Western Language Journals
The website for the project Digital Himalaya features links to online journals, magazines, and other publications of Himalayan Studies.
- Himalaya: the Journal of the Association for Nepal and Himalayan Studies
- Journal of the International Association for Tibetan Studies
- Journal of Tibetan Literature
- Tibet Journal
LTWA offers downloads of selected issues
Table of contents for 1975-2003 can be found on THL site. Alternate table of contents listing can be found here.
- Tibetan Review
- Waxing Moon: A Journal of Tibetan Himalayan Studies (with contributions in English and Tibetan)
- Yeshe: A Journal of Tibetan Literature, Arts and Humanities
Tibetan and Chinese Language Journals (post-1950)
- Bya-ra Database
Online database of more than 10,000 Tibetan-language research articles published in the People’s Republic of China (PRC). Many English abstracts provided. Also includes contents of Rig gnas lo rgyus series and the English-language journals, Tibet Studies and China Tibetology.
- China Academic Journals
Thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences since 1994, including periodicals from national universities throughout the PRC, Qinghai Minzu Yanjiu, China Tibetology, etc. Full-text in both CAJ viewer and PDF. English abstracts for most articles. May search in Chinese or English. Also includes Century Journal Project database, covering articles prior to 1994, as well as full-text databases for dissertations and core newspapers.
- National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals
- This database 全国报刊索引数据库 contains the most comprehensive citation data of Chinese newspapers, journals and magazines in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology from 1857 to current. It includes 10 packages divided by years and by two general categories of social sciences and science & technology. Its pre-1949 packages are considered to be especially useful. The supplier (an affiliate of Shanghai Library) limits access to much of its pre-1949 data to subscribers only.
- Index to Chinese Periodical Literature of Taiwan
This database 中文期刊篇目索引 covers over 4,000 periodicals in Chinese and Western languages published in Taiwan, HK, and Macao from 1970 to current. "It includes general works; philosophy, religion; natural science; applied science; social science; history, geography, and biography; language and literature; art. New data are added each month with retroactive archiving."Some full texts are available. More importantly, you may request some periodical articles that you cannot find at North American libraries to be delivered from the National Central Library to you promptly (via the Star East Asian Library). It’s like you’re using National Central Library periodical collections at Columbia.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)
Contains about 250 titles on humanities and social sciences.
- Chinese Electronic Periodical Services (CEPS)
Contains about 1,600 titles on humanities and social sciences from Taiwan and China; from 1991.
- Bod ljongs nyin re'i tshags par / Xizang ri bao (Tibet Daily)
CU holds a full run of the Tibetan version, Bod-ljongs nyin re'i tshags par, in print from 1980 to current. We also have incomplete holdings on microfilm 1961-2006.
Xizang ri bao: CU has holdings on microfilm 1956-2007.
Contact the Tibetan Studies Librarian for more information.
- Zang xue yan jiu lun cong 藏学研究论丛. vol 1-9. [Lhasa] : Xizang ren min chu ban she, 1989-2005.
Series collecting the best Chinese language research on Tibet.
- Sorensen, Per. A Provisional List of Tibetological Research-Papers and Articles Published in the People's Republic of China and Tibet. Edited by Albrecht Wezler, Nepal Research Centre Publications, no. 17. Stuttgart: Franz Steiner Verlag Wiesbaden GMBH, 1991.
- Wu Fengpei. “Zangzu shiliao shumu juyao (hanwen yi) [A Bibliography of the Studies in Tibetan History—part 1 Chinese Sources].” Xizang yan jiu, December (1981): 112-127.
The publications (ranging in date from 1908-1981) are indexed according to period, genre, or topic.
Tibetan & Chinese Serial Resources (pre-1950)
- China-US Million Book Digital Library Project / Universal Library
This is the Chinese equivalent of Google's scanning of key library resources. All out-of-copyright contents (pre-modern literature, monographs in the Republic era, old English books, etc.) are FREE to everyone! Copyrighted materials are only available to institutions owning the material.
Note: As of 9/2023, links to Chinese-side sites were inoperable, but many books are represented on Internet Archive.
- Journal of the West China Border Research Society. Chengtu, China. v.1 (1922/23)-v.16 (1945).
U.S.-funded journal focused on Khams. Available via Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS).
- National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals
This database 全国报刊索引数据库 contains the most comprehensive citation data of Chinese newspapers, journals and magazines in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology from 1857 to current. It includes 10 packages divided by years and by two general categories of social sciences and science & technology. Its pre-1949 packages are considered to be especially useful. The supplier (an affiliate of Shanghai Library) limits access to much of its pre-1949 data to subscribers only.
- Walravens, Hartmut. "The First Tibetan Serials." The Serials Librarian v. 41, no. 2 (2001): 29–38.
- Manen, Johan van. "Three Tibetan newspapers." Proceedings of the Asiatic Society of Bengal, N.S. 22, XXXII-XXXIII (1926).
- Bray, John. "A.H. Francke's La Dvags Kyi Akhbar: The First Tibetan Newspaper." The Tibet Journal v. 13, no. 3 (1988): 58–63.
- Meng Zang wei yuan hui gong bao 蒙 藏委員會公報. Meng Zang wei yuan hui zong wu chu. 1929-1940s. Serial Publication: Periodical : Microform v.: ill.; 25 cm. [Nanjing : Meng Zang wei yuan hui zong wu chu].
Important publication of the Mongolian and Tibetan Affairs Commission, based in Nanjing (and Chongqing).
- Zhang Yuxin, Zhang Shuangzhi bian zuan. Minguo Zang shi shi liao hui bian 民國藏事史料彙编. Zhongguo Zang xue Han wen li shi wen xian ji chen 中國藏學漢文歷史文獻集成 Beijing shi: Xue yuan chu ban she, 2005. 30 vols. DS785 .M55 2005
v.1 with "Table of contents" of the set shelved in 250 Level Reference 2 section. Includes: relevant articles from important republican journals such as 《东方杂志》、《政府公报》、《边政公论》as well as Zang wen bai hua bao 藏文白话报. 1913-1914, a Beijing-based publication of the Mongolian and Tibetan Affairs Office (Meng Zang shi wu ju).
- Kolmas, J. “Index to Articles in the K'ang-Tsang Yen-Chiu Yüeh-K'an (A Contribution to the Bibliography of Tibet).” The Journal of the Tibet Society 1 (1982): 15-40.
- Chinese studies on Tibetan culture: a facsimile reproduction of the K'ang-Tsang Yen-Chiu Yüen-K'an (Hsi K'ang-Tibet Research Monthly). edited with an introduction and indexes by Josef Kolmas ; foreword by Lokesh Chandra. Śata-piṭaka series : Indo-Asian literatures ; v. 332. New Delhi : International Academy of Indian Culture, 1983.
- Fengpei, Wu. “Zangzu shiliao shumu juyao (hanwen yi) [A Bibliography of the Studies in Tibetan History—part 1 Chinese Sources].” Xizang yanjiu, December (1981): 112-127.
The publications (1908-1981) are indexed according to period, genre, or topic.