History & Global Studies


See also


International Guides

  • Archival Sites for Women's Studies
    Maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
  • KVINNSAM
    KVINNSAM is the largest Nordic database on interdisciplinary Swedish and foreign references on women, men and gender science. It includes books, journals, journal articles, book chapters, scholarly papers, booklets and research reports from 1984 to the present. It is produced by the Women's History Collections Department at Gothenburg University Library.
  • ViVa
    An online bibliography of women's history in historical and women's studies journals from the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.
  • Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from around the World
    Offers a selection of speeches and other writing by women from a variety of fields from literature to public affairs.

Classics

Byzantine

Medieval

Nineteenth Century


United States

Canada

Asia

Middle East

Europe

  • NOISE
    Network of Interdisciplinary Women Studies in Europe, the largest European Educational Exchange Programme in Women's Studies in Europe. 
  • Women's Studies EuroMapXS
    Offers "detailed information about Women's Studies and Equal Opportunities, and we guide you through the interesting Women's Studies sites on the Internet." Concentrates on Europe.

Austria

  • FEMALE-L Homepage
  • Ariadne
    Ariadne is an extraordinary resource for Austrian women's studies. It contains the Datenbank ARIADNE, a database of articles, essays in books dealing with women either published in Austria, or on Austrian topics. The database was begun in 1992, and currently contains 13,000 records. The site also includes tables of contents from 10 early Austrian feminist journals, ranging in date from Social-politische Frauen-Zeitung (1875-1876) to Zeitschrift für Frauen-Stimmrecht (1911-1918).

Denmark

Finland

Germany

Great Britain

Italy

Netherlands

Sweden and Scandinavia

  • KVINNSAM
    KVINNSAM is the largest Nordic database on interdisciplinary Swedish and foreign references on women, men and gender science. It includes books, journals, journal articles, book chapters, scholarly papers, booklets and research reports from 1984 to the present. It is produced by the Women's History Collections Department at Gothenburg University Library.

Latin America

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies
    The Handbook is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. The print edition is available in Butler Reference Department. The online version includes the full 59 volumes of the handbook, from 1935 to the present. It can be searched by subject, author, title, and keyword.

Russia

  • Russian Feminism Resources
    Links to information (there are English links and Russian links) about a variety of topics affecting women's lives in Russia.