Articles and Books about HHL
Off-campus Archival Collections about HHL | Works by HHL

• Briggs, Philip J.
  "Congress and the Cold War: U.S.-China Policy, 1955."
  China Quarterly [Great Britain] 1981 (85): 80-95.
• Ingalls, Robert P.
  Herbert H. Lehman and New York's Little Deal (1975)
• Ingalls, Robert P.
  "New York and the minimum-wage movement, 1933-1937."
  Labor History 1974 15(2): 179-198.
• Douglas, Paul H.
  "Three saints in politics."
  American Scholar 1971 40(2): 223-232.
• Finkelstein, Louis.
  "Herbert H. Lehman."
  American Jewish Quarterly 1964 54(1): 113-118.
• Bellush, Jewel.
  "The politics of liquor."
  New York History 1964 45(2): 114-134.
• Glazer, Nathan.
  "Herbert H. Lehman of New York."
  Commentary 1963 35(5): 403-409.
  
• Bellush, Jewel.
  "Milk price control: history of its adoption, 1933."
  New York History 1962 43(1): 79-104.
  
• Bellush, Jewell.
  "Roosevelt's good right arm: Lieut. Governor Herbert H. Lehman."
  New York History 1960 41(4): 423-443.
  
• Ingalls, Robert P.
  "Lehman, Herbert Henry"
  American National Biography Online Feb. 2000.
• Wagner, Steven Thomas, PhD
  The Lingering Death Of the National Origins Quota System: A Political History of the United States Immigration Policy, 1952-1965
  Harvard University, 1986, 501 Pages
• Lemelin, Bernard, PhD
  Les Hommes Politiques de L'Etat de New York et Les Debats D'Immigration, 1945-1953
  French Text, Immigration
  McGill University (Canada), 1991, 98 pages
• Funeral Service for Edith Altschul Lehman . . . March 10, 1976.
  [New York] 1976
  
• Perlez, Jane.
  "Women in the News. Mrs. Herbert H. Lehman-Helping Carey Take Over."
  [Reprint from New York Post] [New York: 1974]
• Funeral Service for. Hon. Herbert H. Lehman
  Stamford, Connecticut
  Overbrook Press [1964]
• Ward, Barbara
  Herbert H. Lehman at 80: Young Elder Statesman
  Stamford, Connecticut
  Overbrook Press [1958]

• Durr, Clifford J. (Clifford Judkins)
  Papers, 1933-1975
  Alabama Department of Archives and History
  Montgomery, Alabama
• Cannon, Poppy
  Papers, 1945-1956
  Yale University Library, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
  New Haven, Connecticut
• Draper, Jesse
  Papers, 1917-1946
  Atlanta History Center
  Atlanta Georgia
• American Association for Jewish Education
  Records, 1942-1970
  American Jewish Historical Society, Library
  Waltham, Massachusetts
• Block, Herman W.
  Papers, 1913-1967
  American Jewish Historical Society, Library
  Waltham, Massachusetts
• Congress of Industrial Organizations
  Secretary-Treasurer's Office records, 1935-1960
  Wayne State University, Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor History and Urban Affairs
  Detroit, Michigan
• Dewson, Mary Williams
  Papers, 1925-1951
  Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
  Hyde Park, New York
• Morgenthau, Henry
  Papers, 1866-1948
  Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
  Hyde Park, New York
• Perkins, Edward E.
  Correspondence, 1910-1944
  Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
  Hyde Park, New York
• Treman family
  Papers, 1838-1954
  Cornell University, Library, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections
  Ithaca, New York
• Gannett, Frank Ernest
  Papers, ca. 1864-1958
  Cornell University, Library, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections
  Ithaca, New York
• Goodrich, Carter
  Papers, 1918-1971
  Columbia University, University Libraries, Butler Library
  New York, New York
• Rosenman, Dorothy (Reuben)
  Papers, 1936-1946
  Columbia University, University Libraries, Butler Library
  New York, New York
• Kahn, Bernhard
  Papers, 1906-1955
  Leo Baeck Institute, Library, Archives Division
  New York, New York
• Wald, Lillian D.
  Papers, 1893-1940
  New York Public Library
  New York, New York
• Whitney, Norman J. (Norman Jehiel)
  Papers, 1937-1968
  Syracuse University, George Arents Research Library for Special Collections, E. S. Bird Library
  Syracuse, New York
• Pritz, Carl E.
  Correspondence, 1926-1947
  American Jewish Archives
  Cincinnati, Ohio
• Waldman, Morris David
  Papers, 1912-1963
  American Jewish Archives
  Cincinnati, Ohio
• Fagin, Claire M.
  Papers, 1926-1992
  University of Pennsylvania, Center for the Study of the History of Nursing
  Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

• "Address by Herbert H. Lehman"
  The American Forum of the Air
  Nov. 23, 1943
  Vol. 5, No. 46
• "Address of the Director General"
  November 11, 1943
• "Agriculture's Postwar Job"
  Country Gentlemen
  June, 1943
• "America and Israel"
  American Fund for Palestinian Institutions
  March 16, 1949
• "America Needs New Blood"
  New Republic
  February 1953
• "An Answer to Iniquitius Forces"
  October 2, 1935
• "Attacks Rule 22 As Straitjacketing US Senate"
  The Fight for Majority Rule Goes On… 
• "Big Business and Conformity"
  The City College Alumnus
  October 1957
  Vol. 53, No. 1
• The Challenge of 1953
  October 11, 1953
• "Challenge to Liberals"
  The Progressive
  July 1958
  Vol. 22, No. 7
• "The Continuing Attack"
  IUD Digest
  Spring 1959
  Vol. 4, No. 2
• Creeping McCarthyism: Its Threat to Church, School and Press
  April 29, 1953
• "The Democratic Party Faces the Future"
  Vital Speeches of the Day
  March 15, 1957
  Vol. XXIII, No. 11
• "Discrimination Against Groups"
  Brotherhood
  August 14-17, 1958
• "Draft Diary"
  July and August
• "Equal Rights for all Citizens"
  Congressional Record
  January 12, 1956
• "Ex- Senator Rises- on the Senate Filibuster Rule"
  The Evening Star
  Monday, December 1, 1958
• "Extemporaneous Remarks of HHL"
  June 28, 1951
• "A Farewell to Dr. Syngalowski"
  ORT Chronicle
  November 1957
• "Former Senator Lehman Says Democrats Lost Before '56 Race Began"
  US News and World Report
  February 1957
• "FDR Who Was His Brothers Keeper"
  The Jewish Digest
  Jan. 1960
  Vol. 5, No. 4
• "FDR Who Was his Brothers Keeper"
  The ADL Bulletin
  April 1959,
  Vol. 16, No. 4
• "From Relief to Reconstructive Efforts"
• "From the Bread Lines to Self Respect"
• "Giant Business Expands"
  The New Leader
  April 29, 1957
  Vol. XL, No. 17
• "The Immigration Quota"
  Inside the Unites HIAS Service
  March 1961
  No. XXXVII
• "In Defense of Principles"
  Congress Weekly
  July 23, 1956
  Vol. 23, No. 21
• In Reply to Senator George
  May 21, 2952
• "Increase and Extension of Minimum Wage Would Benefit Entire Economy"
  Congressional Record
  April 28, 1955
• "Israel- Democratic Seed in the Middle East"
  The Jewish Forum
  May 1958
  Vol. XLI, No. 5
• "Issues Facing the New Congress"
  Hadassah Newsletter
  January 1957
• "Judaism and Liberalism"
  Jewish Heritage
  Spring 1958
  Vol. 1, No. 2
• "A letter to Agatha Racusin"
  The Ark
  January 23, 1969
• "Lehman Offers Plan for Mid-East Peace"
  NY Herald Tribune
  1958
• Liberalism: A Personal Journey
  1958 Gino Speranza Lectures
• "Life Saving Food: Another 'Operations Crossroad' is taking place besides that at Bikini. At Washington we confront the explosive power of hunger throughout the world."
  Overhead 23
  1946
• "Look Here"
  NBC TV Interview
  May 4, 1958
• "Magnes, The Champion of Justice"
  Jewish Education
  February 1949
  Vol. 20, No. 2
• "National Emergency Conference Addresses"
  April 15, 1917
• "A New Look At Immigration Law…"
  Congressional Record
  August 3, 1953
• "The Niagara Falls Issue"
  REA Magazine
  September 1955
• "On the Nature of Leadership"
  Soloman Scechter Pamphlet Series
  November 10, 1946
• "Our Need for Moral Purpose"
  Economic Justice
  June- July, 1957
  Vol. XXV, No. 9
• The Place of Social Welfare in the Continuing Government Process
  November 1942
• "The Plight of the Individual in a Big Business Economy"
  Vital Speeches
  June 1, 1957
  Vol. 23, No. 16
• A Positive Policy for the Middle East
  January 21, 1956
• "Proposed Federal Advisory Commission on the Arts"
  Congressional Records
  March 12, 1956
• "Reconstruction Achievements of the J.D.C."
• "Refugees: The Last Millions"
  United Nations World
  June 1947
• Report on NY State Defense Program
  January 12, 1942
• Resignation of the Director General of UNRRA 
• "Right to Work Laws Sow the Seeds of Depression"
  AFL-CIO American Federalist
  May- June 1959
• "Schools, Subsidies and Segregation"
  The Progressive
  1956
• "The Search for Ideals, A Program of Action and Leadership"
  Publication for the AJHS
  September 1955
  Vol. XLV, No. 1
• "Senator Lehman on Moderation"
  The American Negro
  June 1956
  Vol. 1, No. 7
• "Should the Niagara Project be Developed by Private Enterprise?"
  Congressional Digest
  December 1955
  Vol. 34, No. 12
• "Statement of Herbert H. Lehman"
  New York Medicine
  October 20, 1949
• The Strait Jacket of Fear
  June 20, 1953
• Ten Axioms for Lovers of Democracy
  November 11, 1942
• "Thunder From the Right"
  The Churchman
  June 1962
  Vol. CIXXVI, No. 6
• "Total Defense- America's Urgent Problem"
  State Government: The Magazine of State Affairs
  August 1941
  Vol. XIV, No. 8
• "UNRRA on the March"
  Survey Graphic
  November 1944
  Vol. 33, No. 11
• Williams College Poems and Essays

HTML file originally created by Michelle Sansivero, Aug. 2001