When using CLIO, useful subject deadings for women and architecture include:
architecture and women
women owned architectural firms
Another way to identify books and journal articles is to use published bibliographies:
- Architecture and women : a bibliography documenting women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural critics and writers, and women in related fields working in the United States (1988)
Avery Reference AA705 D74
Barnard Reference NA2543.W65 D68 1988g
To find other published bibliographies, use the Advanced Search option in CLIO and put the word bibliography in the subject heading (use the pull down menu to choose Subject). Put words like women and architecture either in the Subject Heading, or in Anywhere.
- Women and Architecture: Selected Bibliography and Guide to Sources
An excellent research guide for women and architecture, the bibliography lists titles of reference sources, directories, indexes, and internet sites. From the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Finding Biographical Information
Try searching in CLIO under the name of specific architects [last name, first name] using a subject search. Examples:
Established architects, or historically important architects, may appear in biographical dictionaries:
- Contemporary architects (1994)
AVERY AA40 C7611
- International dictionary of architects and architecture (1993)
AVERY REFERENCE AA31 In8
This site may help identify some women architects:
- Women Architects
A digital imaging project by Mary Ann Sullivan at Bluffton College, this site has a small number of women architects (currently six architects) with images of some of their buildings. Under Julia Morgan there are more than 60 buildings.
Finding Journal Articles
The most widely known periodical index for architecture is
- Avery Index
Try searching under specific architects names or the subject heading Women Architects. It's better to search using Keyword or, from the Advanced Search, Subject Word.
For articles in women's studies journals, use
- Gender Studies Database
Useful terms to search: Architecture and Women; Women Architects
For more resources for architecture, explore
- Columbia University Libraries' Databases (reference works & indexes)
Use the subject term: Arts, Architecture & Applied Arts
- Association for Women in Architecture
Formed in 1999, the AWA is dedicated to forwarding the positions of women in architecture and its related fields. The AWA web site provides information about the organization, including scholarship information and an event calendar.
- International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA)
Established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, or Virginia Tech, the purpose of the program is to "document the history of women's involvement in architecture by collecting, preserving, storing, and making available to researchers the professional papers of women a rchitects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critic s, and urban planners, and the records of women's architectural organizations, from around the world. The IAWA focuses primarily on collecting the papers of t hose who practiced at a time when there were few women in the field (before the 1950's)." Site includes a guide to the collection and manuscript inventories.