When using CLIO, useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for women and architecture include:
women in art
If you're looking for a specific artist, search CLIO for her name (as author). Examples:
Another way to identify books and journal articles is to use published bibliographies:
- Women artists : an historical, contemporary, and feminist bibliography (1994)
Avery Reference N40 B121
Barnard Reference N8354 .B32 1994
- Women in the fine arts : a bibliography and illustration guide (1991)
Avery Reference N35 An23
Barnard Reference N8354 .A47 1991
To find other published bibliographies, use the Advanced Search option in CLIO and put the word bibliography in the subject heading (use the pull down menu to choose Subject). Put words like women and sculpture either in the Subject Heading, or in Anywhere.
Finding Biographical Information
- Oxford Art Online
Full text multidisciplinary database includes Grove art online, Oxford companion to Western art, Encyclopedia of aesthetics, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, Grove dictionary of art online and covers all aspects of art and artists.
- Contemporary women artists (1999)
Avery Reference N40 C76
Barnard Reference N8354 .C66 1999
- Dictionary of women artists (1997)
Avery Reference N40 D57
Barnard Reference N43 .D55 1997
- North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary (1995)
Avery Reference N40 N79
Try searching in CLIO under the name of specific artists [last name, first name] using a subject search. Examples:
Finding Journal Articles
- Art Full Text
A major periodical index to the arts. This database covers 1984 to the present and is the second part of a two- part index to art periodicals in Western European languages. Beginning in 1994, abstracts are included. After the late 1990s, some full text is available (lacking illustrations). The earlier index is:
- Art Retrospective
Index covers 1929-1984.
- ARTBibliographies Modern
Citations and abstracts for publications on modern and contemporary art (late 19th century to the present).
"... the only international feminist art journal exploring feminist theory and contemporary women's art practices published in two separate editions online (quarterly, since Dec. 1996) and in print." The web page provides access to some information from the current issue, but it also has a large number of links to web sites about women and art with great international coverage. n.paradoxa also includes a list or worldwide organizations.
For Women's Studies journals, use
- Gender Studies Database
Useful terms to search: Art, Women Artists, Women Painters, Women Sculptors
For more resources for arts, explore
- Columbia University Libraries' Databases (reference works & indexes)
Use the subject term: Arts, Architecture & Applied Arts
Digital images of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts, design and material culture
"We seek dynamic exchanges of views on visual art and feminist cultural production across and between disciplines." Artwomen.org has public forums about a variety of topics.
- Guerrilla Girls
Guerrilla Girls are a group of women artists and art professionals who make posters about discrimination.
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
The Museum is "dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists. Includes some images and information about artists in the collection.
- Women's Studio Workshop
A not-for-profit artists' space located near Kingston, NY. The WSW home page provides information about its activities, programs, and internships.