Primary Source Databases & Online Collections for Modern Tibetan Studies
Subscription databases are marked by a "key" indicating that a Columbia campus computer, or remote proxy log-in is required. All other are open-source, though some sort of registration or account might be necessary.
Buddhist Digital Resource Center & BUDA
The single richest resource of Tibetan-language electronic texts, including many rare manuscripts and woodblock prints, as well as modern publications. Formerly the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center, this organization founded by E. Gene Smith in 1999 expanded its mission to include texts in Sanskrit, Pali, Chinese, etc. and accordingly changed its name. Columbia University has long supported this organization and provides ready access to all 16 "Core Text Collections". Several thousand of these titles are also discoverable in CLIO, with links to BDRC's new Buddhist Universal Digital Archive (BUDA) interface.
Tibetan Studies Special Collections at Columbia University
Digital collection of archival and other rare Tibetan Studies holdings, primarily in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library at Columbia University; includes documents and photographs from the Tharchin Collection and the Lama Anagarika Govinda papers, 1945-1993, as well as some materials from the Tibet Information Network (TIN) Archives and the Meg McLagan Collection. Additionally, the Collection includes digital images of some fifty rare books and a limited amount of audio-visual materials, such as lectures by Tibetan Buddhist teachers, and oral-history and related interviews with Tibetan and Chinese scholars and cadres in China and with Tibetans living in exile on their lives and historical events in the 20th century.
EBSCO database : Historical Abstracts
Offers citations, abstracts, and links for publications related to world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including many dissertations and articles related to Tibet.
明清边海防 = Ming Qing bian hai fang
Searchable full-text database containing geographical literature and records on China's border and coastal regions from Ming and Qing dynasties. The contents are arranged seven categories: 1. World geography, largely the texts based on Zheng He's seven expeditionary voyages; 2. Coastal defense, including naval warfare; 3. Tibet; 4. Xinjiang; 5. Liaodong territory; 6. Russia; and 7. Japan and Ryukyu islands. The full name of the database is: 明清两朝边塞海疆地理文献汇编全文检索系统.
China & the Modern World : Diplomacy and Political Secrets
Coming soon!