The Bancroft Prizes

About the Bancroft Prizes


Register to attend the 2024 Bancroft Prize Awards Program on April 18, 2024 at Columbia University.
This year's awardees:

Elliott West for Continental Reckoning: The American West in the Age of Expansion (University of Nebraska Press, 2023)

Carolyn Woods Eisenberg for Fire and Rain: Nixon, Kissinger, and the Wars in Southeast Asia (Oxford University Press, 2023)

The event is free and open to the public. 

The Bancroft Prizes are awarded annually by Columbia University in the City of New York. Under the terms of the will of the late Fredric Bancroft, provision is made for two annual prizes of equal rank to be awarded to the authors of distinguished works in either or both of the following categories: American History (including biography) and Diplomacy.

The awards in a given year are for books published in the previous year. The competition is open to all persons whether connected with Columbia University or not and whether citizens of the United States or any other country. Announcement of the awards will be made in the spring of the prize year.

The word "American" is interpreted to include all the Americas, North, Central, and South; however, the award is confined to works originally written in English or of which there is a published translation in English. Volumes of papers, letters, and speeches of famous Americans, unless edited by the author, are not eligible. Autobiography comes within the terms of the prize, but books reporting on recent personal experiences of Americans, within a limited area both in time and geographically, are not considered eligible.

Previous winners of the Bancroft Prize are eligible for an award in a later year.


Submit a Nomination

The deadline has passed for submitting works published in 2023 for consideration for the Bancroft Prizes to be awarded in 2024. We are no longer accepting submissions. Thank you to all who submitted entries. Please visit this site in September 2024 for guidelines on how to submit for the 2025 prize.

Please contact with questions.


Stay in Touch

Sign up to recieve occasional emails about the Bancroft Prizes, including an invitation to the annual program.


* indicates required



Please contact with questions.