New York: 2003-2004, 2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2008, 2009
  • United Way of New York City
    The United Way is the largest private funder of health and human services in New York City. It also publishes a number of studies and reports, some in partnership with the NYC Human Resources Administration.
  • Van Alen Institute: Projects to Improve the Public Realm

New York City Periodicals

  • City Journal. Quarterly.
    New York, NY : Manhattan Institute, 1992-
    Call Number: F 128.1 .N81
  • City Limits: New York's Urban Affairs Magazine. Monthly.
    New York, N.Y. : Association of Neighborhood Housing Developers, 1976-2009.
    Call Number: AA7545 C51
    It "shows you what is working in our communities: where the real successes are taking place, who is behind them, why they're working and what we can learn from them. And we expose the bureaucratic garbage, sloppy supervision and pure corruption that's failing our neighborhoods."
    Continued by the Community Service Society of New York as City Limits, 2010-present
  • The City Record. Daily (except Sunday)
    Call Number: Microfilm FN 1871
    The web version contains only the Procurement Notices appearing in the printed version of The City Record -- Solicitations and Awards.
  • The City Review
    A 'zine devoted to Manhattan affairs and the arts with a strong emphasis on architecture, planning, real estate, museums, books and consumer technology.
  • Gotham Gazette: NYC News & Policy
    Published each weekday by the Citizens Union foundation, it contains contributions from writers at 18 different organizations in the city.
  • Governing: the Magazine of States and Localities. Monthly.
    Washington, DC : Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1987-
    Call Number: JK 2403 .G68
  • Inner City Press
    Inner City Press / Community on the Move (ICP) is a non-profit community, consumers, and civil rights organization headquartered in the South Bronx of New York City, engaged in advocacy, reporting and organizing in the fields of community reinvestment, fair access to credit, insurance and telecommunications, environmental justice, and government and corporate accountability.
  • New York. Weekly.
    New York, New York Magazine Co., 1968-
    Call Number: F 128.1 .N4
    Columns and feature articles often concern NYC affairs.
  • Oculus. Quarterly.
    New York, N.Y. : American Institute of Architects. New York Chapter, 1938-
    Call Number: AB Oc9
  • Searchlight on the City Council. Quarterly.
    New York, N.Y. : Citizens Union Foundation, 1994-2001.
    Call Number: F 128.55 .S4
    It contains brief articles about current issues in city government.