Periodical Indexes for Research in Women's Studies


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Computerized Indexes

A longer list of electronic periodical indexes which cover women's studies, but are not specific to women's studies, follows this guide. Indexes in print, which may cover earlier years than the online indexes, are also listed below.

Database About Broad Subject Coverage
Gender Studies Database
Excellent resource for women's studies. The majority of citations are to scholarly women's studies journals and women's studies materials, including citations to books and audiovisual material. Some material dates from 1972, the bulk from 1984 to present. Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences
Contemporary Women's Issues A selected full-text international resource (some material is abstract only). Includes book reviews, research reports, and fact sheets, in addition to journals and magazines. Some sources go back to 1992, but coverage varies by source. Much of the material in CWI is small-press publications, not necessarily scholarly journals. General, Social Sciences, Sciences
Gender Watch Full-text and abstracts of scholarly journals (among them Critical Matrix, Hypatia, Columbia Journal of Gender & Law), magazines (the Advocate, Hurricane Alice, Lillith), newspapers (a complete run of off our backs from 1970 to present), newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports. Bulk is 1990 to present History, Humanities, Social Sciences, Popular.
KVINNSAM An international index to journal articles and essays in books dealing with all aspects of women, feminism, and gender studies. Allows for limiting searches to English language material. Database goes back to 1981. Humanities, Social Sciences
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Compilation began in July 1996. Medieval Literature & History
gender inn Feminist theory, feminist literary criticism, and gender studies focusing on English and American literature. Database interface is available in both German and English. Literature, Gender Studies
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 Full-text collection of books and periodicals about women's history, women's rights, and women's suffrage. Most of the collection dates from 1880 to 1920. History, Social Sciences
NOEMA: The Collaborative Bibliography of Women in Philosophy Representing the work of over 4,400 women, the project was posted to the web beginning in June 1995. The database is added to through the collaboration of scholars and housed in the Philosophy Department of Indiana University, Southeast. Philosophy
ViVa ViVa (short for"Vrouwengeschiedenis in het Vaktijdschrift", which is Dutch for "Women's history in scholarly periodicals") lists articles from more than sixty European and American periodicals. Compiled in Amsterdam at the International Institute of Social History, citations go back as early as 1975. Searching is by author, word in article title, journal title, and/or date. History

Print Indexes

Women studies abstracts. (1972- ).
Barnard Reference Z7962 .W65
Butler Reference R016.396 W842.

Women's studies index 1989- . (1991- ).
Barnard Reference HQ1180 .W664 (1989-1992, 1995-1996)
Butler Reference R016.396 W85 (1989-1999)

Studies on women abstracts (1983-1999). Continued by Studies on women and gender abstracts.
Lehman-Social Work Index Tables Z7963.E7 S95

Studies on women and gender abstracts (2000- ). Continues Studies on women abstracts.
Lehman-Social Work Index Tables Z7963.E7 S951

General Computerized Indexes

The following indexes include women's studies, but are not specific to women's studies.

Database About Broad Subject Coverage
ABI Inform Absorbed by ProQuest Direct (see below). Business, 1971- Business
America: History & Life American history and popular culture, 1964- History
Anthropological Literature Anthropology, 1984- Anthropology
Art Abstracts Fine Arts and Architecture, 1983- Arts
ATLA Religion Database Periodical citation index going back to 1949; international coverage of religion periodicals going back to 1949. A:sp omdexes essay collections with a religious or theological subject focus. Humanities
Database of Classical Bibliography
Classics, 1959-2002 Humanities
Ethnic Newswatch Full texts of articles in minority papers, 1989- Social Sciences
Handbook of Latin American Studies Latin America, 1935- . Social Sciences, Humanities
Hispanic American Periodicals Index Latin America, 1970- Social Sciences, Humanities
Historical Abstracts World history, excluding America & Canada, 1954- History
Humanities Abstracts History, classics, literature, film, philosophy, music and art, 1984- Humanities
Index Islamicus
Covers the complete run of Index Islamicus, 1906- . Social Sciences, Humanities, History
International Medieval Bibliography
Middle Ages, 1984-1993 Humanities, History
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe News from the U.S. and abroad, including full-text of the New York Times from 1980 to present. Includes some popular magazines as well as newspapers and trade publications. Social Sciences
MLA Bibliography Literary criticism and folklore, 1964- Humanities
PAIS Public affairs information, including political science, education, and urban affairs; 1972 to the present. Social Sciences
Periodical Contents Index (PCI) An international, interdisciplinary keyword index especially useful for finding articles from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Covers 1773-1993. Humanities
Philosopher's Index Articles in books and journals, 1947- Humanities
ProQuest Direct Indexes and provides full-texts to a large number of newspapers and periodicals, including many women's studies journals, 1989-. General, Social Sciences, Humanities
PsychInfo Psychology and psychiatry, 1963- Social Sciences, Sciences
Social Sciences Abstracts Citations to scholarly articles in: anthropology, business, history, political science, psychology, public welfare, sociology. Database goes from 1983 to the present. Social Sciences
Social Work Abstracts A social work and social welfare database extending back to 1977. Social Sciences
Sociological Abstracts Social psychology, urban studies, criminology, crisis intervention, 1963 to the present. Social Sciences