Women in U.S. Politics


Biographies & Encyclopedias

  • The almanac of women and minorities in American politics 2002
    BARNARD REFERENCE HQ1236.5.U6 M3779 2001
  • Emily's List
    "...identifies viable pro-choice Democratic women candidates for key federal and statewide offices." Provides information about women in Congress, women in state legislatures, and current candidates.
  • Encyclopedia of women in American politics (1999)
    BARNARD REFERENCE HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999
    Lehman-Social Work Reference HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999
    Biographical and topical essays.
  • From suffrage to the Senate : an encyclopedia of American women in politics (1999)
    BARNARD REFERENCE HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999
    BUTLER REFERENCE R396 Sch27
    Two volume set; biographical and topical essays.
  • U.S. House of Representatives Office of the Clerk : Members and Committees page
    Links to committee information, telephone directory, and a list of members with web pages. From the U.S. House of Representatives.
  • U.S. Senators
    Provides directories by name and state. From the U.S. Senate.

Bibliographies

  • The political participation of women in the United States : a selected bibliography, 1950-1976 (1977)
    BARNARD REFERENCE HQ1236 .S74 1977g
    BUTLER REFERENCE R016.396 St26
    LEHMAN-SOCIAL WORK REFERENCE Z7961 .S74
  • Women in modern American politics : a bibliography, 1900-1995 (1997)
    BARNARD REFERENCE HQ1236.5.U6 .C69 1997g
    BUTLER REFERENCE R016.396 W84

Journal Articles

  • Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)
    Primarily full-text resource (some publications are abstracts only). This resource provides access to many small press magazines and newsletters, as well as reports and fact sheets, that may not be easily located otherwise. 
  • GenderWatch
    A full-text resource of magazines that focuses on gender issues.
  • Gender Studies Database (WRI)
    Provides citations to journals and women's studies materials, including books and audiovisual material. Some material dates from 1972, the bulk from 1984 to present.
    Useful terms: Legislation; Political Activism; Political Legislation; Politicians.

Organizations with Web Pages

  • Center for the American Woman and Politics (CAWP)
    A "university-based research, education and public service center. Its mission is to promote greater understanding and knowledge about women's relationship to politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life." Provides a current list of women candidates by state and name and a list by office and party. The site also contains a variety of fact sheets about women in office (state and federal levels), voter turnout, etc.
  • Emily's List
    "...identifies viable pro-choice Democratic women candidates for key federal and statewide offices." Provides information about women in Congress, women in state legislatures, and current candidates.
  • Feminist Majority
    Founded in the fall of 1987, the purpose of Feminist Majority is "to promote equality for women and men, non-violence, social justice and economic development and to enhance feminist participation in public policy. The mission is to empower feminists, who are the majority, and to win equality for women at the decision-making tables of the state, nation, and the world."
  • League of Women Voters
    Founded in 1920, the League of Women Voters is a grassroots citizen organization with a mission to "encourage the informed and active participation of citizens in government and to influence public policy through education and advocacy." The League focuses on registering people to vote, defending voting rights, taking action for privacy in reproductive choice, and opening government to citizens. There is also a League of Women Voters of New York State.
  • National Federation of Republican Women
  • Advocates "crucial issues to positively impact our Nation; strengthen our Republican Party through recruiting and training candidates; and empower women of all ages and diversity in the political process." Not much substantive information, but NFRW page does provide contact information for state-level federations and lists Republican women candidates for state and federal office.
  • National Organization for Women
    Established in 1966, NOW "is dedicated to making legal, political, social and economic change in our society in order to achieve our goal, which is to eliminate sexism and end all oppression." There is also a local New York City chapter of NOW.
  • National Women's Political Caucus
    "The NWPC's mission is to identify, recruit, train and support women seeking elected and appointed office." Access position papers, texts of speeches, and articles by the NWPC.

Speeches

  • Gifts of Speech
    This site "is dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches made by influential contemporary women." Coverage is international, but includes many American women involved in politics. Search the site for speeches containing specific words or phrases, or browse alphabetically by speaker or chronologically by year. The database contains speeches going back to 1848, but the strength of the database is in its collection of speeches given since the 1980s.

Additional Resources