Film & Television


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Getting Started

Finding Books

When using CLIO, useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for women and film/television include:

motion picture actors and actresses
television actors and actresses
women in motion pictures
women in television broadcasting
women in the motion picture industry
women on television
women television personalities
women television producers and directors

To find books about a specific actress, screenwriter, director, cinematographer, search her name as a keyword, subject (to find books about her) or author (to find works she has created):

campion, jane
ephron, nora
nair, mira

Finding Films

Use CLIO to find videos, DVDs, and streaming media.  Use the Films/Videos limit and a keyword search to find works by director, performer, or subject.  Use the Butler Media (Circulating) location limit to identify works that can be checked-out. 

Use WorldCat to search for videos beyond the Columbia University holdings, and use Interlibrary Loan to request videos that we do not have.

Filmakers Library Online
Nearly 1,000 documentary films on a wide range of topics

American History in Video
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Ethnographic Video Online
Provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. 

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Prelinger Archive (a subset of the Internet Archive Movie Archive)
Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

Finding Journal Articles

Film & Television Literature Index
Index of articles in film & television journals.  Useful terms to search: feminis*, women*, gender, directors' names, titles of films or programs

International Index to Film Periodicals

Humanities Full Text
Useful terms to search: gender, motion pictures, sex role, television, women. 

International Index to the Performing Arts
Includes the broadcast arts. Useful terms to search: Film, Gender, Television, Women.

MLA Bibliography

Gender Studies Database
Useful terms to search:  Broadcasting, Film, Films, Television.

Film Reviews

For newspaper reviews (New York Times, Los Angeles Times) of specific films, try

For general magazine reviews (Newsweek, Time) try either

The Internet Movie Database is an excellent free resource for information about films.

Finding Biographical Information

Try searching in CLIO under the name of  the actress/director/producer [last name, first name] using a subject search. Examples:


Guy, Alice
Moore, Mary Tyler
Riefenstahl, Leni

Women in film : an international guide (1991)
Barnard PN1995.9 .W6 W652 1991g
Butler Stacks PN1995.9 .W6 W652 1991g
Short biographical entries as well as brief topical and geographical entries.

Organizations

Filmographies

  • To find filmographies using CLIO, try filmograph? as a keyword search (the question mark will look for either filmography or filmographies). Alternatively, in the Advanced Search use the word Catalogs as a Subject Word. Remember to combine either of these terms with other useful keywords that describe your topic.