- Oxford Music Online
The most comprehensive online encyclopedia for music. Includes the Grove Encyclopedia of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
- Music Online
Searches across many databases of recorded music and reference works. Many of the digital sound recordings may send to personal devices for offline listening. Component databases include:
- When using CLIO, try a keyword search for the composer, group, or performer:
- If you are looking for general topics, useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for women and music include:
feminism and music
gender identity in music
music by women composers
women in music
women rock musicians
- Another way to identify books and journal articles is to use published bibliographies:
Women and music: a selective annotated bibliography on women and gender issues in music, 1987-1992 (1995)
Music Reference ML128.W7 E75 1995
Barnard Reference ML128.W7 E75 1995
Finding Journal Articles
- Humanities Abstracts
Useful terms to search: Feminism, Sex, Women Musicians.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Current indexing for over 300 periodicals beginning in the mid-1990s. Retrospective coverage as far back as the mid-nineteenth-century for an additional 165 titles. Full text for over 40 titles.
Useful terms to search: Gender, Women.
- Gender Studies Database
Useful terms to search: Composers, Musicians, Singers.
Finding Biographical Information
Try searching in CLIO under the name of musician or composer [last name, first name] using a subject search. Examples:
Vaziri, Qamar al-Muluk
International encyclopedia of women composers (1987)
BARNARD REFERENCE ML105 .C7 1987
MUSIC REFERENCE ML105 .C7 1987
Women in music : an encyclopedic biobibliography (1993)
MUSIC REFERENCE ML105 .H6 1993
BARNARD REFERENCE ML105 .H6 1993
- The International Alliance for Women in Music
The International Alliance for Women in Music connects to a multitude of online sources for women and music; it provides bibliographies, discographies, information about events, and the texts of articles appearing in its publications.