Databases for Journalism

If you have questions about access to a resource, or do not find a database that meets your needs, please e-mail: journalism@library.columbia.edu

For a complete listing of all databases available through the Libraries, please visit our Databases portal. 

Databases and data can be used for academic purposes only.  Use for commercial purposes is a violation of our license and can cause the Libraries to lose access to the database.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Jump to:  0-9A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | JL | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W


0-9

60 Minutes : 1997-2014 (Alexander Street Press)

Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more. Coverage dates 1997 - 2014.

A

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest)

Search more than 1200 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more. Coverage dates: 1971 - present

Academic Commons (Columbia University Libraries)

Academic Commons collects, preserves, and makes accessible the scholarship and research of the faculty, staff, and students of Columbia University.

Alternative Press Index Archive (Ebsco)

Index of journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects. Covers 1969 - 1990.

American FactFinder (U.S. Census Dept.)

AmericanFactFinder (AFF) is an online source for population, housing, economic and geographic data that presents the results from four key data programs: Decennial Census of Housing and Population - 1990 and 2000, Economic Census 1997 and 2002, American Community Survey - 1996-present, Population Estimates Program - July 1, 2003-present

Associations Unlimited (Gale)
Database covering over 456,000 organizations worldwide. Also includes U.S. regional, state and local associations. Entries provide directory (e.g., phone, address, web address, etc.) as well as descriptive (e.g., organization profile, conference schedule, etc.) information. Updates: 5 times a year.

B

Bloomberg

Online database providing current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Printing and downloading are available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide. There is also one Bloomberg terminal available in the Stabile Student Center in Putlizer Hall. Additional Bloomberg terminals are available in Lehman Library and Uris Hall.

BMI Research (Bloomberberg)
Provides in-depth market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Also includes profiles for over 500 multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.

Borrow Direct (Coulmbia University Libaries)

Borrow Direct is a rapid delivery service that allows patrons from participating libraries to check the availability of and request books from the combined catalogs of Harvard, Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Columbia, Penn, Brown, University of Chicago, and MIT.

BrowZine (ThirdIron)

BrowZine is an application that helps finding, reading, and monitoring thousands of scholarly journals covering all disciplines. Highlights include browsing by subject or keyword, abstracts, and journal rankings.

C

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Online version of the print journal features daily reports on developments in higher education, information technology, and distance education, as well as regularly updated databases of grant opportunities, job announcements, and links to Internet resources for higher education.

CLIO (Columbia University Libraries)

Comprehensive database containing catalog records for all library items added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.

Communication Asbtracts (Ebsco)

Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources world-wide. Coverage includes communication literature, film studies, role of technology in human communications, risk communications, crisis communication and public opinions.

Congress.gov

Official website for U.S. legislation, Congresional Record, Committees, and Members. Tracks bills by name, number and status.

Congressional Directory (U.S. Government Printing Office)

Official directory of the U.S. Congress prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing. Presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

CQ Press Library

Resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis. Includes data on U.S. Congress, U.S. Supreme Court, elections data and, social data at state and local levels. 

Credo

Database of background content. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.

D

Data.gov (U.S. General Services Administration)

Datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the United States federal government. Includes access to "raw" data and using tools.

Digital Collections (Library of Congress)

Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

E

EBSCOhost Research Databases

Multi-disciplinary database collection indexing journals and other scholarly publications, some with full text. Includes standalone databases for Humanities, Sciences, & Social Sciences in various disciplines. Emphasis on Social Sciences. 

ERIC: Educational Resources Center (ProQuest)

Educational-related literature, in addition to coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Sponsored by the U.s. Department of Education

Ethnic newsWatch (ProQuest)

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

F

Factiva (Dow Jones)

Full-text database providing timely and detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Includes industry and trade publications, news sources, and company and market data. Coverage varies by source.

Film & Television Studies (Columbia University Libraries)

Listing of electronic resources available to researchers and scholars in the fields of television and film studies.

Foundation Directory (Candid)

Foundation Directory provides descriptions of grant makers, including private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers.

G

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

GenderWatch (ProQuest)

Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGOs and special reports. Coverage 1970 to the present.

GovInfo.gov (U.S. Government Publishing Office)

Comprehensive public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Updated daily.

H

Health, United States (National Center for Health Statistics)

Annual report on trends in U.S. health statistics. Includes a chartbook containing text and figures and a trend tables section that contains 147 detailed data tables. 

Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest)

Full text and image articles of top ten Black newspapers on 20th century. Includes New York Amsterdam News. 

Human Rights Studies (Columbia University Libraries)

Library research guide on resources and research methods in the multidisicplinary field of human rights.

Humanities Index (ProQuest)

320+ journals, magazines, and newspapers. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.

I

ICPSR (University of Michigan)

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. Can be used for both research and instructional activities. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code.

IMF eLibrary

The IMF eLibrary offers direct access to IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. The topics covered include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction.

InCites Essential Science Indicators (Thomson Reuters)

Offers data for ranking authors, institutions, nations, and journals in multiple disciplines. 

Infoshare Online

Database of statistics about New York City from 1980 to the present. Consists of official statistical data from U.S., New York State, and New York City agencies. Includes population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, and more.

International Directory of the Arts (De Gruyter)

Contact information for 150,000+ museums/public galleries, industry, professional and academic contacts in all aspects of art production, distribution, selling, and preservation. Includes museum specializations, temporary closures, and curators/senior academic museum staff.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Elsevier)

Map of social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Includes 4,000 articles and comprehensive name and subject indexes. 

Internet Broadway Database (League of American Theatres and Producers)

Official archival database for Broadway theater information. Features information on current and past productions in the Broadway theaters of New York City, including production statistics, dates, cast, crew and creative staff credits, roles, and related facts.

iPoll (Roper Center)

Comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. Organized at the question level for national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Includes polls from Gallup, Harris, Pew, and others.

J

JSTOR
Full-text articles from more than 600 scholarly journals in several disciplines

Judicial Directory (NYS Unified Court System)

Provides information about NYS judges inclusing Court of Appeals, appellate divisions, and trial courts. Also includes an administrative directory.

L

Leadership Library on the Internet
Directories with contact information for government, diplomatic, news media, corporate, finance, non-profit, and law entities. Updated daily.

LGBT Life with Full Text (ProQuest)

Journals, magazines and regional newspapers and monographs on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Indexes important historical GLBT publications, core books, periodicals, and reference works.

LinkedIn Learning

Courses offered at different skill levels in over 140 specialties including 3D + Animation; Audio; Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media.

M

Media Intelligence Center (Alliance for Audited Media)

Audited circulation reports, circulation data and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications from the US, Canada, and other countries.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)

Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing from over 4,800 current biomedical journals

MEDLINEplus (National Library of Medicine)

Presents up-to-date health care information for use by health care consumers and health professionals. Includes dictionaries, directories of doctors,dentists, hospitals, and other health organizations.

Meet the Press (Alexander Street Press)

Comprehensive archive of every episode. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others.

Merriam-Webster unabridged

Includes dictionaries, thesaurus, encyclopedia, medical dictionary, and word translations from French and Spanish.

Migration Information Source (Migration Policy Institute)

Data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends.

Monthly bulletin of statistics (United Nations)

Current economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world, including data on important trends and developments. Available at least three weeks in advance of the printed version. 

Moscow News Digital Archive (East View)

All obtainable published issues of Russian and former Soviet press. Covers 1930 - present.

N

NAM National Ethnic Media Directory (New American Media)

Directory of print, broadcast and online media organizations covering ethnic or minority communities in the United States.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S. Department of Justice)

Federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

National Journal Group's Policy Central

Resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.

NewsBank (Readex)

Current and archived content from more than 2,000 newspaper titles, with a special focus on international publications.

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)

Features newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Academic version of LexisNexis Public Records.

NK News

Independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea. Content includes news, news aggregator, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and other data about North Korea.

Numeric Data Collection (Columbia University Libraries)

Catalog of datasets (data, documentation and program code) including links to those studies that are available online. Contains data studies acquired by Columbia plus important freely available products.

NYC Population FactFinder (NYC Planning Labs)

Data visualization tool for examining critical demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics of defined areas within New York City and how these statistics have changed over time.

O

OECD iLibrary 
Includes all books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases distributed by the Organizaton for Economic Co-operation and Development. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.

OED Online (Oxford University Press)
Largest English language dictionary, Oxford English Dictionary

Open Congressional Research Services (U.S. Congress)

Access to all publicly Congressional Research Reports used to inform Federal legislative process.

P

PAIS International (ProQuest)
Contains citations to periodical articles, books, government documents and research reports in business, finance, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, political science, law, and legislations. It is international and multilingual. Many items contain abstracts. Coverage: most recent ten years; updates: monthly

PARLINE - Parliaments Online

Provides general information on Parliament's chambers; description of the electoral system; results of the most recent elections; archive of past elections results; information on the presidency of each chamber; information on the mandate and status of members of Parliament; For all countries where a national legislature exists, the database.

PBS Video Collection (Alexander Street Press)

Hundreds of documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, as well as films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

ProQuest Central
An interdisciplinary database covering more than 2,000 professional, scholarly, trade and general interest periodicals, including full-text for over a thousand titles and indexing/abstracts for the others. The database also covers 27 primary and secondary US newspapers (including a 90-day rolling file of The New York Times), 11 of which are in full-text. ProQuest Direct represents titles found in ABI-INFORM (Global Edition), Periodicals Abstracts (Research II Edition), and Newspaper Abstracts. Coverage: varies ; Updates: Daily

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Full-text and full-image articles from major U.S. newspapers. Covers 1837 - 2009. Includes PDFs of articles and pages. 

ProQuest Newspapers

Full-text and full- image articles from major U.S. newspapers. Covers last ten years. Updated daily. 

PsycARTICLES (American Pyschological Association)

Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology. Coverage for most journals begins with 1985. 

PubMed (National Library of Medicine)

Provides access to 16 million+ citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

R

ReferenceUSA

Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll-free and fax numbers are given for some companies.

S

Scopus

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Social Explorer

Interactive maps and data reports that display demographic U.S. change since 1790 through the present, for the country over all down to the level of the county. For more recent years, one can display areas as small as your own neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. 

Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco)

Contains articles from social work journals about homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Covers 1977 - present.

SocINDEX (Ebsco)

Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence. 

Sustaninablity Reference Center

Full-text database covering sustainability and corporate social responsibility.

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.

Subject Guides (Columbia University Libraries)

Targeted resources guides and pathfinders selected by Columbia Libraries staff

T

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)

Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. Descriptive summaries available.

U

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Bibliographic and access information for over 240,000 serials. Entries provide pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher, editor contacts. Direct links to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available.

UNdata (United Nations)

More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale)

Documents from all the presidential libraries and executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database. Includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

USA Trade Online
USA Trade is a web-based product that allows for remote access to detailed trade data between the United States and its trading partners. Currently it is accessible only from Columbia network. Users can download data on the imports or exports of specific products in either Excel or ASCII format. Products are described at the various levels of detail within 10 digit U.S. Harmonized Schedule of code products.

W

Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)

Seven databases containing scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest)

Archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Inclues Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, and Redbook.

WorldCat (OCLC)

48 million records, covering all materials catalogued by OCLC member libraries around the world.

World Databank 

Complilation of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World Development Indicators (WDI).

World Factbook (Central Intellgence Agency)

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Compiled by C.I.A.

World Newspaper Archive (Readex)

Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American, African and South Asian newspapers. Forthcoming are European, Middle Eastern, and Southeast Asian newspapers. Coverage 1800-2000.

World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966 (Alexander Street Press)

Key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. Allows search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.

Y

Yearbook of international organizations (Union of International Relations)

Includes all data published in the printed Yearbook of international organizations (Volumes 1A, 1B, 2, 3, and 4), Who's who in international organizations, and the whole Encyclopedia.